We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can't imagine going anywhere else.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tipsy Butler Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Sarah greeted us warmly when we arrived. She then told us she'd like to upgrade our room. Goodness. Everything was just about as perfect as it could be--we relaxed and felt at home right away, the room was heavenly, the food was excellent, the location was fabulous and we could easily walk to town and to wonderful restaurants. Such amazing service. Sarah is fabulous at what she does, and we are looking forward to more restorative trips to the Tipsy Butler. This was an anniversary trip, and we hope to celebrate the next anniversary there, too.

Room Tip: All of the rooms look great. We stayed in the maid's room, though, and definitely want to stay t...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for The Tipsy Butler Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very charming & inviting bedroom. Clean, well decorated & each room is lovely with it's own personality. All that you need for a comfortable stay. Enjoyed Sarah & all our conversations. She works very hard to make you feel right "at home!" Loved Damariscotta!
Exterior does need improved "curb appeal" but The Tipsy Butler is a fine place to stay.
B & C A

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Everything a B&B should be. Oh, I just loved this place! It started when I was terribly lost and late on arrival night. Somewhere up (down?) the coast of Maine, I got a phone call from a warm English-accented mother hen wondering if I was alright. In fact, I'd been on the verge of tears, but she talked me in with sympathetic words. The help-yourself tea and sodas were welcome, as was the big, comfortable bed and cozy room. Breakfasts were really special (see photo) and for later meals, the Newcastle Publick (see review) is a block away. The quaint little town of Damariscotta is another few blocks, with bakeries, kayak rental and more.
Sarah genuinely wants the best for her guests, and made me promise on checking in that I would call her cel phone for even the smallest request. She has a small comfortable living room stocked with hundreds of DVDs of all sorts, and will give a savvy explanation of how to use the in-room DVD. The books and games selection would keep a houseful of guests satisfied on a rainy (or snowy) day.
The only drawback is the road noise. I live in the city and it wasn't all that loud, but neither could I hear the country sounds of birds and trees.
Best: Cozy, warmth, decor, breakfast, Sarah!

Room Tip: I prowled around a bit. All the rooms looked nice and matched the details on the website. I loved my...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We had a wonderful stay with Sarah at The Tipsy Butler in the autumn. We loved Damariscotta and mid-Maine - both the coast and the woods are absolutely beautiful (see photos) - and hope very much to return. We were fortunate enough to be the only guests staying at the B & B as it was the very end of the season and we felt entirely at home in the lovely, comfortable old house. Sarah looked after us incredibly well with amazing breakfasts, warm hospitality and very enjoyable conversation. She made every effort to provide our daughter, who has multiple food allergies, with equally delicious alternative dishes. Our bedrooms were perfect and we often recall with great pleasure our 3 nights at The Tipsy Butler. Highly recommended, as is the excellent and friendly 'pub' down the road where, at Sarah's suggestion, we dined each night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I've been visiting Newcastle/Damariscotta all of my life. I wish I'd discovered the Tipsy Butler earlier. Sarah is an innkeepers innkeeper. Our family of five "moved in," and Sarah met us at every level of our need. She was warm and friendly with our "children," 19, 21, and 23. She fed us well, with unique and delicious breakfasts. She was flexible and accommodating and the inn was magically decorated for Christmas with nutcrackers and a big tree, swags and wreaths. There were games and movies. We all slept well. The boys had their "apartment," the entire third floor with separate bathroom. My husband and I had our space and shared a large, nicely appointed bathroom with our daughter, who also had her own, cozy bedroom. Her room could have been closed off, making our en suite bath entirely private. Sarah knows how to serve her patrons with that judicious blend of availability and privacy. It was just ....perfect. My family was comfortable and all of us ate, slept, bathed and made it to my mother's and to church on time, thus making our family Christmas a happy memory. There were other travelers staying at the inn, though we had little awareness of them other than at breakfast, where we enjoyed the inviting dining/tea room together. If you are visiting the area for the first time, the location of the inn is the perfect headquarters for exploring. The charming twin towns are within easy walking distance. Restaurants, pubs, shops, and the beautiful river are just down the street. The Pemaquid and Boothbay regions are a short drive. I've had many B&B experiences. This one was truly wonderful with something for everyone. There was internet access for the young ones and charm and comfort for the old ones. It even snowed...just enough.

Room Tip: Second floor, queen bed....very nice. Large, quiet, private, nice large bathroom. All of the rooms...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coxcox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We have been regular campers in the area, and were looking for a place to stay instead of camping. The Tipsy Butler ended up being a wonderful choice, within short walking distance to Damariscotta, yet away from the hustle and bustle that occurs in town during summer. Sarah was so attentive and helpful, going far beyond what we have experienced with other B&B innkeeper in terms of service. The breakfasts were innovative and delicious; Sarah used ingredients from her own garden and from local sources to make her yummy dishes.
We stayed in the Butler's room, which was a lovely comfy room which filled with sunlight in the mornings. There were sweets on the bed at turn down, a great selection of teas in the dining room, and a mini fridge stocked with one's favorite soda (literally, if Sarah knows you like a soda, she'll get it), plus your favorite style music playing when you return to the room. If you're looking for terrific place to stay while visiting the area, look no further.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

It was a dark and stormy night in Mid-Coast Maine. Lightening was flashing, thunder booming, rain coming down in sheets. The couple drove slowly up the quiet lane seeing the large, old house for the first time. As they noticed the warm, welcoming glow of the light in the windows a movement caught their eye--was it the ghost of legend, Myrtle, coming to greet them? No, no it was their lovely inn keeper Sarah, standing in the wild and wicked storm waving the couple into her home and safety with umbrellas standing by to shelter them from the storm!
This is the kind of treatment Sarah provides to her guests. From the moment we arrived we felt as if we had known Sarah for years. She showed us to our wonderful room-The Butler's Suite- and allowed us to settle in before giving us suggestions for dinner. Her suggestion could not have been more perfect as she directed us to a cheerful Publick House where we enjoyed wine and a delicious meal.
Our room was just beautiful and the bed was amazingly comfortable. When it was time for our breakfast in the morning, we were delighted with the meal that Sarah provided us and left the table with warm, full tummies.
The Tipsy Butler is very convenient to the lovely town of Damrascotta and all of Mid-Coast Maine. It is without any hesitation that we recommend this destination to any B&B lover's and especially visitors who love the nooks, crannies, and charm of large, old homes as we do.
Our only regret was that we were staying just one night; however, we cannot wait to return! Thank you, Sarah, for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We were able to see all of the rooms and we can honestly say we would not have been disappointed sta...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
13.7 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
459 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
369 reviews
12.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newcastle Inn
Newcastle Inn
#1 of 4 in Newcastle
121 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tipsy Butler Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tipsy Butler Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 High St, Newcastle, ME 04553-3663
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range: £67 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance & comfort in quintessential Mid-Coast Maine. Our large rooms overlooking Damariscotta Harbor have the extras that ensure a comfortable stay: Great beds, high-end linens, TVs, DVDs, VCRs, an extensive movie library, bottled water, AC, robes, beach towels, tote-bags and more- all this plus turn-down service and a delicious multi-course breakfast. Our living room has nuts to crack, candy jars, jigsaw puzzles, crosswords, board games and books for an afternoon curled up on the sofa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tipsy Butler Bed And Breakfast Newcastle, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing