We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tipsy Butler Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Sarah is a wonderful hostess, the inn is lovely, rooms are spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts are To Die For!

If mid-coast Maine is where you are looking to stay, then do try this super spot.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are comfortable, but the Butler's Room is superb.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for The Tipsy Butler Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at The Tipsy Butler this past week end. It is in a perfect location to downtown Daramiscotta, Maine, we walked to town. Sara(h) was very hospitable, eager to assist us with anything we needed, and provided a delicious breakfast each morning. The rooms are exceptionally clean with many amenities. Do not be discouraged when you see it from the outside. It is in the process of a new coat of paint and some repair. We had a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, the maid's room, and our daughter was in the scullery room. It was...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vtlover30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Sarah and Tony will welcome you with warmth and English style to the Tipsy Butler. It's a bit hard to find for those who don't know their way around tiny Newcastle, but it's well worth the search. We had the best room(s) in the house..a luxurious and game-filled living room, a great bedroom with comfy bed (silk topped, no less, underneath those sheets!), Dish TV for those who like television, one of those lovely stoves that will warm you or simply add atmosphere with 'burning logs' and lovely seating and lighting, even for us old timers. The breakfasts included blueberry blini and a sausage stuffed pastry, The coffee was good and always available. You'll miss out if you don't take advantage of the walks into downtown Damariscotta, just across the bridge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We contacted Sarah by phone to ask if she was willing to help us out and allow us to have the two night minimum waived and put us up for one night. We were celebrating our 35th anniversary and wanted a halfway point to our final destination which was a private cottage up in Prospect Harbor. We were pleased when she was happy to be able to accommodate us. When we arrived she greeted us immediately on the front steps. Her warm and welcoming demeanor made us feel at home right away. She showed us all around the beautifully decorated house making sure that she included her most important rule, that we call her if we needed anything whatsoever!!!!!! Even if our favorite drink was not stocked in the refrigerator. Our room was clean and comfy. The linens were turned down with a sweet treat and rose petals. We definitely felt pampered! Breakfast the next morning was delicious. We highly recommend this B & B to all that are looking for a place that feels like home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Tipsy Butler owner manages every day to astonish us with her enormous and delicious breakfasts. She is also attentive to all needs and the rooms in this mid-19th century Greek Revival house are luxurious and comfortable. i encourage all to stay here

Room Tip: book early--there are only a few rooms available.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Sarah greeted us warmly when we arrived. She then told us she'd like to upgrade our room. Goodness. Everything was just about as perfect as it could be--we relaxed and felt at home right away, the room was heavenly, the food was excellent, the location was fabulous and we could easily walk to town and to wonderful restaurants. Such amazing service. Sarah is fabulous at what she does, and we are looking forward to more restorative trips to the Tipsy Butler. This was an anniversary trip, and we hope to celebrate the next anniversary there, too.

Room Tip: All of the rooms look great. We stayed in the maid's room, though, and definitely want to stay t...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very charming & inviting bedroom. Clean, well decorated & each room is lovely with it's own personality. All that you need for a comfortable stay. Enjoyed Sarah & all our conversations. She works very hard to make you feel right "at home!" Loved Damariscotta!
Exterior does need improved "curb appeal" but The Tipsy Butler is a fine place to stay.
B & C A

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
13.7 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
459 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
369 reviews
12.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newcastle Inn
Newcastle Inn
#1 of 4 in Newcastle
121 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tipsy Butler Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tipsy Butler Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 High St, Newcastle, ME 04553-3663
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range: £67 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance & comfort in quintessential Mid-Coast Maine. Our large rooms overlooking Damariscotta Harbor have the extras that ensure a comfortable stay: Great beds, high-end linens, TVs, DVDs, VCRs, an extensive movie library, bottled water, AC, robes, beach towels, tote-bags and more- all this plus turn-down service and a delicious multi-course breakfast. Our living room has nuts to crack, candy jars, jigsaw puzzles, crosswords, board games and books for an afternoon curled up on the sofa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tipsy Butler Bed And Breakfast Newcastle, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing