We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and Peaceful”

Asticou Azalea Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Peaceful”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The gardens are absolutely beautiful! I highly suggest taking the time out of a busy day, and just allowing yourself to walk the paths and enjoy the tranquility of the gardens.The staff that takes care of the land does an amazing job of maintaining the grounds, especially with the number of people that must visit on a daily basis.
Go! You'll enjoy!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravels1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    33
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Francestown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A calm retreat from tourists.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Asticou is lovely Japanese style garden well worth the visit. It is a gentle walk with plenty of spots to sit and enjoy the lovely specimens.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hunterpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to sit back and relax, meditate and enjoy.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

although the gardens were beautiful and very well maintained I wish I had been there when the Azaleas were in bloom. I can just imagine the natural beauty and color saturation at that time. I really enjoyed strolling around this lovely garden. I recommend that the entrance sign should be better marked as it is easily missed if you don't have your GPS. I still can not figure out why it is not advertised more in areas like Bar Harbor. So glad I came across this beautiful garden. There is no entrance fee just a recommended donation of $5 pp.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank momasig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damariscotta, Maine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely year round”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is best visited in the spring, as we usually do; but there are other plantings and just walking the paths though the varied greenery on a summer day is worth the stop. This is all perfectly designed and maintained. Restful!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dick40586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very well-maintained, quiet, Japanese garden”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I loved visiting the Asticou Azalea Garden. It is small and took only 30 minutes to walk around. The Azalea's were not in bloom, but many other flowers were and it was beautiful. The gardens are very well maintained and remind us of the Japanese gardens we visited in Japan, including a sand "rock" garden. A lovely place for a walk on a nice day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EFG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asticou Azalea Garden also viewed

Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Mount Desert, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Asticou Azalea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing