We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pits!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newry
Reviewed 3 January 2007

BUYER BEWARE! The photo on the outside bares no resemblance to the horrors inside. Also. The best advice I can give you: if you book here remember to bring your own bedding. You will thank me for this priceless advice.

What a ripoff!

The skiing itself is good however.

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JohnHechtlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2006

We stayed at the Summit for five nights. The room was clean and the only complaint I have is that the walls are really thin and we could hear the people next door talking at 5am every morning. The staff was very friendly at check in/out, and they were helping in giving us information about things to do in the Bethel area. The shuttle to the lifts was very convenient at the main entrance, always on time. The bars and restaurants were a little pricey, if possible drive 10 minutes into town, there are several small restaurants, we got pizza and brought it back to the room. The pool and hot tub were awesome! It was snowing the day we went swimming so it was cool to be swimming while the snow was falling, plus the lifts run right next to the outdoor pool area so you can watch people skiiing while you relax. This was a very nice hotel and I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rosered78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2006

Overpriced rooms, noisy hallways, rooms not very clean, broken furniture, cannot control heat (called front desk no one showed up), broken toilet (called front desk, no one showed up). Gym, locker room and pool drab and not clean

Restaurants mediocre at best

Rude and unhelpful staff. Stay one night while at conference and my wife joined me to do some sking. Could not check in until 4:00 PM and had to be out by 10;30 AM the next day.

Lots of nice places to stay in Bethel, many easy way to get to Sunday River Ski area.

Stay any where else but here

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jameslfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Newburyport, MA
14
Reviewed 18 February 2006

I stayed here on business and was very disappointed in the rooms. It was obvious that they are geared toward clientel that would trash them in a second - not a single picture on the walls, cheap furniture, ugly carpeting and decor, polyethelene shower/tubs, etc. etc. And very noisy - can hear everything from people walking down the hall to the TV in the room next door. And, the rooms were hot - unable to turn down heat. Luckily the windows opened. No luxury here, that's for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Fredericton, NB
15
Reviewed 23 January 2006

We stayed at the Grand Summit Resort Hotel on the Weekend of Jan. 20-21. Although the room was clean, and spacious enough, we did not get as we expected. We were told that we would get a Studio Deluxe with kitchenette and ended up with a standard room with 2 beds. This was unexpected, but explained by "first come, first serve", and we arrived after 9pm after an over 5 hour drive.
Restaurants are pricey, remember to bring sufficient cash for the Moonstuck Cafe (over $30 for 3 people's sandwiches) and the pizzaria down the road only takes cash.
The Legends Restaurant in the Hotel is more "fancy" and definitely quite pricey. No children's menu was offered, and selection was not appropriate for a 12 year-old.
The ski resort is fantastic. Worth the drive and besides minor glitches, the hotel was great. The ski check and helpfulness of staff are wonderful. We plan on staying there again.

Stayed: January 2006
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2005

In April 2005, we spent a weekend at the Grand Summit Sunday River. Our goal was a spring skiing weekend, but upon checking in we were faced with a right-wing religious group that had overtaken the hotel for a conference. This group was not confined to a function room, but had set up in the lobby also. There was no escaping the propaganda. Apparently this group has regular conferences at the hotel. If you would be offended, as we were, by the pro-Bush "moral" messages everywhere you look, you might want to look for another hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank disneygalM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cape Cod, MA
152
Reviewed 12 April 2004

My family and I went on a ski weekend at the Grand Summit Hotel located right at Sunday River Ski Resort, Maine. We were completely robbed of some of our most prized possessions. At the time the hotel had numbers on your keys so that if you lose your key they would know who they belonged to. My husband and I were amazed at this thinking how truly antiquated this was for a hotel of this stature. Additionally, some of the rooms were so unsecure you could actually get in them with just a credit card. However, our room was not this way, but, somehow we were robbed while my children and I were skiing the mountain. The thieves filled up the boy's backpacks with anything they could find, including, DVD's, Playstation 2 and its games and controllers, a sony camcorder with a tape of when my daughter was 2 years old at the very same mountain. What hurts me most about all of this is the way the hotel and its staff treated us after we had reported this to them not to mention the Oxford Count Sheriff's office never showed up after the hotel security called them. We were made to feel like criminals ourselves for being violated in their hotel. I cannot understand how this could be. It takes all we can do to afford to take our four children away and to have this happen in return is truly devastating. We have no recourse whatsoever. The hotel management never once apologized The American Skiing Company refused to even respond.

52  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
18.2 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
16.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
5.4 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
724 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center

Address: Skiway Rd. and 97 Summit Rd., Sunday River Resort, Newry, ME 04217
Region: United States > Maine > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newry
Price Range: £84 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Summit Hotel combines the best of both worlds. It offers all the amenities you would expect from a full-service hotel like two restaurants, a health club, and a heated outdoor pool, with all the convenience of a true slopeside location. Accommodations include 230 well-appointed guest rooms, all of which were recently renovated, ranging from standard hotel rooms to suites with kitchens. Located at the entrance to the resort, the Grand Summit Hotel is a landmark and provides easy access to the resort's core winter and summer activities. The hotel's slopeside location is ideal for families looking for ski-in/ski-out access thanks to a number of beginner-level trails located nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Summit Resort Hotel Newry
Grand Summit Hotel And Conference Center Newry, Maine
Summit Bethel
Bethel Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing