We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newagen Seaside Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2006

My sister and I went to Maine for a much needed get away a few weeks ago. She had stayed at this inn before and said it was her favorite. I can see why!
Because it wasn't yet full summer swing, they were gracious enough to upgrade us to one of the new suites. It was beautiful and had a wonderful view.

We wound up eating in the hotel both nights because we were just so impressed with the service, food and staff we didn't want to try anywhere else.
I had a terrific marrinated lobster dish the first night and my steak was cooked to perfection the second. Not to mention the delicious bananas foster made for us by the resturaunt manager.

Everyone there wanted to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. I have been to a lot of B&B's and Inn's over the last 10 years and by far this was the best!

Thanks to all the staff for making our getaway even better then we had hoped!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danira75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Newagen Seaside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2005

We stayed at the Newagen for our honeymoon and really enjoyed it. It would have been nice if the entire area was undeveloped for hiking and exploring but we just wanted to be on the ocean. We ate at the restaurant every night and loved the food!!! Our room was very nicely appointed with nice linens and lovely, Maine cottage decor. We did not use the pool and I would have liked to use the rowboats but we didn't. We asked to change sides of the hotel because we felt our first room wasn't oceanview. They obliged.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Briann_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2005

do a web search on Newagen Colony - this place sold out to real estate development - most of the original land was subdivisioned for private homes like 20 parcels, so maybe thats why most of the coast is occupied and you cant take any nature trails and probably why they dont want you walking around too much, the inn serves the colony so they paved paradise and put up a housing development, still a nice place but they dont explain things up front, nothing more fun than deceptive advertising on your vacation

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Tors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
USA
128
Reviewed 27 June 2004

Frommer's review describes Newagen Seaside Inn as having 85 "magical" acres. In actuality, the Inn appears to have sold off much of the magic and now has 19 acres, with most of the buildings concentrated in a 3 acre parcel. There is mention of a salt water and a freshwater pool; there is now just a single heated freshwater pool. Both Frommer's and the Inn's website, and the in-room binder describe nature trails and maps. Maps of trails are no longer available. The front desk will give you a walking map of Boothbay Harbor, a 30 minute drive to town and back, plus time spent looking for parking. I looked on my own but did not find any nature trails although there is a beautiful short walk to a 200 foot length of very rocky shoreline with a spectacular view. On either side, access is restricted by "Private" signs indicating exclusive ownership by "colony" residents. The front desk is rather taciturn and short on customer service, offering as little information as possible. Thoughts about going on a facility rowboat was prevented by the bad state of repair of the available boat. The views from the ultramodern units of the Inn are brilliant in rain or shine. Newer units have excellent amenities and mosquito-tight/deerfly-tight screens. When it shines, the close proximity of the new playground and the flat terrain of the campus can make it very noisy during the day, and noisy at night when visiting groups of semi-inebriated adults gather around the central campfire till 10 or 11 pm. The Jacuzzi is partially self-serve and over-sudsy; you turn the unit on and off, and put the cover on and off yourself. If another guest forgets to cover the unit, you may not be able to use it for a while on account of the leaves and insects that collect. Breakfasts are excellent; they do not begin until 8 am. Dinners at the small dining room may not be available if group functions are coexistant; do not expect the front desk to inform you of such however, or to offer you other options. Try "The Daily Catch" in Boothbay. It has good food and free parking. I didn't feel relaxed at the Newagen Seaside Inn. I felt I was always in danger of intruding on the private property of Colony homeowners, I had no idea where the Inn was and other property began because there was no map. There was an implicit atmosphere of "tough luck" if you were not satisfied, the Inn is understaffed, it was noisy or some feature of recreation was not available or could not be used due to poor repair. The place has the feel of a gated condo community located at water's edge rather than a rustic naturalistic resort as other reviews and promotions suggest. My room was excellent, however, but I did need to leave it at some point. I recommend this Inn but with the cautionary descriptions mentioned so as not to distort expectations. The Inn's website and older reviews are not representative of reality because, apparently, the Inn is changing, and is attempting a makeover, but who knows what it really wants to be. If it sells off any more shorefront property to private owners, it will become a land-locked motel with a boat launch. If it wants to cater to large groups, it should spurn the attempt to be a "retreat". If it wants to be a rustic retreat, it needs to take back the shoreline so seasonal guests have someplace to go to get away from loud parties without encountering "Private No Entry" signs every thirty steps. Overall, a very inconsistent and disappointing experience, and not one I will be paying for again.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Indianapolis, IN
535
Reviewed 28 March 2004

We stayed here thanks to a rave review in Yankee magazine. We have since stopped our subscription. The inn is near the ocean off of a secluded back road, however the Inn hasn't had any upgrades since circa 1940. WE stayed in an upper floor room and didn't sleep well at all.
All of the bedding was different- I felt like we were at summer camp-pillowcases were various floral patterns, the sheets were terribly 'pilled' and felt like sandpaper, the floors creaked terribly and throughout the night we were certain that the floor was going to fall through. The window shades were stained and torn, the towels in the bath varied from forrest green to pea green- not one matched. The shower was attrocious as was the fishbowl sink. The downstairs is lovely and makes you think of an old fashioned house, but the rooms are not in the same style at all. THey have international college students as the hotel staff-they were all sweet as could be! The restaurant food was amazing-highly recommend going for dinner--just don't stay the night. The pool hadn't been used in years, was empty and rotting away.
The grounds were lovely, but it seemed so mis-matched- nice here and there, terrible elsewhere. Very disappointing.

22  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 August 2005

This review is dated March 2004, but I believe the writer must have stayed at the Newagen PRIOR to December 2000 which is when we purchased the inn and began an extensive renovation. We ripped the main building out to the studs, replaced ALL soft goods, (including bedding, draperies, rugs, towels, etc.) and has a professional interior designer redecorate every room on the property. The current inn bears absolutely no resemblance to the property described in this review, except for the excellent service and food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Evelyne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aqualung61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newagen
4.1 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
369 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
459 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
538 reviews
3.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
920 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newagen Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newagen Seaside Inn

Address: 60 Newagen Colony, Newagen, Southport, ME 04576-3349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Southport > Newagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newagen
Price Range: £110 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newagen Seaside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frommer's Travel Guide said, "It's hard to convey the magnificence of the ocean views, maybe the best of any Inn's in Maine." The open sea, rocky cliffs and thick forest create an enchanting setting for the historic Newagen Seaside Inn, poised on the tip of Southport Island in the heart of Maine's famed Boothbay Harbor region. Make some memories at the newly restored, yet always historic, Newagen Seaside Inn, at the edge of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Newagen Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newagen Seaside Hotel Newagen
Newagen Seaside Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing