We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Perfection!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tipsy Butler Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Newcastle B&B and Inns
waltham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection!!!!”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

There are not enough words to express our first stay/experience at The Tipsy Butler. It was perfection. It was a weekend getaway for a birthday party. Myself, my wife and 2 great friends arrived Friday April 20 2012 around 6pm. We were meet outside by Sarah the innkeeper. From the minute we met her we loved her. We hadnt entered the Inn and we already felt like we were at home. Sarah made us feel very comfortable. She took us inside and gave us the full tour of the Inn and explained everything in detail. Unlike other Inns and hotels that had rules Sarah only had 2 demands. Her first demand was, she wanted us to make ourselves at home. Her second demand was, if we needed anything, all we had to do is ask.
There is no formal "check in" at the Tipsy Butler. Sarah wants you to feel like your at home. You walk in get the tour, chat for a min, then go to your room. Sarah and her husband Tony are always at the Inn, but you would never know it. They do not bother you at all. We were lucky enough to have the entire Inn to ourselves for the weekend. And it was very relaxing and comfortable.

Both mornings we were greeted by the most delicious breakfasts. If you have the chance ask for the sweet corn quiech. Nothing better!!!!!! The Inn was absolutly meticulous. Not a peice of dust anywhere. Bathrooms spotless. Living room very cozy. The dining room was very homey. Fresh coffee and tea all day. The most comfortable beds anywhere. The walls of the common room are lined with board games, books, trip planning magazines and many DVDs. Beside the exit/entrance there are rain slickers and umbrellas as well as picnic blankets and baskets. Sarah has sure thought of it all!
Sarah was very knowledgeable of the area and gave us much needed advice about what to do and see while in Damariscotta. It is a 5 minute walk to downtown Damariscotta where there is a lot to do. Lots of great resturants and pubs within walking distance.

It is a great place to stay if you are looking for a comfortable and cozy B&B. Dont think twice. Stay here and you will not have any regrets. We have already planned our July and Oct. getaways here. Thank you Sarah and Tony it was a pleasure. You made us feel like we were right at home. Your Friends from Waltham Ma.

Room Tip: Maids Room is a great room. Few more dollars but well worth it......
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
40
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My husband, 2 teenage children and I came to town to say goodbye to a dear friend. We expected a somber weekend but innkeeper Sarah had other plans for us. From the moment we arrived in the snow she welcomed us warmly and made us feel completely at home. There were so many special touches that added to our experience. Our rooms were comfortable, spacious and well-appointed. The kids enjoyed having the run of the 3rd floor and a personal fridge stocked with water and soft drinks. We shared afternoon tea, hot chocolate and goodies, warm throws, a wide range of DVDs and Sarah's good company. She was attentive but never hovering and she made it clear that she was always available to us. And the breakfast - sheer perfection! For top notch hospitality, a comfortable stay and a mouth-watering breakfast try The Tipsy Butler. We're so happy we discovered this gem. Thank you, Sarah!

Room Tip: Check the website for accurate representations of each room's decor and features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My wife and I have been kucky enough to stay in many establishments around the world but rarely have we met anyone like Sarah who is so dedicated to ensuring that her guests have a great time. From the moment she greeted us in the car park to the time when she waved us good-bye she made us feel as if we were visiting a well-loved old friend.

We stayed in the Groundkeeper's Room which covers the whole of the top floor. The room was spacious, comfortable and romantic and it felt perfect for us. The breakfasts were very tasty and very filling and the B&B had everything that one could ask for, including an extensive range of DVDs and books.

The Tipsy Butler is situated just off Route 1 and sits in it's own gounds above the twin towns of Newcastle and Damariscotta. It is ideally situated for as a base for visiting the delights of the Mid-Coast area of Maine.

This is the ideal B&B and Sarah is the epitome of the perfect hostess. If you'll in this area stay at the Tipsy Butler and you won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D.C
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Visited the area for a wedding and booked The Tipsy Butler based on the recommendations on TripAdvisor. I was not misguided! We had a phenomenal experience at The Tipsy Butler.

Sarah, the innkeeper, is an incredible hostess. From the moment you pull up into the driveway, you feel like you are coming back to the home of a dear friend who knows what you want and need before you even know you do. Tea, coffee, and cold water available whenever you want them; books and DVDs for borrowing; beach towels and bags available for your use; raincoats and umbrellas at the door just in case; your favorite sweets in the living room. The rooms are perfectly appointed and the common areas cozy and inviting. All necessary elements to a great B&B. And the breakfasts -- all homemade! -- are divine. Nevermind that Sarah herself is just a complete joy!

Seriously, if you're in the area don't miss out on staying here. This is a really special place, and one that I plan on returning to as soon as possible!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nermie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My boyfriend and I, along with two other couples, stayed at the Tipsy Butler last month. We were travelling from out of state for a friend’s wedding, and although the bride told everyone to stay at the Downeaster Inn (bad, bad move – we heard horror stories at the wedding from guests who went that route), after reading Trip Advisor reviews, we decided to book here. And we were all so happy we did – it was the perfect weekend.

From the moment we arrived, it was clear Sarah would do whatever it took to make our stay comfortable. The rooms were immaculate, and beautiful. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Butler’s Room on the first floor, which I highly recommend and is even better in person than in photos. Wood floors, fire place, gorgeous crown molding, armchairs, large TV (which we didn’t even turn on), dressing area and king size bed – just perfect. There is also an iron/ironing board that came in handy.

Sarah takes great care of the rooms, no detail goes unnoticed – she even irons the sheets! The turn-down service each night with chocolates on the pillow is a great touch. Everything was clean and new. Upon arrival, she he gave us a tour (and #1 rule is to have fun), her mobile phone number in case we needed anything (which we did in fact feel comfortable enough to use), and a big cooler for the beers we had brought to take to the Rehearsal Dinner Lobster Bake. The location is also incredibly convenient; you can walk into town for shops and restaurants, no car needed to get around.

The breakfast (yes, it’s complimentary) was beyond delicious – eggs, sausage, guasacaca (Tony if you’re reading this, we’ve ALL tried to make it at home! There’s a batch in the fridge), quiche, poached pears with berry sauce, warmed grapefruit with brown sugar, etc. With each course we all went “oohhhh, ahhhh” at whatever Sarah brought out. It was all delicious.

On our last night, Tony and Sarah prepared a fire pit out back, and the 8 of us sat around roasting marshmallows, drinking wine, laughing and talking, draped in sweaters and blankets. I can't even picture doing this at a hotel, and it's just 1 of many examples why this place is so special.

We were a fairly “hands on” group – we really enjoyed the company of Sarah and her husband Tony so we harassed them to hang out with us, but if you rather do your own thing and not really interact, they’re cool at keeping their distance as well. Sarah’s main concern is that her guests are comfortable, so if you’re more comfortable keeping to yourself, she gets it and respects it. I think the experience is really what you make of it, and regardless of your “type” you can’t go wrong with a beautiful, clean room with great service and great food.

So if you’re going to go to Maine (even Portland), do it right and stay at the Tipsy Butler!!!

Thanks for everything! Jessica, Jimmy, Chi, Drew, Megan and Tim

Room Tip: Butler's Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amatoje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Wonderful B&B with amazing hospitable innkeeper. Will accommodate special requests and needs if at all possible. Rooms well appointed. Great full gourmet breakfast.
Check out their website for details on the inn. Location on mid coast is perfect. Can use it as base for traveling north and south.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dripping Springs, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I stayed here for a week during a business trip. The room was great - spacious, clean and comfortable. Sarah is all about customer service and has a great sense of humor. She is a super cook - breaksfasts were delicious. The B&B is located very close to town - convenient to restaurants and shops. I would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
12.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
526 reviews
13.6 mi away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
151 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Newcastle Inn
Newcastle Inn
#1 of 4 in Newcastle
117 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
66 reviews
4.4 mi away
HawksHouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tipsy Butler Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tipsy Butler Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Tipsy Butler Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11 High St, Newcastle, ME 04553-3663
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance & comfort in quintessential Mid-Coast Maine. Our large rooms overlooking Damariscotta Harbor have the extras that ensure a comfortable stay: Great beds, high-end linens, TVs, DVDs, VCRs, an extensive movie library, bottled water, AC, robes, beach towels, tote-bags and more- all this plus turn-down service and a delicious multi-course breakfast. Our living room has nuts to crack, candy jars, jigsaw puzzles, crosswords, board games and books for an afternoon curled up on the sofa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tipsy Butler Bed And Breakfast Newcastle, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing