We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My business trip was a pleasure.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Berwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Angel of the Berwicks
Reviewed 8 December 2013

With a smooth wooden banister on my right, Ben led me to a comfortable room on the dusk of a long day.

Angel of the Berwicks proved a lucky find for me on my career’s first business trip this December. Upon arrival to my room, Salmon Falls, Mr. Gumm pointed out a spot for supper. After napping in luxury, I ate there with comfort. Rested and fed, the two minute walk back felt clear. Apparently I experienced tunnel vision upon first arrival, because Hurd Manor is gorgeous.

The library, music room, and dining room implicitly and/or explicitly told stories with a medley of: paintings, sculptures, books, windows, furniture and even technological systems. How did a fossil filled fireplace get there? How many hours of craftsmanship created such carefully carved shelving? When?

Happy to ascend the staircase for bedtime, all seemed well, but I forgot toothpaste! Sally would be to the rescue! But. At the time. Was asleep. She can relate a comedy of naive insolence, hospitality, and eventually my education...

The next morning, quiet music provided a relaxed ambiance for a home cooked breakfast. Feeling sharp made a few days of work akin to a vacation. I hope it is not full when I get to go back, because it is a bed and breakfast so enchanting you’ll want to linger.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweak_Unique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ME-Bucky, Owner at Angel of the Berwicks, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Business travelers find staying at Angel of the Berwicks to be an especially rewarding experience because we are located less than a half mile from our three major companies--Pratt & Whitney, Hussey Seating and the new Hannaford's Supermarket. The reviewer took the time to explore the entire inn and was rewarded by discovering the finer points of this amazing structure. The fossilized marble, from 450 million years ago, most likely came from the middle east. It's always rewarding to have guests truly appreciate our amazing inn. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Angel of the Berwicks
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

My wife, her sister and I booked in here in October and we had a very comfortable stay, the room was clean and well furnished in period furniture. Location for us was superb, the only gripe is that breakfast was served at a fixed time and with no choice of menu, you had what was cooked and whilst what we had was well cooked, it did not suit us all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ME-Bucky, Owner at Angel of the Berwicks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your five star rating in a number of categories. You are very perceptive in noting our excellent location, which is easily accessible to all the points of interest in southern Maine. Our full gourmet breakfast is served between 8 AM and 9:30 AM, although we encourage our guests to arrive at 8:30 AM so each guest can enjoy the company of as many other guests as possible. Continental breakfasts are served to guests who must depart before 8 AM. At check in, we discuss the breakfasts with each guest so that dietary restrictions can be accommodated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

After trying for several weeks to find a room availability on the ocean in the Ogunquit/Kennibunkport area for a 4 night stay in September, we were fortunate enough to find the Angel of the Berwicks in North Berwick Maine. What an undiscovered gem! At first, we were a little disappointed to be staying about 15 minutes from the shore. However, once we arrived and saw how close we were to the shore, we were very glad to be in a quiet spot which offered us rooms far nicer than most along the shore. The little town of North Berwick was centrally located. After visiting the seaside villages of Ogunquit, Kennibunkport and York, we quickly realized that our decision to stay outside of these towns made our trip much more enjoyable. Although these towns were beautiful, they were extremely busy and very difficult to get around with a car. The options in these towns were also pretty pricey in spite of being pretty average. The Angel is a gorgeous Victorian mansion which has been impeccably restored and filled with and outstanding selection of antiques. The rooms are extremely spacious and immaculately clean. The bathrooms are beautifully restored and very modern. There are lots of sitting area's for reading and relaxing and also a tv room on the second floor. There is free Wifi which can be a little tricky in the rooms, however, easily accessible on the first floor. Full breakfasts are included. These breakfasts are not just any ordinary breakfasts. Sally's 3 course gourmet creations included everything from fresh baked muffins, poached plums with a dollop of fresh yogurt, veggie frittata with heirloom tomatoes, egg strata's with spinach and cheese and on and on and on. The food was always presented with beautiful fresh edible flowers or herbs that were freshly picked from her garden. Sally and Ben are wonderful hosts. They not only make you feel comfortable, but they also do a great job suggesting both wonderful restaurants and things to do in the area. Ben certainly knows the surrounding areas and seems to have a wonderful sense of each guests interests. We would love to have the opportunity to visit Angel of the Berwicks again soon. It was one of the most charming places that we have ever visited. Thanks Sally and Ben for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debranaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ME-Bucky, Owner at Angel of the Berwicks, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Since our inn is 15 minutes from the busier tourist destinations in southern Maine, we must work extra hard to provide superior accommodations and service to our guests at a far lower price. We are are grateful to this writer for recognizing the incredible attributes of Angel of the Berwicks, and then expressing them so well in her review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Lovers of Victorian B&B's will find everything and more than they could hope for in the charming Angel of the Berwicks in North Berwick, ME. Also known as the Hurd Manor and converted to a Bed and Breakfast by the current owners, the mansion was built in 1893 and takes guests back to a time of stained glass, heavy moldings, stenciled borders and lace while giving them the modern conveniences today's travelers require. There are feasts for the eyes and feasts for breakfast with owner Sally's scrumptious 3-course gourmet morning meals. From inviting "porch parties" and time for relaxing to the many sights in nearby Ogunquit, Kittery, and Kennebunkport , the Angel is a perfect spot for Maine vacationers. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Manor has a history worth noting as it was built by an enterprising woman, Mary Hurd, whose woolen mill business brought jobs and success to this small community in the 1890's. There's a legacy of beauty, attention to detail and hospitality awaiting you at this outstanding B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marsha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ME-Bucky, Owner at Angel of the Berwicks, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Clearly, "Marcia C" was very perceptive during her stay at Angel of the Berwicks. Thank you very much for taking the time to write such kind and flattering words. The director of Maine's Historic Preservation Commission wrote that Angel of the Berwicks is "the most outstanding example of its style in southern Maine and nowhere in the state does a more impressive Queen Anne—Eastlake residence exist.” Sally and I are delighted to open up this magnificent mansion to so many guests who appreciate fine historical architecture and design.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is an 1893 Victorian mansion that has been beautifully restored and filled with period antiques. You'll feel like it's the turn of the century when you see the inside of the house - absolutely incredible! The hosts, Sally and Ben, went out of their way to make us feel at home and were very glad to offer tips and advise for the area.

Be sure to sit in on one of their "Patio Parties" out front on the veranda. Great way to unwind after a long day of vacationing. Marsha and I highly recommend this B&B to anyone interested in a wonderful place to stay. We look forward to visiting with Ben and Sally again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickcurtis47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ME-Bucky, Owner at Angel of the Berwicks, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your review and for mentioning the "tips and advice" we give on area attractions. Sally and I love to get out and explore our little part of the world on short day trips throughout the year. Fortunately, there are lots of interesting, educational, scenic and fun places to see within a day's drive of Angel of the Berwicks. We are always anxious to share our discoveries with our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed four days in this beautiful Victorian house. The room was actually a suite and we loved to watch TV or read when it was raining too hard. The furniture are authentic pieces which is pretty rare in Bed and breakfast; Staying in this place made it very easy to get to Ogunquit and Kennebunk ports (a few miles). By doing this we avoided the very expensive prices of the resorts in those two villages/cities

Our hosts : Ben and Sally were absolutely nice. Trying to help us in everyway possible and the breakfasts were at the same time lights and nourishing.

All in all it's a great experience. If I could, I'd do it again.

Francoise H. Ottawa (and French speaking - sorry for the mistakes !)

Room Tip: try to get the salmon room (2 flights of stairs - not for people with disabioities) and it's the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francoiseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ME-Bucky, Owner at Angel of the Berwicks, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

What fun we had with you and Ken during your stay last week. Thank you for all your kind words and, especially, for appreciating the fine antiques. Ben Gumm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Angel of the Berwicks is comfortable and the breakfast was wonderful! Sally & Ben are excellent hosts with a beautiful Victorian mansion to welcome guests in. The location is not particularly scenic outside, but once you are in, it does not matter. The restoration of the elaborate Victorian decor is marvelous. The room we had was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. Sally fixed a gourmet French toast breakfast with a first course of fruit that was as lovely to look at as it was delicious to eat. We took a pleasant walk around the small town in the early evening. The location is just a short drive from the Maine coast and the shopping areas of Kittery and southern NH. We will likely return again, it was restful and enjoyable.

Room Tip: There is some street noise in the front bedroom which faces east - where the sun comes up!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ME-Bucky, Owner at Angel of the Berwicks, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Bed & Breakfast. Sally and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Ben Gumm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
17.0 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
10.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover
13.0 mi away
Coachman Inn
Coachman Inn
#1 of 3 in Kittery
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Super 8 Sanford Kennebunkport Area
10.7 mi away
Silver Fountain Inn
Silver Fountain Inn
#1 of 3 in Dover
198 reviews
7.1 mi away
Riverhouse
Riverhouse
#1 of 3 in South Berwick
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel of the Berwicks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel of the Berwicks

Address: 2 Elm Street, North Berwick, ME
Region: United States > Maine > North Berwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Berwick
Price Range: £81 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grandeur of this 25-room romantic Victorian mansion while you enjoy all the Southern Maine Seacoast Region has to offer. Stretch out in one of our spacious guest rooms or choose a two-room suite--all have beautiful private baths. Full gourmet breakfasts are artfully served each morning. Conveniently located just 10 minutes from Exit 19 off I-95, and 15 minutes from miles of white sandy beaches. Fabulous shopping is nearby in Kennebunkport, Ogunquit , Kittery, Wells and Portsmouth, NH. An ideal setting for private parties of up to 75 people. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing