We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B/B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockmere Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rockmere Lodge
Ranked #13 of 27 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
methuen,ma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great B/B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Had a Grand experience staying at the Rockmere. The great location, comfortable atmosphere and the delicous breakfast will certainly bring my wife and I back for repeat visits.

Room Tip: anna maria room has a great ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    62
    13
    8
    22
See reviews for
40
473
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

With the arrival of Spring there is no better place to enjoy the changing of the seasons than Ogunquit so I returned to Rockmere Lodge. I returned for all the reasons noted in the previous reviews: the beautiful marginal way location, being able to walk to town and Perkins Cove, and the beautiful home with an ocean view from every room. But honestly, I have been returning to Rockmere for ten years now every Spring and the main reason is Any & Doug and their incredible hospitality. Each year when we return it is like visiting old friends. But staying at Rockmere is more than just a getaway or vacation, it's an opporutnity to stay in a beautiful shingle style "Maine Summer Cottage"...and to enjoy Maine in the style it was meant to be. Between the house, the incredible hosts, the very filling breakfasts, and the wonderful conversations with either Andy or the other guests makes Rockmere a very special place. If your looking for more than a cookie cutter chain motel or a themed stuffy inn...stop by Stearns Road where the welcome mat is always out, a chair is always free on the porch, and enjoy life in the way it was meant to be.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAFJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Once again Rockmere did not disappoint. Another lovely weekend in Maine and at Rockmere. Andy and Doug were charming and great hosts. Doug.. the breakfast was just delicious, loved that broiled grapefruit! Thank you for sharing your home.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

What a great place to visit. Andy and Doug are more than gracious hosts. Great views from our room, Doug cooks up a great breakfast. Anyone looking for a great getaway needs to visit Andy and Doug at the Grand Dame of the Marginal Way. They will always make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UncleJohn92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

I want to thank Andy and Doug for sharing their wonderful home. This place is a gem. Right on the Marginal Way, it has spectacular views and the hosts add so much to create the perfect vacation spot. I can't believe some of the earlier "less than perfect" reviews. "Dirty windows"? That's like complaining about pine pollen at a mountain location in the spring. This place is right on the rocky shore of beautiful Maine and it is an immaculate B&B. Thank you Andy and Doug for sharing your lives with us. We'll be back (get a new saw blade - lol).

Room Tip: Although the climb to the top floor is steep, it is worth it. The views are breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

You feel welcome the second you walk in the door. You will be treated like family, we thoroughly enjoyed our host's and our daily visitor Uncle Phil. It was hard to leave breakfast every morning (awesome breakfast- thanks Doug) because the company was so wonderful.

Lots of great places to see in Maine - this is great spot to start..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

I can't say enough good things about our recent visit to Rockmere Lodge. We chose the first weekend of Christmas by the Sea. Besides enjoying daily meals of clam chowder and 'lobstah', we browsed the shops and strolled the marginal way by day and relaxed in the charming living room at the inn each evening....with Christmas music and a warm welcoming fire. Andy and Doug were the perfect hosts, providing us with entertaining stories about the inn to go along with the amazing breakfasts served each morning. Every room had a Christmas tree....ours tree was decorated to match our pink room on the 3rd floor where we could watch the sunrise over the ocean...spectacular! We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Third floor has 2 rooms with ocean views and a neat room between to just sit to read or watch the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SOX44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ogunquit
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Black Boar Inn
The Black Boar Inn
#8 of 27 in Ogunquit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmere Lodge

Property: Rockmere Lodge
Address: 150 Stearns Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian shingle-style B&B, midpoint on the Marginal Way, built in 1899 and restored to its formal glory with antiques and all the comforts you expect. From our Full Breakfast served on our front-porch over-looking the ocean or in our formal dining room, to the panoramic view from our third floor "lookout room," relax, make new friends, read, nap or whatever you choose. Easy walk to town and Perkins Cove via the Marginal Way. Come see how they used to live in Ogunquit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rockmere Hotel Ogunquit
Rockmere Lodge Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing