We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly killed us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Point Lookout Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Nearly killed us”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The malfunctioning gas fireplace filled the room with noxious propane. Kind of shocked they would rent a room like this considering how serious it could have been. They charged a higher rate at check-in than we booked on their website. They claimed they informed us in advance -- they didn't. The WiFi barely worked. That there was no soap in the bathroom or sugar with the coffee set-up suggests the management is asleep on the job. Tellingly, the management did not respond at all when informed about these conditions.

Room Tip: Check out the location closely. Not very convenient to nearby towns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rizzard, Manager at Point Lookout Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Point Lookout Resort. I was sorry to hear, however, that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as planned. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for that. Here at Point Lookout, we are constantly striving to exceed our guests’ expectations, and it is disappointing to learn when we have fallen short of our goal, however, it is the best way for us to learn from our mistakes and move forward.

Of the items you made mention, I would like the opportunity to address each.
1. The rate you booked on-line was the “Love Your Locals” promotion. As stated on the promotion, “Present a valid Maine drivers license and enjoy a special rate of 20% off.” Since an out of state ID was presented, the promotional rate was not honored upon arrival.
2. Wi-Fi Service: We had no record of any reported issues with the Wi-Fi Service during your stay. Upon your departure, you informed the Front Desk Clerk that the Wi-Fi Service was not functioning well. The Clerk contacted Facilities, whom dispatched our IT Tech to address the issue. Upon investigation, it was found there were no issues, and the signal strength and connection were functioning as they should.
3. Gas Fireplace: We had no record of any reported issues with the gas fireplace during your stay. It is common for the gas fireplaces to shut down to pilot only, once the temperature of the cabin has reached the set temperature on the thermostat. However, a gas odor is not common. When notified of this upon your departure, the Clerk contacted Facilities, whom dispatched one of our Engineers to investigate the odor. Upon their investigation, no odor was detected, and it was found that the gas fireplace works as it should.
4. In Room Amenities: Again, we had no record of any reported shortage of in-room amenities during your stay. It is a standard that toiletries and coffee amenities be freshly stocked in each cabin. However, it is possible there may have been an oversight from the Room Attendant, where these items did not get restocked as they should.

Please be assured that the challenge you encountered has been and will continue to be addressed. Again, I offer my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. I understand the importance of comfort and convenience when staying away from home, and also understand the importance of having issues addressed as they occur. Unfortunately, Management was not informed of the issues you experienced while you were here, but rather a week after your stay. When reported to the Front Desk upon departure, the issues were investigated, and nothing was found to be out of place or malfunctioning, and thus a report was not issued to management. Though our staff was not made aware of any issues that you may have experienced, we would like to some-how make it up to you and your family by issuing you back a credit of 50% to make up for the rate and in-room amenity inconvenience you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    99
    33
    12
    8
See reviews for
96
105
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

This would be my husband and I's second time to Point Lookout and the first with friends. I must say, both visits were magical.
And I mean it. We went back within a month! It's breath taking.
The staff were lovely, friendly, and accommodating to boot. Receptionist is so nice and patient to my many questions.
The cabin was...what you'd imagine it to be and more. Our group went hiking to Knights Pond and saw the sunset at the summit. The locals are so nice, lovely, and honestly friendly.
For food, our group brought groceries and cooked our breakfast/lunch/dinner in the cabin. Keep in mind the nearest grocery store would be 10 miles to Belfast or 10 miles to Camden. Your pick. There are neighboring restaurants as well but home cooked meals went perfect with the cabin.

I love Point Lookout Maine. We'd keep coming back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Darryl Mae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinton, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed here three nights over a long October weekend with our two dogs. It was very comfortable with plenty of space in the queen cabin. Check in was quick and everyone was friendly and helpful. The cabin was clean and homey. There were plenty of trails to walk and they are well marked. We ate at the restaurant for a lunch and breakfast. Good food and the staff was helpful with special dietary needs.
We will definitely return for a longer stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We've stayed twice at Point Lookout and just love the relaxing atmosphere. The grounds look like traditional Maine cabins and trails. The cabins are very comfortable inside. The resort was built in the 90s by credit card company MBNA as an executive retreat. It's since been sold a couple times and now its open for both conferences and individuals. We took a hike/walk up to the top of the 'lookout' which has a 180 view of the bay.

There are just a few things that would make this place perfect - a bathtub or jacuzzi in the cabins (just showers); more pillows (3 for a kingsize bed is just not enough for reading, watching tv); and later check out (leaving at 10 am is so disapointing!).

We are looking forward to future group coupon deals, or "local Mainer" deals, to go enjoy this beautiful spot during the 'off season'.

Room Tip: King rooms have a gas fireplace and are slightly larger cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCBsopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

If you want a change from the traditional hotel stay with a group of friends, then you might want to try this. Point Lookout is a beautiful log cabin "resort / conference center" with spectacular views from its higher elevations. The one, two and three-bedroom lodging options all feature a fairly well-stocked kitchen, living area with gas stove (and TV), and full bathrooms for each bedroom, ideal for compatible couples to share (37 of us from Virginia descended on this property for a three-night stay). The restaurant, open for breakfast and lunch, is either a brisk walk or shuttle ride away from the cabins and features a decent, but basic menu. Several 15-minute side trips to the scenic bayside community of Camden, and its great restaurants, made for a memorable multi-day group outing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEITH T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neptune, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed two nights in October as part of an anniversary trip. The cabin was spacious and clean with a fully stocked kitchen. When we arrived there was a welcoming tray of cheeses, fruit, and a bottle of winewaiting for us in the kitchen area. It was a lovely touch.

We relaxed on the porch at night and enjoyed the fire when it got chilly. You are close enough to town if you want to have dinner out, but we chose to cook an easy meal and stay put.

The grounds are beautiful, quiet, and the staff very friendly. It was a refreshing 2 days - wish we had booked a longer stay!

Room Tip: The site is hilly and amenities are spread out, so if you have any mobility issues, plan on driving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Spent three enjoyable nights with another couple in a two bedroom, two bath cabin with a kitchen and a screened porch. The automatic woodstove was a nice touch in the evenings. The breakfasts in the Copper Pine Cafe were satisfying and the staff very accommodating. We had booked a large group (30) at the last minute, and the resort was not adequately staffed in the housekeeping department, but were able to replace towels on a daily basis when we requested them. The location was perfect for exploring coastal Maine, and restaurants are closeby, though not within walking distance. Take note, many businesses close after Columbus Day, and there was no dinner available at the resort during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfinmb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northport
2.9 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
309 reviews
8.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
3.4 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
319 reviews
7.4 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
141 reviews
7.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Lookout Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Lookout Resort

Property: Point Lookout Resort
Address: 67 Atlantic Hwy, Northport, ME 04849-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Northport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Lookout Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive at Point Lookout, with plans to stay a few days and leave with memories that will last a lifetime. Situated on 387 acres of picturesque mountainside terrain overlooking Penobscot Bay, in Maine's scenic Mid-Coast region, the grounds at Point Lookout are reminiscent of a nature preserve. Surround yourself with a true authentic Maine experience, while taking in the sights, sounds and splendor of the area around you. Regardless your passion, Point Lookout has something to excite and inspire you. Nature lovers and outdoor enthusiast appreciate the natural beauty of our wooded property. Weaving its way through and around the grounds are 3.8 Miles of hiking trails that provide ample opportunities to connect with nature. From the giant Maine pine trees, to the red granite boulders, and down to the rocky shore of our private beach access, you will enjoy being surrounded by many of the natural features Maine is renowned for. Take photographs of the exotic plant life along the trails, keep your eyes out for some of our Maine wildlife neighbors such as wild turkeys, porcupines, moose, fox and more. Bring along your binoculars because you will have a chance to see a variety of birds, both indigenous and migratory, as the call the area surrounding the grounds their home. Travelers can look forward to a truly unique vacation experience when staying at Point Lookout. Enjoy the best of both worlds. Great outdoor camping experience fused with great resort style amenities. Choose from one of our authentic Maine pine log cabins - one, two or three bedrooms, and enjoy all of the comforts of a fine hotel or bed and breakfast, along with the added space and conveniences of a fully furnished cabin complete with kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, screened in front porch, cable television and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Point Lookout Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Lookout Hotel Northport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing