We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uh, your business is the floor's business.”
Review of Asticou Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Asticou Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Uh, your business is the floor's business.”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Beautiful views, go there for a drink before dinner.
It's very, uh, rustic, no, ancient, no, traditional. Yes, traditional, with wooden floors and echos.
It was clean, the staff were polite. Nothing to not like, especially in the context of the setting.
I hadn't been to Bar Harbor before and probably won't return so, maybe all the places other than Best Western are like this. But, I prefer a little more privacy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spinner1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    61
    42
    28
    12
See reviews for
67
96
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

What a lovely old inn. We had a suite with a kingsize bed with water views. Comfortable room with separate sitting room and a small balcony. Everything was clean, comfortable and lovely. We were only sorry we were only staying 2 nights.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank HRHCaoimhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Sunday Brunch is extraordinary...and for private dinner parties, this charming, picturesque New England hotel and restaurant is divine. A perfect place to stay and use as your "headquarters" when discovering Mt. Desert Island. Whether exploring NE Harbor, SW Harbor, and Bar Harbor...this is THE place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ufgatorgirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Asticou Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We are very pleased you were able to "relax and unwind" while enjoying the area and our wonderful dining room. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I decided to stay here as part of our 25th wedding anniversary trip through New England. We were not impressed with the touristy, crowded and noisy Bar Harbor area and wanted to find something quieter.

We drove around the island and basically just stumbled upon this hotel. I checked the online reviews and noted that most (though not all) of the worse reviews were older. Since we were looking for someplace quiet and the location was very picturesque, we decided to give it a shot. It was early October so it wasn't crowded and the weather was perfect.

We were exceptionally pleased with our stay. The view was exquisite, the restaurant was phenomenal, the lobster bisque is a must, and the staff was exceptionally helpful. Granted this is an older inn and if you are looking for all the modern conveniences then I'm sure there are plenty of other places for you. However, if you want a quiet, relaxing place to spend some down time then this place is it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbor are quieter and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Asticou Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for finding us and congratulations on your 25th anniversary! Thanks also for appreciating the allure of tying to keep in touch with the purpose of the Inn: to provide a relaxing atmosphere with excellent food and a friendly staff. Thanks again for your wonderful review. Please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My room (No. 140) had a wonderful view over the property and the water. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The staff were friendly. Breakfast in the restaurant, while not inexpensive, was extremely good (I had cod hash with poached eggs). The only downside is that the bathrooms were tiny; I could feel the toilet grazing the back of my legs while I was brushing my teeth at the sink. And, I feel that a room with a road-side view at this hotel could be disappointing. Visiting nearby Thuya Garden was a highlight (be sure to see the inside of the house at Thuya).

Room Tip: Ask for water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Asticou Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and that great review. Truly the view from room 140 is unmatched. Unfortunately the builders did not appreciate bathroom size 100 years!, and this is a concern to both management and the owners. Actually, compared to the water view rooms, many of the road-side rooms are larger, as nicely appointed and have bigger bathrooms. Indeed Thuya Garden is a treasure. On your next visit don't forget the Asticou Azalea Garden too! Please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

old world comfort and charm; great view of the harbor; quiet, peaceful, restful. would love to stay longer. only downside: the restaurant is overpriced (but still enjoyable). highly recommend! A++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimoneart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Asticou Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for your nice recommendation. We are happy you found us peaceful and restful; please come back and stay as long us you wish! Indeed our dining room is the finest on the Island; however compared to other fine dining places, our prices are similiar. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The classic old house has a lot of charm. nice front porch, back, lounge. The restaurant had excellent service, and all the food came very well prepared. we had a view of the bay from our small suite - 3 windows on to paradise. But it is an old house. the elvator is tiny. and happended to be next to our room. and, the suite was nice, but the bedroom had a door goign out to the hallway, so all passersby were heard clearly. The hotel is perfectly located. we spent one day in eastern acadia (3 hour drive) and the next in the western part. Felt good and is recommended even over the drawbacks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikez1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Asticou Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
We appreciate your delightful review. For 130 years the Asticou has been situated in this perfect location. Over the years some things haven't changed: the dedication to excellent service, the superb dining experience and the allure of times long ago, as well as the thin walls. I agree that the water view suites have a nice view; sorry about passerby sounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northeast Harbor
6.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
85 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
6.7 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
370 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asticou Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asticou Inn

Property: Asticou Inn
Address: 15 Peabody Drive, Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert, Mount Desert Island, ME 04662
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Mount Desert > Northeast Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Northeast Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Asticou Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored 19th century country inn at the foot of Acadia National Park and overlooking Northeast Harbor. The beautiful Asticou Azalea Gardens are right across the street from the inn. The history of this property is truly fascinating!The inn features a restaurant and a heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Asticou Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asticou Hotel Northeast Harbor
Asticou Resort Northeast Harbor
Asticou Inn Maine/Northeast Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing