We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely overpriced” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimball Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimball Terrace Inn
Freiburg
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Completely overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We should have read Tripadvisor before bokking this motel. Contrary to the name "inn" it is only a simple motel, for which we paid 200 $ per night. We can confirm most comments I also found on Tripadvisor. Everything is cheap from the matress to the toilet paper. We can also confirm the plastic cover on the matress. What we cannot confirm is the good quality of the service. During checkout we were even not asked, wether we enjoyed our stay. Probably, because they knew the answer. The only positive we can say to the motel is, that the room was big and clean. In Bar Habor, where we spent 2 nights, we obtained double value for the same price.

Room Tip: For the rooms without ocean view, which is in fact a harbor view, only, you obtain even less value f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reblaeufer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    25
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
23
31
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The room was really lousy, though I suppose it was clean. The sheets were as cheap as can be, the blankets thin, and the mattresses hard as a rock. To top things off, they put a plastic pad on the mattress - pretty insulting at these prices. The only good thing was the walking distance to Northeast Harbor, truly a delight.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dra100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Northeast Harbor hotels

Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Very friendly front desk staff, clean rooms, convenient location, but away from busy town of Bar Harbor. Very pleasant. Guy at the front desk even made me coffee at 3:30 am when we were heading out to see the sunrise!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly4524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Oh to be on the third floor balcony looking down on the harbor. That's where we are now, for our second night. Truly a lovely view, a good enough room, decent pricing, good restaurant. And none of the bar harbor tourist crap. We will return.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msabsinthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We did not stay on this property, but we did enjoy their dining room. We had a wonderful lobster lunch there. The property has a great view, the food was good, and the service was excellent. The menu looked varied, including local favorites and is open for breakfast. lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BadgerRetirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

Excellent service and wonderful location. Beautiful view. Walk to everything. Away from the touristy Bar Harbor.
Inn is older property but well maintained. Great service.
Don't miss Acadia National Park. Amazing view from the top, great trails.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelingsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

A somewhat large incongruous building dominating one part of a small and otherwise quite agreeable town. Our first though was “how did they get away with building that here?”! Mixed feeling about this place, the room was fine, basic, clean and OK and had it been about $60 cheaper probably worth the price. As it was at over $200 it was well overpriced and frankly not worth it.

Baffled as to how a place can call itself an inn and not provide a comprehensive breakfast. There is no served food available - there is a restaurant next door which apparently is a totally different business to the “Inn” and does open for an overpriced continental breakfast (bowl of granola with half a sliced banana - $8), no cooked food is available. Advice for breakfast is to walk in to the town to the Colonel’s Cafe.

However, all the staff were very friendly and quite engaging to the point of making one feeling guilty about criticising the place but the reality is that I think the Kimball is well overpriced for what it offers and not providing breakfast is a major failing.

That said, I’d stay again but not at that price - this place is a big motel, it is certainly not an inn!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Platz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northeast Harbor
7.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
7.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
7.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
9.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
0.8 mi away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimball Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimball Terrace Inn

Property: Kimball Terrace Inn
Address: 10 Huntington Road, Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert, Mount Desert Island, ME 04662-1030
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Mount Desert > Northeast Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Northeast Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kimball Terrace Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Kimball Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimball Terrace Hotel Northeast Harbor
Kimball Terrace Inn Maine/Northeast Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing