We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous spot to base stay in Mid Coast of Maine”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tipsy Butler Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Mill valley, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Marvelous spot to base stay in Mid Coast of Maine”
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We stayed three nights at the Tipsy Butler based on other reviews on Trip Advisor. Wow! We loved it. Comfortable room, nice sitting room and absolutely stupendous breakfasts. Enjoyed chatting with other guests and Sarah (owner, chef ) at breakfast each morning. Sarah is very helpful about area activities and always welcomes you back at the end of the day. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
40
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2009

The Tipsy Butler is a wonderful example of a Maine Guest House. Extremely clean, friendly welcome, great service, wonderful food! Our room had a fabulous view through the floor to ceiling windows. The walk-in close was a great surprise. Sara, the owner/manager/cook could not be more gracious. We stayed in "The Maid's Room". Huge space, firm king size bed and a comfortable sitting area. The parlor downstairs is a great place to meet fellow travelers. We can not recommend the Tipsy Butler enough!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimMarlborough_Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We arrived late but we were greeted by a big smile and a loving heart. The innkeeper, Sarah D. Jenkins Joa, led us to our room. The room was lovely as you can see on their website, but you have to be physically be in one of them to truly experience the little detail and thoughtfulness which goes into each theme. After a point my wife and I started to play "whose going to find the next sweet little detail in the room" game.

Next morning we had a marvelous breakfast, I am still trying to replicate the ginger grapefruit prepared in the oven, which is another story. The Inn oversees the Bay which is wonderful and the town is less than a five minute walk.

What did I like best? Everything.
What did I like least? Going back to Boston....

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aysegurol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bow, NH
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2008

We spent two nights in late foliage season at the Tipsy Butler and heartily recommend it. Sara and Tony, the hosts, were charming. The breakfasts were indeed sumptuous. And while we stayed in the Maid's Room, which is particulaly nice with its floor length windows, we checked out all the other rooms. All were appealing, with comortable accomodatons aimed at pampering. The Tipsy Butler also makes a wonderful base from which to meander along a particularly delightful section of the rocky Maine Coast. And depending on the weather and season, the hosts keep a supply of picnic supplies, slickers and umbrellas for their guests. A wonderful place!

  • Liked — Elegant comfort and wonderful location
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nhdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

This is a wonderful find, we have been coming to Maine for many years, and were lucky enough to find The Tipsy Butler in a town we already love. The care could not have been better with consideration given for every detail from the start of the day to end. It is close enough for an easy stroll into the town centre. The rooms are spacious and excellently appointed. Sarah is the perfect host. We had such fun with her and shared some special moments for us all. We will certainly go back there time and again.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WDandAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Tipsy Butler for our honeymoon last year, and couldn't recommend the place more. Sarah went out of her way to make us feel welcome, even happily (and deliciously) accomodating my mostly-vegan diet at the daily breakfasts. The room itself was lovely, and the local town and restaurants were just a few steps down the road. We're looking forward to returning; the only thing that prevented us from coming back for our anniversary this year was my bout with morning sickness. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — The innkeeper Sarah was a dear, making absolutely sure we were comfortable and happy.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2008

If you're considering a trip to Maine's mid-coast, look no further and book a room at The Tipsy Butler now.

Pros:

- Gorgeous B&B with beautiful view of Damariscotta. Our room was spacious and comfortable. You'll feel right at home.

- Fabulous hosts. Sarah is extraordinary. She goes out of her way to make you feel welcome but does not intrude on your privacy.

- Unusually good breakfast, we wish we had stayed another night.

- This place is a steal. We stayed for a very reasonable $120 on a gorgeous spring weekend.

- Newcastle is not far from Portland, Freeport, or Bar Harbor. All are reasonable day trips.

- Good website, booked everything online.

Cons:

- None. We were surprised by how close the B&B was to Route 1, but we didn't hear any noise at all, and we're not particularly sound sleepers.

There are plenty of charming places to stay in Maine, but this is our favorite. It's absolutely a hidden gem, and we're recommending it to anyone we know who is headed to Maine. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
12.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
527 reviews
13.6 mi away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
152 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
HawksHouse Bed & Breakfast
6.2 mi away
Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa
14.8 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tipsy Butler Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tipsy Butler Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Tipsy Butler Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11 High St, Newcastle, ME 04553-3663
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance & comfort in quintessential Mid-Coast Maine. Our large rooms overlooking Damariscotta Harbor have the extras that ensure a comfortable stay: Great beds, high-end linens, TVs, DVDs, VCRs, an extensive movie library, bottled water, AC, robes, beach towels, tote-bags and more- all this plus turn-down service and a delicious multi-course breakfast. Our living room has nuts to crack, candy jars, jigsaw puzzles, crosswords, board games and books for an afternoon curled up on the sofa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tipsy Butler Bed And Breakfast Newcastle, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing