We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ski in ski out location, outdoor hot tub après-ski a huge plus!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunday River Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newry
Eastern Passage, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great ski in ski out location, outdoor hot tub après-ski a huge plus!”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

First time visitors, booked a 5 weekday 5 night ski package for 2. Great value midweek despite some hill facilities closing on weekdays. Good location near town, easy parking and check in. Very friendly staff at the counter and restaurant. Not busy while we were there so we found the ski check and breakfasts quick and easy. It was nice not to have to drag our boards back to the room every night. Settled into a great breakfast-ski-coffee-ski-lunch-ski-hot tub-sauna-dinner/drinks routine. Awesome and varied breakfast buffet with yummy crepe and omelette bar. Food at Legends restaurant in the hotel was good value. Room layout was a bit odd with no nightstands or fridge/microwave; the bed (not Murphy) was comfortable! Wifi worked great in the lobby but was spotty further away in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    19
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
34
17
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westford, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Excellent hotel and amenities. Service was superb, and it wasn't too crowded.
The resort is enough of a trip to be out of the way, and thus most of the mainstream weekend crowds don't make it there. Place is huge, skiing is excellent, and the outdoor pool and spa is perfect just after skiing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the pool and spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popelkaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great vacation location with excellent conditions & wide range of trails. Very family friendly mountain

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyfun2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I am still at Sunday River staying in the Grand Summit. This is the 4th time we have been her in the last five years and we usually love the place. The skiing is great despite the snow shortage across North America and the general level of customer service is fantastic. However I have had two nights without sleep because of rowdy teenagers in the room next door. The hotel had taken bookings from several school parties and I guess the kids are only being normal teenagers but I would certainly accuse the management of poor planning. I did not book into an 18-30 hotel - if they are going to take bookings from adults on holiday for a pleasant ski trip and from kids then manage the allocation of rooms to keep the two groups separate. On check in the Duty Manager was asked by a guest when he was finishing and he said then that he may have to be there until midnight because they had had some complaints of noise. When I complained the staff empahised but did nothing - i asked for a change of room and the place was full so no joy. I called security and they were ineffective and I had a word with the kids and their teacher myself, all to no avail. Whilst I certainly blame the kids and their teachers I do feel let down by the hotel. Sad because everything else has been great as usual.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mutsnuts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munster on tour
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Had mid-week ski break, first time at sunday river & was a great experience! Got great package that included 2 day lift ticket, $25 f&b credit, 2 ski lessons, overnight stay & continental breakfast. Stayed at the inn by the resort and had everything we needed, rooms are normal hotel size, bed spread & curtains are little dated but work. Continental breakfast was simple but worked, no fruit.
Found everyone who worked slope side very friendly and had great customer interaction skills, was refreshing. Recommend and will be heading back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pubwithnophone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The Resort was very nice and clean also. The room we had was huge and had all the amenities we could want. The bedrooms were huge. The beds were very comfortable. The overall hotel was clean and very nice. We could ski out from our hotel and get on the chair lift and ski back there after the day was done. The restaurant had good food and drinks . The heated pool and jacuzzi were very nice. Overall we all had a great time there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geno0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We just returned from an awesome week of skiing at Sunday River. My husband, kids and I LOVE to ski (actually they board, I ski). We have been to all the resorts in Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont...but our favorite by far is Sunday River! We have been going to Sunday River with our 2 kids for 10 years now because you just can't beat the terrain, assortment of easy and challenging runs and short lift lines! The snow making capabilities and mint grooming is superb.We really enjoy the fabulous location of this resort and the services such as ski in and ski out plus ski valet,Moonstruck cafe, and Legends Restaurant in house! We stay in a studio unit (murphy bed and pull out couch) with kitchenette which is great for a family of 4 or less! The outdoor heated pool and hot tub is a perfect way to relax and soothe sore muscles apres ski. There is nothing comprable to relaxing in bath temperature water with snowflakes landing on your head. Sunday River also offers other activities such as ice skating and snowtubing (reasonably priced). Most weeks have themes such as children's week, college week etc. If you are looking to party keep on searching because SR has little to no nightlife which is perfect for us. The Foggy Goggle at South Ridge is a great spot to stop for lunch and a couple of drinks hillside but is a little pricey. There is a cafeteria style place to eat at South Ridge main level as well where you can bring your own lunch or buy, but we always hit the bar to avoid young kids and crowds. We did dine out at The Sunday River Brewing Company (SRBC) and the food there was dreadful and made us all sick...do not go there! We will be returning to Grand Summit and Sunday River for many years to come!

Room Tip: For peace and quiet request South Side as the main part often has children running up and down the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
16.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
17.5 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
5.9 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
5.3 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
49 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 15 in Bethel
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunday River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunday River Resort

Property: Sunday River Resort
Address: 15 S Ridge Rd, Newry, ME 04261-3229
Region: United States > Maine > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newry
Number of rooms: 1232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunday River Resort is located minutes from picturesque Bethel Village in Western Maine's Mahoosuc Mountains. A true four-season destination, the resort offers eight interconnected peaks of world class skiing and snowboarding, the most slopeside lodging in the east including two resort hotels, and in the summer months activities including lift-serviced mountain biking, ziplines, and golf at the acclaimed Sunday River Golf Club. Sunday River is a member of the Boyne Resorts family of resorts and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunday River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunday River Hotel Newry
Sunday River Resort Newry, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing