We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn”
Review of Newcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newcastle Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This inn is in a lovely spot by the river. Julie is very welcoming, with Dolce of course. The common areas are very comfortable and our room on the third floor was extremely spacious, even had it's own sitting area. Breakfasts were very enjoyable. Good restaurants close by, King Eider was recommended and was excellent. All in all a great stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewcastleInn, Owner at Newcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Sharon J,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Newcastle Inn. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room on the third floor. The rooms up there are among my favorites because of the creative use of former attic space.

Many guests, like yourselves, enjoy sitting on the deck, or in the backyard to enjoy the views of the Damariscotta River and the gardens.

Thank you again for taking time to share your thoughts and I look forward to welcoming you back to Newcastle Inn the next time you visit the area.

Regards,
Julie Bolthuis, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Newcastle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have no family connections in the midcoast area, but were visiting for a wedding. We decided to stay at Newcastle Inn simply based on its closeness to the wedding venue. We were very surprised and happy to find the inn was incredibly welcoming, comfortable, and well-managed.

Julie, the inn's owner, was consistently present (whether making and serving breakfast, gardening, or working in her office), and we always felt she was available to assist us. Our room was quiet, comfortable, and charming. The view of the Damariscotta River from the Inn deck is also quite spectacular. Julie's breakfast each morning was tasty and well-prepared. We're also huge fans of her crunchy chocolate chip cookies-available in the pantry to guests at all hours.

Finally, we're big dog fans, and Dolce, the Inn dog, is super friendly and fun to have around.

We will certainly find a reason to return to Newcastle Inn in the future. It's a great home base for exploring the midcoast region.

Thanks, Julie.


--Steffan and Stan

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steffan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewcastleInn, Owner at Newcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Steffan & Stan,

It was my pleasure to have you as my guests while you were in Newcastle for a wedding and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the inn. Yes, the view of the Damariscotta River is lovely and the tables and chairs are now set up on the deck for the summer and so pretty soon breakfast will be served there each morning.

Dolce enjoys here job as the canine greeter and certainly enjoyed spending time with you as well.

I hope that you enjoy making the Crunchy Chocolate Chip Cookies at home.

Thank you again for taking time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay at Newcastle Inn.

Regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was the perfect place to use as a base to explore mid-coast Maine. The accommodations were fantastic. Julie, the innkeeper could nota have been more pleasant and accommodating! Her breakfasts were delicious and sustainable into mid-day. The Monhegan Island room where we stayed was quiet and pleasant. Newly painted, it was clean (as was the entire place) and safe.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewcastleInn, Owner at Newcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Charlie L,

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts regarding your stay at Newcastle Inn. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in the newly renovated Monhegan Island room. That room has always been one of the most popular with guests and with the renovations and new decor I think it will become even more popular.

You discovered what many guests find and that is that Newcastle Inn is a perfect home base for exploring the many wonderful things in this area of MidCoast Maine.

I look forward to seeing you again and welcoming you back to Newcastle Inn.

Thank you again.
Julie Bolthuis, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is about as comfortable and relaxing as it gets. Just spent three nights at the Inn on business/pleasure and felt completely at home. We finished the jigsaw puzzle one night and there was another ready to go the next day. Lovely breakfasts prepared by Julie, the Innkeeper. Damariscotta restaurants all open, and very pleasant views. Rooms are quiet, commodious with nice accents. There are two rooms/suites that permit dogs in season, and I will be returning with my pooch in May.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cibenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewcastleInn, Owner at Newcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear cibenz,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Newcastle Inn. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable and felt "at home" while here which is what I hope all guests feel while that are staying here.

Even though we are in the "quiet season" one of the great things about Newcastle/Damariscotta is that this is a year round community and businesses and restaurants stay open.

Thank you again for taking time to share you thoughts regarding your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to Newcastle Inn in the near future.

Regards,
Julie Bolthuis, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I had to find some last minute accommodation for an Australian film crew in Newcastle and required space to film an interview in. Julie the owner was absolutely brilliant, I can't thank her enough. My crew were extremely well looked after. Julie was flexible when the crew got delayed due to the snow. It was no problem when we had to cancel the first night and crew arrived a day late. Julie provided space for a shoot that fit our requirements. She organised meals for them as they had to work until late at night and at all times updated me on their progress. It's not often I have such reliable support from hotel staff on the ground. The crew really enjoyed their stay, I can't recommend the Newcastle Inn enough. You will be brilliantly looked after by the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aideenster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewcastleInn, Owner at Newcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Aideenster,

Thank you for your review. I'm happy to hear that the inn met their needs for not only their personal accommodation, but also for the filming that they did here. It was my pleasure to have them here as my guests and if they are ever back in this area I hope to welcome them back again.

Thank you again.

Regards,
Julie Bolthuis, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We've traveled to the Newcastle/Damariscotta area twice now. The first trip we stayed at another B&B nearby, but wanted to give the Newcastle Inn a try this year. Overall it was a pleasant stay, but, I'd say we liked our stay last year slightly better than this trip. Julie was kind and courteous and our room was immaculate. We stayed on the 3rd Floor in the Blue Heron suite, which was nice if you want a king sized bed and a spacious room and don't mind stairs! Breakfast was tastey both mornings, and we were able to get out and enjoy a gorgeous fall day at the Pemaquid Oyster Fest happening nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisab8s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewcastleInn, Owner at Newcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear lisab8s,

Thank you for your review. The housekeepers work hard to keep things in tip top shape here at the inn. I will be sure to pass your comment along to them. There are other king bed rooms on the second floor, but for many repeat guests, only the Heron Neck room will do. The Oysterfest at the end of September is a popular event in this area and I'm happy that you were able to be here to enjoy it.

Thank you again,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Julie makes everyone feel like they are visiting family. Her interest in all of her guests does not go unnoticed. Dolce the resident pooch is a joy to be around too. The inn has the warmth of an old home but lacks no modern amenity. Don't miss Julies breakfast or here baked goodies she is a master.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewcastleInn, Owner at Newcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Robert M.,

Thank you for your review of your time at Newcastle Inn. It is my desire that all guests are
comfortable, and if it feels like family then that is even better! Dolce, the resident dog, loves to meet and mingle with the guests (if they want to) and is happiest when she is curled up next to someone on the couch. I'm glad that you enjoyed the breakfasts and the cookie jar!

I look forward to your return.

Sincerely
Julie Bolthuis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
12.5 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
538 reviews
13.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
460 reviews
4.0 mi away
HawksHouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
79 reviews
12.1 mi away
Five Gables Inn
Five Gables Inn
#1 of 3 in East Boothbay
210 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Inn

Address: 60 River Rd, Newcastle, ME 04553-3803
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range: £135 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 14 guest rooms at Newcastle Inn are each named for a historic Maine lighthouse and all rooms have private bath and air conditioning. Room features might include: gas stove or fireplace, or a private porch. Free WiFi access is available throughout the inn. Two rooms are dog friendly. The common areas include a three season porch, living room, sitting room, pub and a great deck to be enjoyed during the warmer months. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newcastle Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing