We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST hotel in MAINE”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parsons Post House Inn
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Everything was brilliant. the beds , the sheets, the pillows, amazing. Hosts were incredible and lovable. The location was perfect. The value is excellent. The décor is quaint. Everything is spectacular. I have become great friends with the hosts Laura John and Olivia and their dogs. They are some of the sweetest people you'll ever meet. Always willing to do anything to help make your stay enjoyable!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sstreicher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Parsons Post House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is comfortable,the bed and linens were too! We loved the porch upstairs, play scrabble, read, people watch!The host and hostesses were really pleasant, they had suggestions for restaurants and entertainment. The homemade snacks and coffee were tasty (muffins, smores cookies, whoopie pies) This hotel is located in the perfect spot right in the middle of Ogunquit. The shops are right outside,not just touristy shops, art, carved bowls, blown glass,clothes, ice cream, candy and more.... Marginal Way is a short walk from the hotel and is a walkway on a cliff above the ocean.Walk along the Marginal Way to Perkins Cove. Admire the flowers along the way, take photos and eat breakfast there or just bring a book, find a bench and relax!
There are also a lot of great restaurants, live music and even the Ogunquit playhouse, check their schedule for plays/musicals!

This rating leans toward 4.5 but only because the air conditioner was quite loud in the downstairs room.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room. The air conditioner was really loud in the smaller room down stairs.We shut...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Swingdancers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed at Parson Post while on business in the York, ME area and happy I did! The hotel was warm, inviting and boasted quintessential New England charm. Laura and John have worked tirelessly by updating the hotel, keeping it clean and inviting as well as providing superior service to their hotel guests. Location is perfect, views of the ocean, beach towels, chairs, coffee (during the wee hours) in the morning, and homemade muffins made my stay a perfect one. The suite room offers enough room for 2-4 family members with a microwave, fridge, dishes and flatware. The bed was comfy and the linens fresh and clean. The parking spaces are tight, and parking is a bit challenging with a SUV, so beware. However, Laura and John were very accommodating! I look forward to my return!

Room Tip: Suite Room #23 is perfect for a family of 2-4 people. Spacious with an updated bathroom
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RJB1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The location of this Inn was unbeatable. We overnighted on a "Girl's trip" with a last minute reservation. The staff was so helpful and really made us feel welcome. They helped with reservations and suggestions about resturants in the area. The room was adorable and extremely clean. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom and room were both perfectly decorated. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NataliaGomes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed there for a solo trip recently and loved it.

PROS:
Location--right on Shore Road, the area with many tourist attractions such as shops and restaurants. Additionally, the foot path and entrance to Marginal Way are both in close proximity.There are also many trolley stops along Shore Road for those that don't prefer walking.

The owners--Laura and John were SO accommodating. They offer great suggestions on dining, entertainment, and travel to neighboring towns. Additionally, homemade snacks, coffee, tea, and water are available to patrons each day at no additional charge. Beach towels, beach chairs, and umbrellas available for borrowing free of charge. They also held my bags for a few hours since my flight wasn't until several hours after check out.

Amenities--Although it's not a palatial, grand hotel, they do have free wifi; nice, flat screen televisions; very large, comfortable beds; and a patio and upstairs living room with computers and books.

Price--although it's certainly was not budget motel cheap, the price is VERY reasonable given the quality of service and the time of year (peak season). There are probably cheaper options, but they are also in far less convenient locations and short on service.

CONS
Room size--I was on a solo trip, so a smaller room was fine for me. Even for a couples trip, it's probably fine. However, a larger group should consider the Penthouse, the Suite, or multiple rooms.
Some noise--because it's small inn with a homey feel, you can hear some noise from outside and from other guests. However, the noise is not excessive or particularly disturbing, and pros largely outweigh the cons.

Overall, I loved my stay, and would go again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you're traveling solo or with one other person, a regular room should work. More than that, a...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our family stay at the Parsons Post House was a pleasurable experience. Laura and John went above and beyond making us feel welcome and at home. A supply of beach chairs, umbrellas and beach towels were on hand making going to the beach a nice experience. The location of the Parson's is perfect because you are close to the beach, scenic pathway and restaurants. The Penthouse was beautiful, clean and had a nice view of the beach. I look forward to returning to the Parsons again in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is our second year returning to Parsons and we will continue coming here every time we vacation in Maine. My husband and I loved it so much that we brought my cousin and his wife with us and we cannot begin to tell you how much we loved it. Laura and John could not have been more accommodating. We woke up to fresh baked goods and fresh brewed coffee in the morning. Laura is a great baker! Those whoopie pies were our favorite and they were all homemade.
The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated, the beds comfortable, the location superb and in close walking distance to the beach. Beach chairs, umbrellas, and fresh beach towels were supplied daily.
Laura and John are such gracious hosts providing everything they can along with good conversation which makes your stay memorable.
Parsons Post House Inn is Ogunquit's little gem. Can't wait to return

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully decorated. we happen to stay on the second floor which gave us a beau...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#25 of 36 in Ogunquit
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.2 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on Shore Road
Inn on Shore Road
#13 of 26 in Ogunquit
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parsons Post House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parsons Post House Inn

Address: 62 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3702
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#5 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Parsons Post House Hotel Ogunquit
Parsons Post House Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing