We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding spot!”
Review of Point Lookout

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Point Lookout
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We attended a weekend wedding at this lovely hidden gem. Point Lookout is a vacation destination as well as a corporate conference center. It is located on the coast of Maine, off Route 1 between Camden and Belfast. All of the wedding activities were on site, including a Fri. evening lobster bake and barbecue and late Sat. afternoon outdoor wedding atop the mountain, overlooking the islands of Penabscot Bay. The after party was at the resort's bowling alley, and the Sun. send off brunch was a perfect way to end the festivities. Guests stay in beautifully appointed cabins, scattered throughout the hillside and piney woods. The resort boasts a fitness center, hiking trails, cafe, and a full working farm on the grounds. The food was plentiful and excellent.

Room Tip: My husband and I stayed in a one bedroom cabin, but there are also 2 and 3 bedroom cabins, perfect f...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LWDWELLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointLookoutResort, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Point Lookout Resort & Conference Center. It is always our pleasure to provide all of our guests with exceptional service, comfortable accommodations and a variety of great amenities to ensure their stay with us is memorable. We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding you attend here with us and look forward to welcoming you back for another exciting stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for Point Lookout
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We spend 4 night in Point Lookout and were delighted. Nice location: North of Camden not far from the sea and hiking trails on a large terrain. Comfortable cabins: well equiped (wifi, kitchen, air conditining, TV/DVD...) clean and enough place for everybody. Good facilities: fitness and plenty of sports opportunities, bowling, breakfast meeting point. Very friendly staff: always friendly and trying to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Even though this is a few thounds kilometers from home, we will come back!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank SAMLadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointLookoutResort, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

It sounds like you had a great time during your stay at Point Lookout Resort & Conference Center and it truly makes us happy to read a review like yours as this is the experience we strive to deliver to all of our guests. We are happy you were able to enjoy our beautiful hiking trails and great on-site amenities. Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to having you stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We just came back from 4 nights at Point Lookout and it was the perfect spot for our group. We were five families - 10 adults and 8 kids ranging in age from 4 to 13. Each family had their own 2 bed/2 bath cabin which gave us space when needed but still allowed us to be "neighbors." There was no shortage of stuff to do - we hiked the mile trail to Knights Pond for swimming and fishing, flew kites up at the summit lawn, made s'mores around the fire pit (which PL will provide with wood and kindling for $20/day) and ran the kids ragged playing games on the turf soccer field and playground. Our group wanted lobsters one night and ordered them cooked from the Lincolnville Lobster Pound and brought them back to the cabins. They were perfect and a lot less hassle then cooking them ourselves! We also brought all of own food to avoid the hassle of eating out as a large group. The resort provided gas grills and the cabins come equipped with kitchen utensils. However, if you're planning to eat in while your there, I recommend bringing papergoods and any specialty cooking equipment - like large bowls, platters, storage containers, etc. The 2 bed/2 bath cabins have half fridges which worked but took some creativity to hold all our food. The beds were comfortable - although a bit challenging for our families with 2 children who weren't big on sharing a bed :-) Having a twin-bed option would give some flexibility. The cabins were clean, the staff very helpful - calls to housekeeping for more paper towels, removal of our stinky lobster shell trash or extra wood for the fire pit were immediately addressed. We had good weather and didn't need to utilize the bowling alley but we did walk through it and next time will take advantage of the bowing, arcade, and pool table. The resort was an easy drive to Camden where we had dinner one night. We also enjoyed an afternoon at the Lincolnville Beach which was perfect for the kids. We will definitely return to Point Lookout!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SWD515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointLookoutResort, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your great review of your stay at Point Lookout Resort & Conference Center. It was wonderful to have you and your family stay with us and your kind comments about our resort are very much appreciated. Our resort offers a large array of activities and amenities for all ages while providing a peaceful atmosphere to relax and unwind. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We arrived at this property and were pleasantly surprised that despite it's vast acreage - the grounds were amazing kept. The bronze statues add to the tranquility.

Great hiking - trails lead to your cabin steps - you can play tennis, work out in their fitness center, relax in their community center - the café their is fantastic as well. Top quality food, service and great staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradHNYC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointLookoutResort, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay at Point Lookout Resort & Conference Center. We are committed to providing our guests with a great outdoor experience mix with the comfort of staying at a resort to ensure their visit is the best it can be and we are pleased to hear that we did just that. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This place was not for us. We were misled by the photos on the website that seemed to indicate water views -- maybe from the large areas closed to guests who are not part of a large group but definitely not from any of the cabins we saw. Few amenities: the only food service is at a coffeeshop that closes at 8 pm. Cabins have kitchens but cooking only by microwave so if you want to eat there you need to bring a portable BBQ, something we weren't aware of. Actually we thought a "resort' would have a real restaurant. The real turn-offs were ants in the cabin, foul-smelling well water in the bathroom and the lack of signage. This place is likely great for groups who bring their own entertainment and catering but for individuals, not so much unless you really, really want to get away and eat sandwiches on the trail.

Room Tip: Try to get a cabin with a view if you can.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesleeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointLookoutResort, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your impressions of our resort with us. It is disheartening to hear that your stay with us was not as expected and we truly apologize for any inconveniences you encountered. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are in the area and we thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed just one night but were happy to arrive in the early evening and have a chance to work out in the beautiful gym. The rooms were a bit small but with two rooms each had a clean, well stocked bath room. The grounds were tidy and well kept. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisonaileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointLookoutResort, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We couldn't be more pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at Point Lookout Resort & Conference Center. Your kind words for our resort are very much appreciated as this is the experience we wish to provide to all of our guests. It was wonderful to have you here and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Nice staff and pretty place but wildly overpriced for what you get. The most horribly uncomfortable beds ever and not an extra blanket or pillow in the place. Truly a disappointment and won't be visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointLookoutResort, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our resort. Although it was nice to know that you appreciated the beauty of our resort and our friendly staff, we do regret that you didn’t find our beds to be comfortable and we apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. Please know that our team is always available to our guests should they need anything to help make their stay with us more enjoyable. We hope that one day you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back for a stay that exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northport
2.8 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
313 reviews
3.4 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
231 reviews
8.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#2 of 10 in Rockport
332 reviews
8.9 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
7.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Lookout

Address: 67 Atlantic Hwy, Northport, ME 04849-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Northport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Price Range: £110 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Lookout 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive at Point Lookout, with plans to stay a few days and leave with memories that will last a lifetime. Situated on 387 acres of picturesque mountainside terrain overlooking Penobscot Bay, in Maine's scenic Mid-Coast region, the grounds at Point Lookout are reminiscent of a nature preserve. Surround yourself with a true authentic Maine experience, while taking in the sights, sounds and splendor of the area around you. Regardless your passion, Point Lookout has something to excite and inspire you. Nature lovers and outdoor enthusiast appreciate the natural beauty of our wooded property. Weaving its way through and around the grounds are 3.8 Miles of hiking trails that provide ample opportunities to connect with nature. From the giant Maine pine trees, to the red granite boulders, and down to the rocky shore of our private beach access, you will enjoy being surrounded by many of the natural features Maine is renowned for. Take photographs of the exotic plant life along the trails, keep your eyes out for some of our Maine wildlife neighbors such as wild turkeys, porcupines, moose, fox and more. Bring along your binoculars because you will have a chance to see a variety of birds, both indigenous and migratory, as the call the area surrounding the grounds their home. Travelers can look forward to a truly unique vacation experience when staying at Point Lookout. Enjoy the best of both worlds. Great outdoor camping experience fused with great resort style amenities. Choose from one of our authentic Maine pine log cabins - one, two or three bedrooms, and enjoy all of the comforts of a fine hotel or bed and breakfast, along with the added space and conveniences of a fully furnished cabin complete with kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, screened in front porch, cable television and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Point Lookout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Lookout Hotel Northport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing