We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Berwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Angel of the Berwicks
Kinver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My wife, her sister and I booked in here in October and we had a very comfortable stay, the room was clean and well furnished in period furniture. Location for us was superb, the only gripe is that breakfast was served at a fixed time and with no choice of menu, you had what was cooked and whilst what we had was well cooked, it did not suit us all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ME-Bucky, Owner at Angel of the Berwicks, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your five star rating in a number of categories. You are very perceptive in noting our excellent location, which is easily accessible to all the points of interest in southern Maine. Our full gourmet breakfast is served between 8 AM and 9:30 AM, although we encourage our guests to arrive at 8:30 AM so each guest can enjoy the company of as many other guests as possible. Continental breakfasts are served to guests who must depart before 8 AM. At check in, we discuss the breakfasts with each guest so that dietary restrictions can be accommodated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
debranaz
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

After trying for several weeks to find a room availability on the ocean in the Ogunquit/Kennibunkport area for a 4 night stay in September, we were fortunate enough to find the Angel of the Berwicks in North Berwick Maine. What an undiscovered gem! At first, we were a little disappointed to be staying about 15 minutes from the shore. However, once we arrived and saw how close we were to the shore, we were very glad to be in a quiet spot which offered us rooms far nicer than most along the shore. The little town of North Berwick was centrally located. After visiting the seaside villages of Ogunquit, Kennibunkport and York, we quickly realized that our decision to stay outside of these towns made our trip much more enjoyable. Although these towns were beautiful, they were extremely busy and very difficult to get around with a car. The options in these towns were also pretty pricey in spite of being pretty average. The Angel is a gorgeous Victorian mansion which has been impeccably restored and filled with and outstanding selection of antiques. The rooms are extremely spacious and immaculately clean. The bathrooms are beautifully restored and very modern. There are lots of sitting area's for reading and relaxing and also a tv room on the second floor. There is free Wifi which can be a little tricky in the rooms, however, easily accessible on the first floor. Full breakfasts are included. These breakfasts are not just any ordinary breakfasts. Sally's 3 course gourmet creations included everything from fresh baked muffins, poached plums with a dollop of fresh yogurt, veggie frittata with heirloom tomatoes, egg strata's with spinach and cheese and on and on and on. The food was always presented with beautiful fresh edible flowers or herbs that were freshly picked from her garden. Sally and Ben are wonderful hosts. They not only make you feel comfortable, but they also do a great job suggesting both wonderful restaurants and things to do in the area. Ben certainly knows the surrounding areas and seems to have a wonderful sense of each guests interests. We would love to have the opportunity to visit Angel of the Berwicks again soon. It was one of the most charming places that we have ever visited. Thanks Sally and Ben for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debranaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ME-Bucky, Owner at Angel of the Berwicks, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Since our inn is 15 minutes from the busier tourist destinations in southern Maine, we must work extra hard to provide superior accommodations and service to our guests at a far lower price. We are are grateful to this writer for recognizing the incredible attributes of Angel of the Berwicks, and then expressing them so well in her review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Lovers of Victorian B&B's will find everything and more than they could hope for in the charming Angel of the Berwicks in North Berwick, ME. Also known as the Hurd Manor and converted to a Bed and Breakfast by the current owners, the mansion was built in 1893 and takes guests back to a time of stained glass, heavy moldings, stenciled borders and lace while giving them the modern conveniences today's travelers require. There are feasts for the eyes and feasts for breakfast with owner Sally's scrumptious 3-course gourmet morning meals. From inviting "porch parties" and time for relaxing to the many sights in nearby Ogunquit, Kittery, and Kennebunkport , the Angel is a perfect spot for Maine vacationers. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Manor has a history worth noting as it was built by an enterprising woman, Mary Hurd, whose woolen mill business brought jobs and success to this small community in the 1890's. There's a legacy of beauty, attention to detail and hospitality awaiting you at this outstanding B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ME-Bucky, Owner at Angel of the Berwicks, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Clearly, "Marcia C" was very perceptive during her stay at Angel of the Berwicks. Thank you very much for taking the time to write such kind and flattering words. The director of Maine's Historic Preservation Commission wrote that Angel of the Berwicks is "the most outstanding example of its style in southern Maine and nowhere in the state does a more impressive Queen Anne—Eastlake residence exist.” Sally and I are delighted to open up this magnificent mansion to so many guests who appreciate fine historical architecture and design.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is an 1893 Victorian mansion that has been beautifully restored and filled with period antiques. You'll feel like it's the turn of the century when you see the inside of the house - absolutely incredible! The hosts, Sally and Ben, went out of their way to make us feel at home and were very glad to offer tips and advise for the area.

Be sure to sit in on one of their "Patio Parties" out front on the veranda. Great way to unwind after a long day of vacationing. Marsha and I highly recommend this B&B to anyone interested in a wonderful place to stay. We look forward to visiting with Ben and Sally again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickcurtis47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ME-Bucky, Owner at Angel of the Berwicks, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your review and for mentioning the "tips and advice" we give on area attractions. Sally and I love to get out and explore our little part of the world on short day trips throughout the year. Fortunately, there are lots of interesting, educational, scenic and fun places to see within a day's drive of Angel of the Berwicks. We are always anxious to share our discoveries with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa-canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed four days in this beautiful Victorian house. The room was actually a suite and we loved to watch TV or read when it was raining too hard. The furniture are authentic pieces which is pretty rare in Bed and breakfast; Staying in this place made it very easy to get to Ogunquit and Kennebunk ports (a few miles). By doing this we avoided the very expensive prices of the resorts in those two villages/cities

Our hosts : Ben and Sally were absolutely nice. Trying to help us in everyway possible and the breakfasts were at the same time lights and nourishing.

All in all it's a great experience. If I could, I'd do it again.

Francoise H. Ottawa (and French speaking - sorry for the mistakes !)

Room Tip: try to get the salmon room (2 flights of stairs - not for people with disabioities) and it's the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francoiseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ME-Bucky, Owner at Angel of the Berwicks, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
What fun we had with you and Ken during your stay last week. Thank you for all your kind words and, especially, for appreciating the fine antiques. Ben Gumm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Angel of the Berwicks is comfortable and the breakfast was wonderful! Sally & Ben are excellent hosts with a beautiful Victorian mansion to welcome guests in. The location is not particularly scenic outside, but once you are in, it does not matter. The restoration of the elaborate Victorian decor is marvelous. The room we had was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. Sally fixed a gourmet French toast breakfast with a first course of fruit that was as lovely to look at as it was delicious to eat. We took a pleasant walk around the small town in the early evening. The location is just a short drive from the Maine coast and the shopping areas of Kittery and southern NH. We will likely return again, it was restful and enjoyable.

Room Tip: There is some street noise in the front bedroom which faces east - where the sun comes up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ME-Bucky, Owner at Angel of the Berwicks, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Bed & Breakfast. Sally and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Ben Gumm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Angel for our honeymoon in August of last year. It was our first trip to Maine and we can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our time there. Ben and Sally truly made us feel at home and couldn't have been more kind. We enjoyed getting to know the other guests each morning over Sally's amazing breakfasts, served in the formal dining room.

The actual house is GORGEOUS!! I really didn't want to leave. The architecture, woodwork, painted details and stained glass were beautiful. I spent hours just looking at the details. We're already talking about celebrating our 1st anniversary there, but waiting until October to see Maine in the fall.

Beautiful house, wonderful accommodations, and awesome hosts. Loved everything about the Angel and our stay!

Room Tip: The Niagara Falls Room was very spacious and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ME-Bucky, Owner at Angel of the Berwicks, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. Sally and I certainly appreciate your kind words. It is one of our greatest pleasures to see our guests enjoying such warm camaraderie around the breakfast table and on the front porch. We look forward to hosting you again this fall........Ben Gumm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Angel of the Berwicks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel of the Berwicks

Property: Angel of the Berwicks
Address: 2 Elm Street, North Berwick, ME
Region: United States > Maine > North Berwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grandeur of this 25-room romantic Victorian mansion while you enjoy all the Southern Maine Seacoast Region has to offer. Stretch out in one of our spacious guest rooms or choose a two-room suite--all have beautiful private baths. Full gourmet breakfasts are artfully served each morning. Conveniently located just 10 minutes from Exit 19 off I-95, and 15 minutes from miles of white sandy beaches. Fabulous shopping is nearby in Kennebunkport, Ogunquit , Kittery, Wells and Portsmouth, NH. An ideal setting for private parties of up to 75 people. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing