We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gal Pals Semi Annual Weekend”
Review of BillowHouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
BillowHouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ocean Park
Spofford, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Gal Pals Semi Annual Weekend”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Another gal pals weekend at the fabulous Billow House. Can not say enough about the excellance of the B & B. Looking forward to the April weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasse_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
42
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
170 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

You've read it over and again: "on the water." This place really IS. Homey, welcoming. Breakfast options for any taste, including a variety of fresh baked goods. Rooms are well-appointed and comfortable. This is our family favorite destination for coastal Maine -- if you could only see the way our boys' faces lit up when I told them that we could stay this last time!

Room Tip: The two suites are great if you can get them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldoboro, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We have visited the Billow House twice this year and we can't wait to go back. The folks at the Billow House know how to make you feel at home. Every detail is seen to. Everything you need is right at hand before you even know you need it....if that makes sense. Breakfast is delicious, snacks are available. ...as are chairs, movies, etc. Just a few steps and you are on the beach. This is the perfect destination for a couple or the whole family. At the Billow House they take the time to know your name and make you feel like family.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Visiting the Billowhouse is like going to visit your favorite aunt. They make you feel like they have waited all year to see just you. There are cookies in the room, trail mix in the gathering room (as well as many other delicious things), kites, umbrellas and chairs in the storage areas, and fluffy white robes in the bathrooms. In short, everything you need for the perfect beach vacation including ocean views in almost every room. Lay in bed and watch the sun come up over the ocean. Bring the kids, the grandchildren and your friends and they will be family too. We have been staying there twice a year for 21 years and can't even imagine staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2011

When we spied the Billowhouse last year on a walk down Old Orchard Beach, we knew we had to stay there. Our week here this year has been wonderful, despite less than perfect weather. What really impressed us was the attention to every detail that makes a place feel like home: fresh cookies each day, fluffy bathrobes, free towels and beach chairs, fully equipped kitchen...all topped with smiles and hugs from our hosts. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooksett, NH
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My husband and I have been going to Ocean Park for our two week summer vacation for 15 years. The last five have been spent at the Billowhouse and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The suites, studios and rooms are spotless with all the modern touches and comforts of home. You can't beat the ocean views, relaxing atmosphere and friendly staff that treats you like family.

Room Tip: The Saco Bay room rocks! We have also stayed in the Studios on the second floor which are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceHooksett_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stumbled across this amazing guesthouse when we needed a last-minute place to stay. Miraculously, they'd just had a cancellation! Worth every cent--fully furnished room with kitchen, deck, and ocean waves to lull you to sleep. We ate breakfast on the beach (a bakery and store are within walking distance) and wished we had more time to stay longer...Some of the friendliest staff we've ever met, as well!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U2_girl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Park
0.8 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#24 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#10 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#11 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BillowHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BillowHouse

Property: BillowHouse
Address: 2 Temple Ave., Ocean Park, ME 04063
Region: United States > Maine > Ocean Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ocean Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BillowHouse is located on the south coast of Maine directly on a 7 mile gorgeous sandy beach,just 20 miles south of Portland and 20 miles north of Kennebunk. BillowHouse provides a rendezvous with the beach in a quiet, historic community. Open Year Round with special off Season Rates. A caring Oceanfront Motel & Guesthouse with 14 units: 6 studio/kitchenettes, 3 Garden Apartments and 2 two-bedroom suites, one 3 bedroom suite and two charming oceanfront guest bedrooms . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Billowhouse Hotel Ocean Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing