We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful on a rainy day” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asticou Azalea Garden

Asticou Azalea Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
160 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful on a rainy day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a really beautiful garden that is a little difficult to find. It could use a more prominent sign, but maybe that's how it stays uncrowded? I drove right by the entrance and was much more observant after a u-turn got me back in front of the garden. It was just drizzling when I arrived, but it soon became a steady, light rain which remained for the entire time I was there. Regardless of that, I enjoyed walking the paths and being surprised by something around every bend. There were only a few others who were walking the gardens while I was there, so it was indeed peaceful and unhurried. Interestingly, there was a woman walking around raking sand on the paths that the rest of us were leaving footprints on. I'll be going back to Asticou on my next trip to Acadia.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank gdadtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    31
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kankakee, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful Surprise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stumbled upon this on our travels around the peninsula. It was quiet, and amazingly maintained. There was no admission fee, just a donation box.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WrigleyRin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful and tranquil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was so happy to have found this on tripadvisor before we went out for the day, because it would have been easy to miss the sign. These gardens were so beautiful and peaceful. The area is kept very nice. Well worth the $5 donation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank laurie2668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
615 reviews
411 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“Nice treat after a long hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We visited Asticou Asalea Garden after a long and strenuous Parkman Mountain and Bald Peak hike. It was so nice: the garden is gorgeous in the fall. Not surprisingly, there were no crowds and plenty of parking: we have been there during the government shutdown that gave us an opportunity to hike the mountains we have never hiked before in Acadia (we go there to hike twice a year every year). The walk around takes maybe 15-30 minutes and is a good break after 4 hours of hiking and just before well deserved dinner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noraatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another joyous adventure at your doorstep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Don't miss this amazing adventure and trip to another time. Beautifully landscaped and maintained. Beloved of islanders (Mount Desert) and those from away. An everchanging garden to return again and again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DAndrews_0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asticou Azalea Garden also viewed

Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Mount Desert, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Asticou Azalea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing