We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimball Terrace Inn
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This motel with a view of the harbor has a lot of potential. However, it is ready for a renovation. The mattresses are covered in plastic, sanitary but not comfortable. Then there is a lumpy mattress pad and very thin sheets. The bare blankets are worn. The bathroom fixtures are about 50 years old. It is clean, fortunately. The location is great and they obviously know it. However, it is time to pour a little money into the place to make it really good.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3dogsnme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

We should have read Tripadvisor before bokking this motel. Contrary to the name "inn" it is only a simple motel, for which we paid 200 $ per night. We can confirm most comments I also found on Tripadvisor. Everything is cheap from the matress to the toilet paper. We can also confirm the plastic cover on the matress. What we cannot confirm is the good quality of the service. During checkout we were even not asked, wether we enjoyed our stay. Probably, because they knew the answer. The only positive we can say to the motel is, that the room was big and clean. In Bar Habor, where we spent 2 nights, we obtained double value for the same price.

Room Tip: For the rooms without ocean view, which is in fact a harbor view, only, you obtain even less value f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reblaeufer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The room was really lousy, though I suppose it was clean. The sheets were as cheap as can be, the blankets thin, and the mattresses hard as a rock. To top things off, they put a plastic pad on the mattress - pretty insulting at these prices. The only good thing was the walking distance to Northeast Harbor, truly a delight.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dra100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Very friendly front desk staff, clean rooms, convenient location, but away from busy town of Bar Harbor. Very pleasant. Guy at the front desk even made me coffee at 3:30 am when we were heading out to see the sunrise!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly4524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Oh to be on the third floor balcony looking down on the harbor. That's where we are now, for our second night. Truly a lovely view, a good enough room, decent pricing, good restaurant. And none of the bar harbor tourist crap. We will return.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msabsinthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We did not stay on this property, but we did enjoy their dining room. We had a wonderful lobster lunch there. The property has a great view, the food was good, and the service was excellent. The menu looked varied, including local favorites and is open for breakfast. lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank BadgerRetirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

Excellent service and wonderful location. Beautiful view. Walk to everything. Away from the touristy Bar Harbor.
Inn is older property but well maintained. Great service.
Don't miss Acadia National Park. Amazing view from the top, great trails.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravelingsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northeast Harbor
7.5 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
444 reviews
7.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
315 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
7.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimball Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimball Terrace Inn

Address: 10 Huntington Road, Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert, Mount Desert Island, ME 04662-1030
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Mount Desert > Northeast Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Northeast Harbor
Price Range: £92 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kimball Terrace Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimball Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimball Terrace Hotel Northeast Harbor
Kimball Terrace Inn Maine/Northeast Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing