We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Nice”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunday River Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newry
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Jordan Grand was everything they advertise. The setting is wonderful. We booked a fall weekend and were amazed with the beautiful scenery in every direction. A most pleasant staff is well trained and eager to help. The rooms were spotless. Everything was neat and clean throughout the entire complex. The food and drink were outstanding in every restaurant and bar.
There are all types of rooms to accommodate every need from couples to families to larger groups. Indoor-outdoor pool, spa, gym....they have it all. You will enjoy a stay at Sunday River Jordan Grand no matter what time of the year you choose to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denmiller2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at the Jordan Grand as always. The staff, phenomenal, food is very good, great drinks, accommodations excellent, new TV's, beds, and furniture. Can say enough about having a feeling of being home. The worst part of the trip is having to leave.

Room Tip: rooms towards the middle have easier access to main entrance. Most rooms have a great view, but don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Grand Summit hotel and cannot portray how wonderful our stay was. We attended a family wedding (nephew) and it was a fantastic place for a couple say their vows. From check-in to check-out we were totally happy with the staff and resort. Our room was exceptional - we were both born and brought up in Maine, but had never been to Sunday River - we would recommend Grand Summit Hotel to anyone - we now live in Florida so a return visit isn't possible anytime in the near future.

The resort and staff received all exceptional ratings from us - stay there and you will understand why! Happy travels.

Room Tip: We had a spotless room with balcony and was wonderful to sit out and enjoy the fresh Maine air and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonE6214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed in a studio with a Murphy bed, very clean and the kitchen had everything you could possible need. We actually came here for a convention and found the staff to be very friendly no matter what time of day. The food was fine and the accommodations were above average, the pool and gym were exceptional. The next time we stay here I would spend the extra money for a room with a bed. We were here just after the ski season ended but there is no doubt it would be a great place to stay for the fall foliage.

Room Tip: If you can spend a little more money get a room with a balcony and face the mountain. See the differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2antigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed in a studio condo "Cascades" Feb 22-26. The room was very clean. It had a very comfortable twin bed and a suitable queen murphy bed. The towels were replenished each day and the trash was emptied. The kitchen has all the needed dishes. We were ski in and ski out. There was also a shuttle bus to other areas of the resort. The only thing we wish it had was a fireplace. The skiing was fabulous, the staff was even better. Our kids spent two days at the ski school and said it was the best two days of their lives, so they obviously made a great impression.

Room Tip: request a room with mountain or slope views instead of the parking lot and you will be able to watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

What normally would have been a 9 hour drive took us 11 hours due to the snow storm we encountered. Our much anticipated arrival to the South Ridge Lodge was greeted with a welcoming 'growling' bear & friendly staff! The front desk employees were more than happy to patiently go over all our check-in information with our group & being we were all tired & punchy, this was quite a feat! We stayed at Brookside, where we quickly found our room on the 3rd floor & then headed out to eat. Brookside is less than a 10 minute walk from The Phoenix & since no one wanted to wait for the FREE trolley bus, we walked up hill to the bar :) We went back to our room after eating & some of our group went to the hot tub. We were disappointed that the pool & hot tub area closed at 2200 but we thought that might have been because we arrived on a Sunday. Turns out, the pool/hot tub close at 2200 every night :( not convenient for some... esp. since there is not much else to do in this little ski/snowboard town.
We stayed Sunday - Wednesday, check-in was easy & check out, even easier. Our package included hotel, lift tickets AND free lessons on the mountain so we took full advantage of that Monday morning! The instructor (Chuck) was very helpful & we enjoyed getting tips from someone who really knew what they are doing & clearly enjoyed his job.
The rooms are kept clean by a house keeping staff, no need to worry about towels but make sure you bring a blow dryer! Our condo included pots & pans, dishes, silverware & cups & mugs. The fridge & stove were kept clean as well, all the amenities to have dinner in the condo if you wanted. It seemed to me that all the rooms had a beautiful view, the rest of our group was in the building next to us & their room faced the mountain.
What we did not like was not necessarily with the lodging but with the town itself. Outside of skiing or riding at Sunday River, there is not much to do. On the access road, there are a few restaurants & bars & maybe a few shops… maybe. But being we were there during the week in the MIDDLE of what we thought was peak season, most stores were closed! If you are the type that likes to ‘check out town’ when you go away somewhere, I can sum it up for you real quick: it’s probably closed. We had to drive at least 20 minutes from our condo to find a grocery store. You won’t find many gift shops, we heard about a jewelry store, but it was closed, could not find the gift shop but if you don’t care about these things, then you will love this town! Our group would have liked to have more to explore, esp. in the evening.
Outside of this, we had a great stay. The hotel requires that we keep our snowboarding equipment in lockers on the 1st floor of the building, not a bad idea but there is no way we were getting 4 peoples gear into that tiny locker! This needs to be re-configured, so we saw many people bringing their gear up to their rooms. This would have been ok if there were elevators in the building but whatever…
The pool & hot tub were clean, there is staff there to check you in & out, no life guard tho. there is a separate locker room for men & women but inside there are no lockers, it’s an honor system of where to put your things & this was not an issue at all. Tho I do recommend bringing flip flops to where till you actually get to the pool, the floors do get a bit gross.
Again, free transportation to & from all the locations of Sunday River lodging… & there is also a bus that will bring you into town… all FREE & you can obtain a schedule at the lodge when you check in.
The gift shop in the South Lodge building seemed overpriced but they all are so no big deal but they did not have a great selection  would have liked to see more options, this is a HUGE ski resort.
1 night we drove to Jordan Peak to get dinner at Sliders Restaurant… be prepared to drive for some time!! More than ½ of our group got lost! Oh & you have to keep your eyes peeled for the sigh that will point you to the left at the fork!
All in all, a good stay; VERY reasonably priced, clean condo w/ ride on/ ride off availability, free transport in & around ‘town’ (did I mention FREE transportation?!). If we do ever make the trip again, we def. would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natrona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We'd not been to Sunday Mountain before but the trail map looked promising.

When we arrived we found a good range of runs covering all abilities with pretty good snow (by New England standards!). The place is very scenic with a good layout. The parking is easy and there are several base stations. The only downside is the lack of decent cafes for mid-morning coffee, but we found one in a hotel over to the far right of the trail map.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Herberter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
17.6 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
17 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
576 reviews
16.2 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
17.4 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
727 reviews
3.8 mi away
River View Resort
River View Resort
#14 of 16 in Bethel
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunday River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunday River Resort

Address: 15 S Ridge Rd, Newry, ME 04261-3229
Region: United States > Maine > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newry
Number of rooms: 1232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunday River Resort is located minutes from picturesque Bethel Village in Western Maine's Mahoosuc Mountains. A true four-season destination, the resort offers eight interconnected peaks of world class skiing and snowboarding, the most slopeside lodging in the east including two resort hotels, and in the summer months activities including lift-serviced mountain biking, ziplines, and golf at the acclaimed Sunday River Golf Club. Sunday River is a member of the Boyne Resorts family of resorts and attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunday River Hotel Newry
Sunday River Resort Newry, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing