We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute stay”
Review of Asticou Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Asticou Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

After enjoying a beautiful day in Acadia National Park, we decided we would stay an extra day. We wanted to get out of Bar Harbor to some place quieter. The Asticou was perfect. We had a lovely suite in one of the cottages overlooking Northeast Harbor. The room had a balcony from which we were able to watch the sunset. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant in the inn was also excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sister398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Asticou Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words about our staff and dining room. We are pleased you were able to find some relaxation and tranquility. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Asticou is fantastically situated at the head of Northeast Harbor, which is fairly central on Mount Desert Island and well away from the hustle and bustle of touristy Bar Harbor. It is tranquil and a beautiful spot to sit and watch the sunset. Also, the Azalea Garden and nearby Thuya garden are significant enhancements to the hotel property. One evening when I was walking on a trail next to the hotel I saw a big beautiful buck grazing in a field! The dining room is beautiful and gives a hint of the glory days in the Inn's past. While we had a very nice meal there, it was not quite up to the price tag. My recommendations to the management of the hotel are: 1) update the bathrooms! The high-sided claw-foot tub is hard to get in and out of (if not dangerous), the shower was marginal, the tile on the bathroom floor is loose and there was a faint aroma of urine. 2) make sure the wifi reaches all rooms!! I don't mind not having a TV, but if I cannot access the internet to watch Netflix on demand, it is a bit of a problem. Being able to only use the wifi in the lounge is no substitute for being able to lie in bed and watch a movie. 3) more attention to detail and a slight upgrade to the furniture in the bar and lounge area would go a long way! I was disappointed with the gas fireplace and even more disappointed with the cheesy furniture in the bar and lounge area. Nothing even remotely authentic about it. While the staff were all lovely and courteous, and the view is not to be beat, the bar area and adjoining lounge had so little character that they really detracted from how special a place the Asticou was and should be again.

Room Tip: I cannot recommend Room 122. It has vibrations from the laundry facilities located on the first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Asticou Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Truly the entire neighborhood of the Asticou Inn is a special place and we are happy you were able to enjoy yourselves here. The thoughts you shared regarding the need to update the bathrooms and the lounge are genuinely appreciated, as these are high priorities of the management and the owners.
All areas of the Inn are provided with the wi-fi signal; I am unsure why the signal was not reaching your area. My apologies for this inconvenience.
Thanks for the positive words about the staff; we are very grateful to have such an outstanding group. Please come see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have stayed here many times and have enjoyed them all! The restaurant is amazing - great food and impeccable service. The rooms were peaceful, clean and comfortable. The view is breathtaking! The inn is close to Acadia and Mt. Desert Island and all there is to do there (Stop at the Jordan Pond House for Popovers – right out of the oven too!). I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1REM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Asticou Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for that wonderful review. Undeniably our dining room is amazing, thanks for highlighting that! Our guest’s satisfaction is our highest priority. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We spent one night in this beautiful inn and was taken with the quiet and relaxing atmosphere. We had a breath taking view of Northeast Harbor from our room. There is a small hiking path near the inn leading to the harbor that offers a view of nature that was a pleasant surprise. Across the street is the Asticou gardens, not much in bloom but in the spring is really quite lovely. We had a wonderful full course breakfast that was made by their exceptional chefs.
All the wait staff, front desk and management were extremely helpful and considerate. We will definitely return and plan our next stay at this inn.

Room Tip: Water view room is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Asticou Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you so much. We will be pleased to welcome you for your next visit! Your comments highlight what we are striving to accomplish: “the quiet and relaxing atmosphere”… just like we want it to be. Our staff truly appreciated your kind words, thank you for that acknowledgement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just spent two days for a family wedding. Location...amazing. Food...amazing. Staff...amazing. I agree that it could use a small facelift but overall it's still a gem. A relative regrets not staying at the Asticou after reading poor reviews on tripadvisor. He stayed at another inn nearby and was kicking himself all weekend. Don't let the poor reviews deter you from this Maine treasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Asticou Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for that nice review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate your acknowledgment of our staff, they are indeed to be commended. The “small facelift” is a priority of the management and the owners.
We hope to see you again the future and please bring along your relative!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed one night at the Asticou while visiting Acadia National Park. The Inn has great curb appeal and grounds. We arrived after a day in the park and were happy to see the peaceful and relaxing Asticou. It is a short drive from the park and is completely opposite of anything in Bar Harbor. We drove into the lively Bar Harbor for dinner, but were happy to be back at the quiet Asticou for a good night's sleep. We went into North East Harbor the next day for lunch and shopping - it is a beautiful town and very convenient to the Asitcou. The Inn is old and not recently updated. We had adjoining rooms on the 2nd floor - we were 2 adults and 2 children. There is no air conditioning, but we did not need it the evening we were there. The bedding, decor, bathrooms are all very dated - but clean and comfortable. We had breakfast the next morning and it was one of the best ever - the blueberry pancakes were to die for. Our kids swam in the pool while we had cocktails on the deck overlooking the bay. If you ned a break from hiking and excitement, this is the place. If you want to be in the middle of town and see lots of tshirt shops, this is not your place. The staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and restaurant suggestions.

Room Tip: We had adjoining rooms on the 2nd floor overlooking the bay. We slept with the windows open - would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Asticou Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts. We are glad you found the Asticou relaxing and peaceful, as it should be! Your comments regarding the lack of a/c, bathrooms, etc are appreciated and are of high concern to the management and the owners.
Our entire food and beverage department are to be commended for their continued excellent service, thank for acknowledging their efforts.
We look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have been coming to Northeast Harbor for over 30 years, but until this year it was always by boat. The Asticou is one of the remaining Grande Dames of the Victorian hotels and we had always wanted to explore it as guests. The views and gardens are spectacular, but there were very few guests for late July. The hotel seems to keep going by doing weddings, receptions, and private parties. The rooms are on the expensive side, but I can understand since they are only open for four months a year. We had a "quirky" spacious but charming room with a spectacular view of the harbor.The staff was very friendly and accommodating.....and the food was SPECTACULAR!
Peabody's Restaurant was a most pleasant surprise and the BEST food that we had on our trip. I was surprised that there were not more people eating there because two of the other restaurants in Northeast Harbor have closed since we were last there.
The breakfasts at Peabody's were gourmet, huge, and elegantly served with white table cloths and napkins. There was fresh fruit cup and danish rolls compliments of the chef in addition to the main course and a bottomless glass of freshly squeezed orange juice. Each of us had our own coffee pot. The steel-cut oatmeal was an overly-generous bowl with lots of goodies on the top and individual ramekins of brown sugar and raisins. The lobster omelet was a must-do for my sister. The ratio of waitstaff to tables was about one-to-one so the service was A+. Breakfast, we observed, was difficult for families with children as the choices were rather sophisticated, but that waiters were very agreeable to making substitutions like eliminating the fresh strawberries and blueberries from the waffles. The Sommelier at dinner was charming and helpful choosing a good wine.

Room Tip: I certainly would recommend an ocean-front room. It is worth the price if you are going to stay ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spanielmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Asticou Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are very pleased our guests are happy with their visit. The view, grounds and nearby gardens certainly are, as you stated, “spectacular”! Our Chef and the entire dining room staff are indeed top-notch. Thank you for acknowledging the short season we have in Northeast Harbor. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northeast Harbor
0.8 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
100 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
7.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
196 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
6.7 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asticou Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asticou Inn

Address: 15 Peabody Drive, Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert, Mount Desert Island, ME 04662
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Mount Desert > Northeast Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Northeast Harbor
Price Range: £122 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Asticou Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored 19th century country inn at the foot of Acadia National Park and overlooking Northeast Harbor. The beautiful Asticou Azalea Gardens are right across the street from the inn. The history of this property is truly fascinating!The inn features a restaurant and a heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Asticou Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asticou Hotel Northeast Harbor
Asticou Resort Northeast Harbor
Asticou Inn Maine/Northeast Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing