We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parsons Post House Inn
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

The location was fantastic, walking distance to everywhere in Ogunquit. The owners are very nice and very helpful. Love that they have beach chairs so I don't have to bring mine. The bathrooms were outdated but we were told they will be completely redone this winter. We will definitely recommend this inn to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

I am a repeat visitor to this Inn and I just got home and wanted to let everyone know about my visit. As usual the inn in immaculate, the beds comfy as ever, and the morning muffins and the afternoon treats just perfect. Certainly as I mentioned in the past and as others have mentioned the bathrooms are small and dated. Even though I was in the bathroom for no more than 30 minutes in a 24 hour period. They could use a face lift. With this being said the inn keepers begin a continuation of there face lift which started last year. This year every bathroom will be gutted and redone all floors will be ripped up and replaced for next season! Here is the bottom line. The inn is perfected located and incredibly clean with great beds but it's the innkeepers which set this experience apart. They will do anything and everything to make sure you have a 5 star experience. 2 thumbs up. Again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winterwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Parsons Post House Inn. First of all, the location was perfect for us...right in the middle of this adorable town so walking to the Marginal Way or to restaurants was not a problem. Additionally, the new owners were extremely helpful, and coffee and baby muffins were provided during the day. However, our room was small, and as noted in previous postings, our bathroom was very small and outdated. I know the owners are aware of this issue and have plans to renovate. The rates are very reasonable, but if you stay here, be sure to inquire about the size of the rooms and bathrooms.

Room Tip: Be sure to inquire about the size of the rooms, especially the bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Well positioned in the centre of town, very handy for the beach and the Marginal Way. The owners could not have been more helpful. There are no breakfasts so not a B&B as such but always coffee and baby muffins available. What lets it down badly at the moment are the tiny archaic bathrooms and a shower that is small, cramped and with a low shower head that makes hair washing difficult. However, it is early days for the young owners who have great plans and I know the bathrooms are high on the list. It is very clean, provides free beach chairs and towels and has adequate parking. Would be interested to try it again in a years time.
PS don't leave the windows open at night, the garbage men come early every day and are VERY noisy!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
3  Thank Barrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We found Parsons Post rated well on Trip Advisor and were not lead wrong. It was a wonderul stay. The beds were so comfortable and everything so clean. The bathrooms are out dated but they plan to remodel them. It had the best shower we had anywhere during our trip. It is so close to the Marginal Way and a quick walk to restaurants and the beach. Laura and John went out of their way to make us comfortable, making reservations for us and giving us better directions to go around Boston and NY to go home (our GPS messed up) . They were perfect hosts.

Room Tip: We were in Room 7 which was a nice size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delighted053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We did a good deal of research before deciding on Parsons Post House Inn for our first visit to Maine, and we were never disappointed with our decision. We arrived Sunday, September 2nd and our only regret was leaving!! John and Laura are wonderful hosts, warm and caring with a great knowledge of the area and all it has to offer. They willingly and readily offered suggestions for things to do and places to eat, even making reservations which resulted in some great seating!!

The Inn is in an ideal location, right in the middle of town on Shore Road. Most everything in Ogunquit is in walking distance from the Inn and there is a Trolley stop 1/2 block away. John and Laura have made some great renovations thus far after purchasing the Inn two years ago. They will soon begin further renovations to remodel bathrooms and remove carpeting with a change to wood floors. We cannot wait to go back to see the results, but moreso to visit with John and Laura again.

There are lots of extras . . . towels, chairs and carts for the beach, books and magazines as well as daily papers for reading, fresh coffee, muffins and cookies, a cozy terrace overlooking Shore Drive and the ocean, umbrellas for those rainy days, free parking and Yoda and Olive !!!

Though it's the only place we have ever stayed in Ogunquit, this being our first trip there, it will be the only place we stay in Ogunquit whenever we return !!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank whiteisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Great location, welcoming, comfy beds, kid friendly. Would go back.

Stayed here for 3 nights in July. We arrived mid afternoon and were given some deck chairs and boogie boards for the kids t head for the beach, whilst our room was made ready.

On arrival back, as there is every evening, we're greeted with freshly baked cookies, tea, coffee and ice cold water with lemons! Very refreshing. The owners are very welcoming and very kid friendly. The location is great.

The place is spotless. The beds are great with fresh, soft egyptian cotton bedding. Bathrooms are spotless if not a little dated, but not a big issue. Very nice atmosphere around the place.

After our first night, the owners had bought some carts for the beach to help transport everything down. Great idea!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank CAROScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,056 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dunes on the Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parsons Post House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parsons Post House Inn

Address: 62 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3702
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#5 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Parsons Post House Hotel Ogunquit
Parsons Post House Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing