We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & relaxing”
Review of Newcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newcastle Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful & relaxing”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This was my second time staying at the Newcastle Inn. Julie makes everyone feel so welcome. My room was spacious, clean and beautiful. The breakfasts were delicious and really hearty. I think this will be the only place to stay on my trips to the area. Located close to every place I needed to go.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gradygrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
72
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The inn had a great back porch overlooking the harbor. Comfortable bedroom and common rooms. A well stocked mini kitchen for coffee and snacks. Walking distance to town; good location for lots of activities. Julie made us an early breakfast so we could catch the early ferry to Monhegan.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boomer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Friendly owner/staff, clean premises, tasty breakfast, and close to good restaurants, theatre, botanical garden and scenic sights.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired010108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The Newcastle Inn is an exceptional property and Julie is a fitting host. She's welcoming and she's thought of the little details that will make your stay great- free wifi, self-service drinks and snacks, helpful tips, a welcoming personality. Her breakfast was fantastics. The only downside is that the prices reflect the market in Maine- high cost operations with a limited season to make your money. Julie's done a great job keeping the Inn going in a down economy with the only downside being that a stay at the Newcastle suffers a bit as a value proposition. That said, it's still a worthy experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaKings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

A very warm welcome to the Newcastle Inn! Julie, the Innkeeper and Owner is Great from start to finish. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfasts are delicious and the Inn is very cozy and beautiful with a breathtaking view of the River! There is plenty for entertaining at this perfectly centally located Inn. We spend a day driving to local towns ( Wiscasset, Bath, etc) and then in the evening enjoyed Scrabble or tackling "the puzzle" Julie has laid out on the table. My kids got a kick out of her well mannered fun loving dog Dolce that was as welcoming as Julie but only around when you felt a need to pet. Great overall experience!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjdtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia MO
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2011

My sister-in-law and I were meeting for a girls' weekend of birding around the Newcastle/Damariscotta area. We had a fantastic experience at the Newcastle Inn. Julie was very friendly and especially helpful with recommendations of things to do and where to eat. Our room was quite lovely and very comfortable. The amenities were great. The breakfasts were delicious and coming in after a day of hiking, it was so nice to relax for awhile and have a cookie and some coffee. The inn was full while we were there, but honestly it did not ever feel crowded. Just an all-around fabulous experience. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again and have already recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: I loved that my sister-in-law and I were able to share one room (savings for us) but have twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bushmann5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We will be returning again this year for our 16th stay at this wonderful Inn- If you are traveling to Maine and are staying in this region of the State treat yourself to a visit to the Newcastle Inn. The rooms are all wonderful although we are attached to one particular room and book it a year in advance, Julie takes great care of all of her guests and the rooms are always pristine. Each morning you will be treated to a wonderful breakfast made by Julie herself, and she always keeps the cookie jar full of delicious cookies! This Inn has everything you would ever want to find while visiting Maine, a great location, and walking distance to the town of Newcastle and a close drive to the Boothbay Harbor Region. Give this Inn a try I am sure you will not be dissapointed and perhaps like us you will start a tradition of your own by visiting the Inn each year, for this gal from the South visiting Maine is our favorite trip every year!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InlovewithMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
12.5 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
13.3 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
13.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa
8.9 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Inn

Property: Newcastle Inn
Address: 60 River Rd, Newcastle, ME 04553-3803
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 14 guest rooms at Newcastle Inn are each named for a historic Maine lighthouse and all rooms have private bath and air conditioning. Room features might include: gas stove or fireplace, or a private porch. Free WiFi access is available throughout the inn. Two rooms are dog friendly. The common areas include a three season porch, living room, sitting room, pub and a great deck to be enjoyed during the warmer months. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newcastle Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing