We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Colonel's Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonel's Suites
Seabrook, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

When you first arrive the address is for the bakery/hotel, we arrived after hours and new (having read some reviews already) to drive around the block to the back of the hotel. Once there I made a phone call and was told what I needed to do... Go upstairs to room 3 and my key will be there with a note that had my name. The room is basically a studio apartment my kids loved it (as did my wife and I). This place is great and near everything.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jalayola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    15
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is a small bed & breakfast with a restaurant on the first floor and rooms on the second floor. We stayed there in October, 2012. Our suite was clean, spacious and very comfortable. It looks new too. While it has the charm of a B&B, it does not have the muskiness of grandma's old quilt. It was the perfect place to rest and recharge after a day of hiking and activities in the Acadia. We arrived late at night but the staff made arrangements. The breakfast was beyond wonderful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duckioo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We loved the small town of Northeast Harbor and were happy to stay in this family owned bakery-restaurant and rooms above the bakery on the Main Street of Northeast Harbor. You feel you are part of the community and can walk easily up and down Main Street and to the Harbor. I loved the convenience of being in town. We found it easily as we were driving on Main Street and saw the bakery sign and Colonial Suites which are above the bakery.

The rooms are immaculate. The king bed was the most comfortable I have slept on. Our sons slept on the fold-out sofa in the living space. The complimentary breakfast is delicious in the restaurant. We bought donuts to-go from the bakery and they melt in your mouth. I recommend the chocolate, my sons enjoyed the blueberry. We had dinner the night before - the cheeseburger was tasty. We were completely satisfied with our experience and would stay here again. We got the last remaining room the night we stayed and were glad we did. We enjoyed the quiet charm of this town over the more crowded Bar Harbor. It's fun to visit the shops on Main Street. We came the last week in August when crowds have thinned out. There was plenty of parking; a shopkeeper told us in the prime summer weeks, the parking in front can be full. There is parking behind the hotel for guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laceandwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We were extremely dissatisfied with this "hotel". We had trouble locating it because its not a hotel. It's five rooms above bakery. After the confusing check in from the bakery staff. We were given directions to park around the block behind the bakery. Once we found the so called parking lot that had an overflowing dumpster with trash bags scattered, We made our way up a long steep stairway, into a hallway of 5 rooms. The room had an A/C that didn't allow the guests to control the temperature & After pulling down the blankets on the bed an finding hairs on the sheets, we returned to the bakery to voice our concerns. We were told they could not help us but the owner would be contacted. The bakery staff informed us that they tried multiple numbers but couldn't reach him. There are no employees for the hotel, just bakery staff. The owner finally called back. He didn't want to speak to us but relayed information to the bakery staff for us to notify the booking site and cancel our reservations if we were not happy. This whole experience was awful. We Left with no reservations so we drove around looking for another place to stay. The owner called us 2 days later demanding that we have the 3rd party website send him a confirmed cancellation so that he would not be charged a fee. We didn't understand why he would be charge a fee, because we weren't satisfied. This was very confusing since we called the booking site the day we left, & We were told we would not be charged any fees. The owner continued to tell us he may still charge us. This place should not
be advertised as a hotel. We Very disappointed in the way we were treated by the owner. The booking site was very understanding and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debski95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainer04, Owner at Colonel's Suites, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Guest,

As we are only a small hotel we use the bakery area as our check-in I am the owner of the hotel my son is the owner of the restaurant so we work together .When I was contacted the message I got was you did not want to stay so I said that was fine we do not want guests to stay if they are not happy all I asked was for you to contact the booking agent and cancel so I would not be charged a fee and I cannot rent this room again untill i have that cancelation.When I did not recieve it I did contact you to let you know you could still be charged not by me but by the booking agent. The parking area is for 8 to 10 cars there is a dumpster with walls around it
the controls for the air and heat unit are on the walls so guests can control it.Our sheets our done and pressed at a local laundry if a hair was found we have our housekeeping staff on call we could have fixed that problem quickly. I am sorry you had this kind of mishap while on vacation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

When we realized we were going to be late arriving, we contacted the hotel, and they were very gracious in accommodating our time. Fortunately we arrived just before the restaurant closed so we did get help. Unfortunately it was a bit confusing. The young lady directed us to the front entrance and then proceeded to tell us to park behind the building which was not a well defined parking area. Once there it was not clear how to return to the front entrance. Fortunately we were finally directed to the back entrance and were able to get in. We stayed in room 3 which was a one bedroom. It was clean, simply decorated, and quite spacious. We had our grown daughter with us so were hoping the pull-out couch would work. Unfortunately it was not comfortable, but a roll-away bed in the closet was OK for her, and she did fine. There are a number of stairs to get to your room ,especially from the back so if stairs are difficult, I would not recommend it. The staff is friendly, but the union with the restaurant makes it seem awkward at times. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrLee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buford, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We were in room 1, it was clean, spacious, and modern. The bakery/restaurant that it is over closes at 9pm, so there wasn't any issues with noise when we were trying to sleep. The couch in the living room had a pull out bed, so it would be great for a couple with two small kids. Also had a wet bar with a microwave and a refridgerator, and dishes and glasses. I didn't have much hope for the restuarant since it was the only one open in Northeast Habor at the time (too early in the season for the other places to be open), but every meal we had there was delicious. The girls that worked there were very friendly and very hardworking. The bakery was wonderful as well. Can't say enough nice things about this place.

Room Tip: We were right in front, so there was street noise. The other rooms are closer to the back which mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twixlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stated a few nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The room is more like an apartment than a hotel room. The furniture and bedding are comfortable the place has 2 large screen tv s. The kitchenette is a nice feature, the breakfast is included. Our review pretty much agrees with the majority of other reviews of this neat little place. If your looking for an out of the way place this is it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northeast Harbor
0.2 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
7.7 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.8 mi away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonel's Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonel's Suites

Property: Colonel's Suites
Address: 143 Main Street, Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert, Mount Desert Island, ME 04662
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Mount Desert > Northeast Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Northeast Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonel's Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colonel's Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonel's Suites Maine/Northeast Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing