We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be”
Review of Rockmere Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rockmere Lodge
Ranked #11 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Rockmere for just one night. Unfortunately it was the only night they had available. The room did not have a view but it was quiet and beautifully decorated. The house is lovely, cozy and it just feels like home. The position is unbeatable, right on the water, away from noise, traffic, but still close to everything. We will definitely return to this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conti_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank You for finding us and enjoying Rockmere Lodge . Being right by "The Marginal Way " is a plus to enjoy that Beautiful Walkway. and being in a queit neighborhood like Rockmere Lodge is lets you enjoy the sounds of The Ocean also when you come back from that walk . With you being so close by in New Hampshire we hope We get to see more of you during the coming Years . Again Thank You for the great review .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Most Montrealers may not know this, but Rockmere Lodge is an easy, scenic drive to a lovely spot, minutes from the famous marginal way. There are many inns and B&B's in Ogunquit, but they don't have such gracious and friendly innkeepers as Bob, Andy and Doug. Their home is your home. They make each and every guest feel special. Breakfasts are great, but the conversation is the best! You can always get great tips on where the locals dine and shop. Thanks to Andy to telling us about an outdoor restaurant that serves the best lobsters for the best price ever! Little Beaches are a two minute walk from the inn. Beach towels and umbrellas are provided, as well as coffee, tea and hot chocolate. Your sweet tooth will love the candy jars on the main desk. We have been going to Rockmere for 4 years and will definately be back!! Arlene and Allan

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arlmon18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband and I recently visited Ogunquit, to try to recover from the loss of a beloved pet. Rockmere proved to be the perfect place to do that. This beautiful old house is stuffed with treasures, personal collections generously shared in every corner of every room. The sound of the ocean comes through every window (five of them in my room). Inventive and delicious breakfasts are enjoyed on the huge porch, overlooking the water - it was so hard to pay attention to the beautiful table settings or the food! They miraculously manage to make five sweet dogs invisible until they bring them out to meet you. Of course the location is the best in Ogunquit - a short walk to either the centre of town or Perkin's Cove, along the Marginal Way, means you can park the car and forget it if you want to, and anyone who's ever been here in the summer will know what a bonus that is. You'll have to actually stay here to discover all the other details that make this place so nice.

Room Tip: Are you kidding? The fabulous view gets even better the higher you go, but you can't go wrong he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catloverMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed at this delightful B & B. I had been twice before, but this was her first time and she absolutely loved it. The place is very welcoming and we felt right at home. It's just steps from the Marginal Way and the beaches, and not far from downtown. Andy, Bob and Doug are fantastic hosts! You can tell that they love what they do. They can advise on where to dine, sightseeing, the summer theater etc. Even if you need a good pair of sunglasses, Andy is the guy to ask. We especially enjoyed Doug's awsome breakfasts! He is so creative with presentation and variety. We were quite satisfied. Our room was lovely and very clean. We certainly could not ask for more. Do yourself a favor: if you want to go to Ogunquit, stay at the Rockmere!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigerJim007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Always a Pleasure to See You . And this time with your Daugther ! You make my Morning with that Smile of Yours . Thank You for Revisiting us and writing a Nice Review on Rockmere Lodge and Us .Missed Jim this time but hope we get to see Him next Visit ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We just spent a week with Doug, Bob and Andy, who could not have more welcoming. A perfect spot to enjoy Ogunquit without being in the middle of the congested town. Perfectly situated near little beach. The breakfasts and conversations made our days. The guys always had good suggestions for meals and shopping. We are proud to be their "Canadian family". Hope to see you guys soon. Thanks for the wonderful summer break. Susan and Joel

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgood9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Joel and Susan What Fun to see you again ! You both added to the laughter at Rockmere Lodge . You are just Wonderful Yourself. Thank You for The Nice Review .We hope to see you next Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I was at Rockmere Lodge for the fourth times and as always this experience was fantastic. The house and the garden are beautiful, located by the sea offer a spectacular view of the ocean. I love the decoration of the rooms with fresch towels everyday and delicious breakfast on the porch. The innkeepers are very friendly and really patient with us to repeat when we don't understand something because our first language is french. When we arrive there, we feel like a part of this loving family. Rockmere Lodge is a place to visit and revisit. We already plan to return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

What a Pleasure to see you Both each Year . Its always such Fun sitting and Chatting over Breakfast on The Porch at Rockmere Lodge whats been happening over the past Year with you . We always seem to Have some Good Laughs Too ! Glad you enjoyed your Stay with us again this Year and Thank You For Your Great Review . Until Next Year stay Happy and Healthy .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Thanks Andy, Doug, and Bob for a fantastic get away! The house and grounds offered spectacular views of the sea and were lovingly and beautifully maintained. Our room was very comfortable and breakfast on the porch every morning was amazing. Our hosts were so friendly and informative; we felt like family at the end of our stay. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thanks for the Very Nice Review. We are Glad that you like Your Stay with us at The Rockmere Lodge . We always Love to Meet New Guests that come to us for Their Vacation and Happy when you enjoy our Home, View of The Ocean and Breakfast . We Can't wait to see you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,057 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Black Boar Inn
The Black Boar Inn
#9 of 26 in Ogunquit
284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Hartwell House Inn
Hartwell House Inn
#4 of 26 in Ogunquit
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmere Lodge

Address: 150 Stearns Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range: £94 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian shingle-style B&B, midpoint on the Marginal Way, built in 1899 and restored to its formal glory with antiques and all the comforts you expect. From our Full Breakfast served on our front-porch over-looking the ocean or in our formal dining room, to the panoramic view from our third floor "lookout room," relax, make new friends, read, nap or whatever you choose. Easy walk to town and Perkins Cove via the Marginal Way. Come see how they used to live in Ogunquit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rockmere Hotel Ogunquit
Rockmere Lodge Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing