We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious Inn!”
Review of Asticou Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Asticou Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I was here with a group while hiking in Acadia NP. The setting for this inn is simply superb (perfect for a wedding, I think). The village is not really within walking distance, though. On the other hand, the free LL Bean buses can take you to Bar Harbor. Food at the restaurant was great, though service was a bit slow. I would definitely return here!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NorthPotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Asticou Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We enjoyed this historic hotel right in the middle of Acadia Natl Park. Early June visit meant that the Azalea Garden next door was in full bloom. We had to walk up two floors to arrive at our room but the view was worth it.

Room Tip: Sit on the porch to enjoy the view of the harbor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shari_Lu_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed in the Cranberry Lodge. The room was huge and wonderful. When we realized there was no coffee for the coffee maker, Brandon, at the front desk, brought us a tray with coffee, cream, sugar, everything! He came from across the street to serve us. It was fantastic! It was a lovely quiet evening and everyone was so friendly.

Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NicNuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Beautiful views, go there for a drink before dinner.
It's very, uh, rustic, no, ancient, no, traditional. Yes, traditional, with wooden floors and echos.
It was clean, the staff were polite. Nothing to not like, especially in the context of the setting.
I hadn't been to Bar Harbor before and probably won't return so, maybe all the places other than Best Western are like this. But, I prefer a little more privacy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Spinner1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

What a lovely old inn. We had a suite with a kingsize bed with water views. Comfortable room with separate sitting room and a small balcony. Everything was clean, comfortable and lovely. We were only sorry we were only staying 2 nights.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank HRHCaoimhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Sunday Brunch is extraordinary...and for private dinner parties, this charming, picturesque New England hotel and restaurant is divine. A perfect place to stay and use as your "headquarters" when discovering Mt. Desert Island. Whether exploring NE Harbor, SW Harbor, and Bar Harbor...this is THE place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ufgatorgirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Asticou Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We are very pleased you were able to "relax and unwind" while enjoying the area and our wonderful dining room. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I decided to stay here as part of our 25th wedding anniversary trip through New England. We were not impressed with the touristy, crowded and noisy Bar Harbor area and wanted to find something quieter.

We drove around the island and basically just stumbled upon this hotel. I checked the online reviews and noted that most (though not all) of the worse reviews were older. Since we were looking for someplace quiet and the location was very picturesque, we decided to give it a shot. It was early October so it wasn't crowded and the weather was perfect.

We were exceptionally pleased with our stay. The view was exquisite, the restaurant was phenomenal, the lobster bisque is a must, and the staff was exceptionally helpful. Granted this is an older inn and if you are looking for all the modern conveniences then I'm sure there are plenty of other places for you. However, if you want a quiet, relaxing place to spend some down time then this place is it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbor are quieter and away from the road.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Asticou Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for finding us and congratulations on your 25th anniversary! Thanks also for appreciating the allure of tying to keep in touch with the purpose of the Inn: to provide a relaxing atmosphere with excellent food and a friendly staff. Thanks again for your wonderful review. Please come see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northeast Harbor
0.8 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
91 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
691 reviews
6.7 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,369 reviews
7.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
6.7 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asticou Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asticou Inn

Address: 15 Peabody Drive, Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert, Mount Desert Island, ME 04662
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Mount Desert > Northeast Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Northeast Harbor
Price Range: £150 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Asticou Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored 19th century country inn at the foot of Acadia National Park and overlooking Northeast Harbor. The beautiful Asticou Azalea Gardens are right across the street from the inn. The history of this property is truly fascinating!The inn features a restaurant and a heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Asticou Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asticou Hotel Northeast Harbor
Asticou Resort Northeast Harbor
Asticou Inn Maine/Northeast Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing