We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Results”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Redbird Provisions Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Redbird Provisions Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
685 reviews
463 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Mixed Results”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

...over the course of a couple visits here. The setting is pretty, especially if you sit on the porch and take in the sweeping view down to the harbor. It's also pleasant to eat at the little bar there. Inside -- the restaurant is in an old house -- it's a little more cluttered.

On our first visit, we were smitten with the good food, friendly service and great setting. On a subsequent visit, the food seemed mediocre, the service snooty and the clientele too raucous for our taste. Does seem to cater to an older, moneyed crowd who like to talk about their cars and boats.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yog-Sothoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Bye-bye birdie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Restaurant is no more. Closed for season and, presumably, for good. Great sadness.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Figurati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best meal in Northeast Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

This restaurant has the best food in Northeast Harbor and is generally excellent. This year they enlarged the rear bar area and got a good bartender. The cocktails and mixed drinks are first rate, and generous in their size. The wine list though only a page long could do with some editing but has some gems and is farily priced for a restaurant of this type. The food is uniformly good in my experience (I ate there 6 or 7 times this summer) and some dishes really excellent. Try the lobster cavatelli and the kitchen liver pate if you can.

Some of the criticisms raised in other reviews are fair though. The menu is short with four entrees and four starters, but I view that as a plus. I would rather have a short menu of good fresh food than a four page monster full of stuff that has been at the back of the chill cabinet for a week, or came straight out of the freezer and into the microwave. Like most Maine summer restaurants the wait staff are mainly college kids on a summer job and the service can be a little random. Generally though they are friendly and helpful with the odd slip up being due to inexperience.

Redbird is not cheap but reasonable value for the quality. As for the no child policy; I love eating out with my children but really don't think this would be an experience which they would appreciate at a young age. To rate a restaurant you have never eaten in as "poor" because they choose not to accept a booking for your kids seems odd. The Colonel just down the street would be a much better bet with children.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NYFoodHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“On balance, quite good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

My wife and I really like this place, on the whole, but the diverse opinions in other reviews accurately reflect an annoying inconsistency in what can be a truly fine dining experience.

The food has generally been of unusually high quality for us, but that's not to say they haven't occasionally had a dud. I'd place the kitchen in the same category as Mache, Burning Tree, Red Sky, the Claremont and Town Hill. The wait staff, admittedly, is kids: some of whom can be quite endearing and some of whom can make some really annoying oversights. But we've had equally bad service at times at Red Sky and Havanna and at least at Redbird the people with a snobbish attitude are the Social Register patrons who greet their friends with barks of recognition and effusive air kisses, not the wait staff.

Redbird is a place that I'd really like to see succeed all of the time, not just part of the time.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ned22378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sackville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We loved it so much that we had three dinners there. We plan to go back next week. The food was light, good and even with a small menu the choices were very good.
Service was good, we sat outside and it was very pleasant.
Jean Sealy
Canada

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeansealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Redbird Provisions Restaurant also viewed

Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert
Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert
 
Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert
Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert
 
Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert
Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing