We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fine Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimball Terrace Inn
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Having read some of the Trip Advisor reviews, we were somewhat anxious about staying at the Kimball Terrace Inn but we were very pleasantly surprised. We enjoyed our three days there, slept beautifully in our beds and found absolutely nothing to be lacking. Our 3rd floor room, facing the lovely harbor, was the largest hotel room we've ever stayed in. It was attractively and comfortably decorated and it and the entire hotel were IMMACULATE. The housekeeping staff is to be commended. Although we didn't use it, the swimming pool looked very inviting. Our room had a sliding door leading to the balcony which had two comfortable chairs and a round table. The free wi fi worked well, the adjoining restaurant is excellent and highly thought of in the area, and the desk staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Without a doubt we will stay there again.

Room Tip: It seems worthwhile to spend more for a room facing the pretty harbor with a view of the mountains a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank LovesToTravelOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Basically a motel with some frills, the setting overlooking a small harbor is very pleasant. Restaurant is quirky but good food. Take a mail boat to a nearby island for a nice change. Easy, scenic drive to Bar Harbor and the national park.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank happy_to_travel_4752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The location of Kimball Terrace Inn is it's best aspect, and the view of the harbor is it's second best. They have a nice restaurant in site with friendly, accommodating staff. But the number one thing you want when staying in a hotel/inn is a good nights sleep, so I can't rate this place any higher, unfortunately. The nightly rate was certainly reasonable and the room we stayed in was clean, spacious and maintained well (although with outdated decor). But the bed was literally the most uncomfortable one I've ever slept in. Apparently the owner is aware of this but doesn't care because when I mentioned it to the front desk person she replied that they get complaints all the time but the owner won't buy new mattresses. To top this off, we were in a 1st floor room and were awakened at 5 a.m. by the people above us simply walking around, and we even had a sound machine on (always travel with one). The supports in the floors must be completely shot. So if you dare stay here, bring a foam mattress topper and ask for an upper level room...or just spend a bit more money and stay somewhere you can be assured of restful sleep.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor because of noisy floors above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ICDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

OMG!! i just read some of the reviews....i totally agree with them......the place is clean......we don't spend a lot of time in them anyway.....but the beds were HORRIBLE!!!! you couldn't move w/out them creaking......they were very uncomfortable......thin blankets as some have said in other reviews.......b/f upgraded the room to a harbor view.....$20 more......but i would not pay for this place again!!! WOW!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dianaonacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

This motel was good enough for your basic needs. About 20 minutes from downtown Bar Harbor and 20 minutes from Acadia's Park Loop Rd. The beds were very uncomfortable, but the staff was friendly and the location was acceptable.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NHtraveler5_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This motel with a view of the harbor has a lot of potential. However, it is ready for a renovation. The mattresses are covered in plastic, sanitary but not comfortable. Then there is a lumpy mattress pad and very thin sheets. The bare blankets are worn. The bathroom fixtures are about 50 years old. It is clean, fortunately. The location is great and they obviously know it. However, it is time to pour a little money into the place to make it really good.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3dogsnme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We should have read Tripadvisor before bokking this motel. Contrary to the name "inn" it is only a simple motel, for which we paid 200 $ per night. We can confirm most comments I also found on Tripadvisor. Everything is cheap from the matress to the toilet paper. We can also confirm the plastic cover on the matress. What we cannot confirm is the good quality of the service. During checkout we were even not asked, wether we enjoyed our stay. Probably, because they knew the answer. The only positive we can say to the motel is, that the room was big and clean. In Bar Habor, where we spent 2 nights, we obtained double value for the same price.

Room Tip: For the rooms without ocean view, which is in fact a harbor view, only, you obtain even less value f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reblaeufer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northeast Harbor
7.5 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
448 reviews
7.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
7.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimball Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimball Terrace Inn

Address: 10 Huntington Road, Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert, Mount Desert Island, ME 04662-1030
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Mount Desert > Northeast Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Northeast Harbor
Price Range: £59 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kimball Terrace Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimball Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimball Terrace Hotel Northeast Harbor
Kimball Terrace Inn Maine/Northeast Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing