We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great vacation!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunday River Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newry
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great vacation!!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here during the Canadian March break, 2014. Had so much fun. I'm not an avid skier but there were plenty of hills for me to try. Food was good and room was cozy. Had a full pitcher so was able to stop and grab some groceries at the nearby town - which also had a mardens by the way! Would go again! The outdoor pool was very cool although for the place not allowing alcohol outside the jot tub was constantly full with people drinking. Very disappointing as you could not get in :( but the pool was nice

Room Tip: Full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    19
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
32
16
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I had a wonderful time here. We stayed in a slope-side condo away from the main resort. The condo was so cute and made us feel at home right away. The resort itself had some crowded slopes, some of them icy/over-skied in places, but that is all to be expected in the Northeast. Overall, I found them no icier than any other ski resort I have been to in New England. I would highly recommend this condo/resort and hope to go back again next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACRuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have been to Sunday River before and love the skiing there. This time I decided to rent a condo for the weekend for myself and my two children. The condo was one large room divided into sections. As you came in the door there was an open closet and the sink for the bathroom, then the shower/toilet to the right of that with a door. Further in was a couch, end table, and to the right the kitchen, which had a small table, fridge, stove/oven, sink, cabinets. Most items you would need were in the cabinets and drawers. At the back was a raised section (two steps up) that held a queen size bed and bunk beds, television and couch. We also had a little balcony out the back. It wasn't fancy but it was comfortable and affordable and perfect for a weekend skiing with kids. We were able to have most of our meals at the condo, saving money and eating a bit healthier, too. Included was a locker down in the basement for ski equipment, which was convenient. We could ski right out of the condo down to South Ridge Lodge and the lifts. The only issue was that the condo did not have Wifi, which I was not informed about ahead of time. The condo was cleaned daily and the cleaning staff were very nice. The owners had also stocked the condo with soap, lotions, first aid supplies, coffee, and other little helpful items. We had a great time (despite terribly cold temperatures!) and the kids loved the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCF314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
376 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is like 5 mountains in 1 and they go in succession with the easiest mountain near the main lodge and the expert mountain all the way to the left.

It's Maine, so conditions are perfect.

I highly recommend weekdays because it is so quiet and you can savor the views without the crowd.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Great places to eat and drink and fantastic ski ing for our level (blue). Empty slopes through the week so no queues anywhere. Great. Would definitely go again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have skied in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Quebec in Canada, as well as in Jay Peak,
Vermont. . Sunday River Resort provides exciting skiing which is unsurpassed in Eastern North America. There are eight connected hills, many lifts, and pistes which are wonderful for beginners and which challenge the expert. The bulk of the accommodations are ski-in/ski-out. The snow and grooming are fantastic. There is a wonderful ski school with instructors for every need. The season usually lasts from the end of October to the end of April, with well-groomed runs and off-piste and glade areas.
The town of Bethel is minutes away and provides further accommodations, supplies, ski shops, gift shops, a pharmacy, and a medical clinic. A fabulous ski location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here for a week in the fall - resort and scenery did not disappoint! Great for walking trails and driving through the wonderful countryside. Hotel is a resort on its own with spa and pool - would be a great place for a conference at any time of the year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigsensible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
16.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
16.9 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Snow Cap Inn
Snow Cap Inn
#12 of 15 in Bethel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
5.3 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunday River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunday River Resort

Property: Sunday River Resort
Address: 15 S Ridge Rd, Newry, ME 04261-3229
Region: United States > Maine > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newry
Number of rooms: 1232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunday River Resort is located minutes from picturesque Bethel Village in Western Maine's Mahoosuc Mountains. A true four-season destination, the resort offers eight interconnected peaks of world class skiing and snowboarding, the most slopeside lodging in the east including two resort hotels, and in the summer months activities including lift-serviced mountain biking, ziplines, and golf at the acclaimed Sunday River Golf Club. Sunday River is a member of the Boyne Resorts family of resorts and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunday River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunday River Hotel Newry
Sunday River Resort Newry, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing