We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful journey!”
Review of Rockmere Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rockmere Lodge
Ranked #12 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“A wonderful journey!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Experiencing Rockmere Lodge is like a journey into another era, with the comfort of modern commodities. A beautiful victorian home, full of warmth and very cozy. My husband and I had been here before, the first time was 7 years ago. When wanting to travel again to Ogunquit, we don't even wonder where we will stay. Of course, it is at Rockmere Lodge. Once you have crossed the pathway of the magical yet natural garden, and then go up the few stairs onto the huge porch overlooking the sea and set with comfy wicker chairs and rockers, then cross the door leading inside, you just can't help feeling Oh! yes, this is where I want to be! Wonderful friendly hosts (this time there was Andy and Doug, Bob being away), delicious for the palate and art to the eye breakfasts on beautifully set tables, in an atmosphere to remember. Amazing views on the ocean and Marginal Way directly from our bedroom windows, and from the living area where you can curl up with a good book on the third floor, directly overlooking the sea! Bedrooms all have a sitting area and full bathroom, and luscious towels are changed every day. Beds are VERY comfortable, we slept wonderfully, waking up to beautiful soft music, calling us down to breakfast. If you have a chance to meet uncle Phil at breakfast, who often comes around at that time, you are in for a treat. But don't worry, if he's not there, Andy and Doug have many wonderful stories waiting for you. Again, a delightful stay. Don't miss the experience! You have to come live this journey at least once. Linda and Georges Arragon

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    63
    13
    8
    22
See reviews for
40
480
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Beautiful decor, excellent food and little touches that made us feel that we were special - just a few of the highlights of our recent stay. The hosts provided us with helpful information about where to go, what to do and great places to eat. Coffee was served all day along with a wide variety of teas, hot chocolate and apple cider - delicious! The atmosphere was cozy, the view was spectacular and Andy, Doug and Bob were great. We'll definitely be back for another stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

For our 5/10 anniversary (married/dating) I surprised my wife with a dream trip: New England. Another dream of hers was to go to Maine so I worked it in and we started here.
This place was incredible. Between ocean views, the innkeepers, unlimited coffee, and great room, this place was perfect for us.
The room could use some updating and I was disappointed that our shower had some mildew on it but we only stayed two nights so it wasn't worth complaining.
But Andy Bob and Doug made our stay fantastic. Great conversations at breakfast and a great recommendations for lobstahs!
The ocean view was incredible. We are stuck in a landlocked state so to see the open water and walk the shoreline from our B&B was exactly what we wanted.
We hope to be back and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayDillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Fl.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We have visited Rockmere many times, most recently this past week, and we came away with the feeling that we just visited with some dear friends in their lovingly restored home. We actually felt as if it was our home - so warm, beautiful, restful -
And the breakfasts - absolutely delicious and artfully presented - both days they looked too beautiful to dig into with a fork.
Every morning I was awakened with the most wonderful coffee aroma emanating from the kitchen and the taste matched it. Don't know their secret -but love the result, an aromatic, and delicious cup of coffee.
We will be back -

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Its is always a pleasure to See You Both each year . We enjoy catching up with what been happening with you over the past year . And this year you got to meet Bob before he left for our home in Florida and to find out that You live in the next town next to him down there ! Small World .Again We All Thank You for your Great Review on here and We Look forward to your next year Visit with us .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Just as my title describes, there were hits and misses at this B & B. In fact, unfortunately, I think there were more misses than hits; however, the location, was very good.

Hubby and I stayed here on the last leg of our New England. The location is within perfect walking distance to pick up the Marginal Way in the middle, allowing you options of which quaint (yet touristy) little seaside town you want to visit. Check-in was quick and easy; however, we were not given much information about things to do or where to eat in the area, even though I asked – I got the distinct feeling that we were a bother. We were not offered help with our luggage and requested to pay in full upon arriving, instead of settling the bill when we left. In fact, check-out was, well, nothing. We left our key on the desk. Anyway, after checking in, we were shown to our room on the previously-requested first floor (due to my husband having limited walking and stair-climbing capabilities) and while it was very small (read: tiny), on first glance, it was lovely. It wasn’t until I tried to unpack, hang things in the closet, etc., that I noticed we couldn’t even get the closet door open all the way because of the bed. While our room had a portable air-conditioner/heater, we couldn’t get the heater to run and the nights were quite chilly, so we had no heat in the room. The bathroom was adequate, with a very small shower; however, I was not happy to find mold/mildew growing in the shower and on the plastic shower curtain, as well as dirt, hair, and gunk around the floors and walls of the bathroom itself. I understand that the Innkeepers are men, but if you are running this kind of a business, cleanliness is a MUST. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the towels were thick and smelled nice. In our room, as well as throughout the common/guest areas of the house, there was an overabundance of knickknacks on every available flat surface, which hindered a guest laying down their personal items (glasses, watch, camera, etc.) or even a cup/glass of water. And as a last comment on the room, as unbelievable as it sounds, there was a used, dirty envelope provided for guests to leave a “tip.” The note written on the envelope was implying the tip left would be for the Innkeepers “dogs,” however, it’s obvious that it was an envelope to be used to leave a tip for the Innkeepers. Are you kidding me?! #1, we never even saw the dogs (heard them barking a lot), and #2, in all of our years of staying at B&Bs, both in the US and Canada, we have never, ever had one ask for a tip for cleaning our room…and a dirty room at that! And finally, the inn did offer plenty of lukewarm water and coffee throughout the day and night for guests. No cold water, sodas, cookies, popcorn, etc., offered like at every other B&B we stayed in (even those less expensive).

There are plenty of comfy places to sit outside in the yard, and a couple offers a little view of the ocean, as well. The yard/garden areas have the potential to be really lovely, but they needed some tender loving care (weeds and misc. debris from old plastic hothouse pots, trash, etc.), as do the lawn furniture, as I found them to be caked with old dirt or mildew and was hesitant to sit and get dirty. But, the birds loved the area and I enjoyed watching the birds. The steps leading up to the main entrance of the house, as well as the exterior of the house itself, needs some work. For example, the step’s handrail spindles were rotted in areas and I wasn’t too sure about their strength when hubby used them for balance to ascend/descend the stairs. I completely understand that being this close to the coast can bring intense weathering to structures; however, when catering to the public, these things need to be attended to ASAP to avoid accidents, injury, and lawsuits. And as rotted as the balustrades were, this isn’t something that happened over just one season…it’s been ongoing, without being attended to. I got the distinct impression from other observations that the Innkeepers priorities are on other things.

Breakfast is always served outside on the wraparound porch, which, during cooler or inclement weather, has thick, clear plastic sheets that pull down to offer protection. You can still see through the plastic to the ocean, although it's a little distorted, but it's still very lovely while enjoying your morning meal. Heaters were run to keep us warm, as well as the sunshine coming through the plastic shields. Breakfasts were good and filling, but not gourmet. A word of warning: the Innkeepers enjoy talking, and talking, and talking; so if you are not a morning person, or just not much of a talker yourself, this may cause you some irritation…also depending on what stories or gossip they choose to inundate you with could cause an issue.

And as a final comment: The Innkeepers enjoy talking, as mentioned above, but mainly bad-mouthing about their previous guests, problems, and their hate for Trip Advisor…ad nauseam. The story we heard over and over, in particular, was about a previous guest(s) who has evidently turned into a “stalker,” with the help of Trip Advisor. They made no bones about their dislike of the travel site, their policies, and those who use the site. We felt uncomfortable and bullied because we like Trip Advisor and use it often to help plan our vacations. In fact, Trip Advisor is how we found Rockmere Lodge in the first place! And lastly, we figured that the Innkeepers/Rockmere Lodge was gay-friendly…it’s apparent from their website and the personal information given on said site. We don’t/didn’t care, but it was obvious that the Innkeepers have had some problems in the past regarding that issue, as it was another subject they felt they had to share during breakfast. Not appropriate conversation for unfamiliar guests. And let’s face it, we’re there on vacation…we don’t want to hear about your problems and complaints! We’re trying to get away from all of that, for pete’s sake!

All-in-all, whereas our experience at the Rockmere Lodge wasn’t horrible, I can’t in good conscience, recommend it and, in fact, would actively search out somewhere else to stay, even if I had to pay more and get an impersonal setting at a traditional hotel.

Room Tip: Second-floor rooms seemed to be larger. Stay away from the main-floor room if more than one person i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaggieMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Wow! Can we say an unhappy person in general! Out of six reviews on Ogunquit, she liked two, one being the Marginal Way! How can you find fault with what God and Mother Nature has given us?
If she had listened upon check-in instead of trying to argue that she didn’t want to pay up front, she would have heard us explain about our area, the list of restaurants and their phone numbers if they needed it. They were also told about the menu book for the restaurants, the brochures on our check-in desk for area attractions and the cold bottled water in the mini-fridge on the porch.
We go through a lot of coffee and hot water for tea for being luke warm. She was more interested in finding fault than enjoying her stay with us. She mentioned “No Tip” several times in her reviews (Was that an excuse for finding something wrong so she didn’t have to leave one?) As far as our envelope, the money goes to three of the animal shelters we support and a food pantry. We need no help taking care of our dogs! Shame on her!
It’s a pity she couldn’t enjoy her vacation instead of finding something wrong so she could write about it on here. I stay at B&B’s and know a lot of them in our fine State and NO, not everyone puts out cookies and popcorn! We on the other hand, put out coffee, a large selection of teas, a variety of hot chocolate and hot cider, not to mention several flavored creamers and, at the present time, seven sweeteners to go with them. We also have a very large selection of candy as mentioned in other reviews on this site. And yes, up to six varieties of FREE flavored brandy for our guests pleasure.
She pays or buys cheap and wants everything as her review on us and Ogunquit’s restaurants show. She had a choice of another room (larger with an ocean view) on our ground floor but chose the smallest and least expensive.
Please take the time to read all the rest of the positive reviews which out way ones like this one and make up your own mind if we are right for you. As we end our twenty second season, we must be doing something right. Rockmere Lodge is not only our business, but is our home. We live here year round!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmingdale, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We returned to the Rockmere Lodge this year for another great weekend. Andy, Doug, Bob and Uncle Phil are just the best hosts you can find. The lodge is beautifully decorated, the breakfasts are delicious and the company and banter starts your day off right. We love Ogunquit and the Rockmere is the perfect place to stay. Many thanks for the repeat experience. We will see you again.

Liz and Dick

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizbeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Liz and Dick What a Pleasure to see you both again this year ! Also We are very happy that you enjoyed yourself again at The Rockmere Lodge . We aways enjoy sitting and chatting with our Friends of whats been happening since We last saw you . Like Family ! And Yes Uncle Phil is a Plus at Rockmere Lodge . As We finish our Twenty Second year as Owner/Innkeeper We are planning for our 23 already and what new things we will add to the Inn for our Guests . Looking forward to 2014 and Seeing You Both Again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Rockmere Lodge is a cross between New Orleans carnival and your local dollar store. The hosts surely appled their most creative energies in creating this landmark......20 years ago. Nowadays it seems to reflect neglect in both appearance and courtesy. The rooms were comfortable and clean despite the overpowering presence of tacky second-hand bric-a-brac in every square inch of the premises. Our breakfast host was rude and condescending and the breakfast was awful - like it was out of a frozen box. We opted to eat elsewhere in the mornings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeMorgan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
And who's the Rude One Here ? Can't please evryone . Read all the others reviews on us and you decide what and who we are . The decor and our Great Breakfast . Stay in August writes a review akmost two months later . having a Bad Day maybe ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,016 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
633 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#23 of 36 in Ogunquit
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hartwell House Inn
Hartwell House Inn
#4 of 26 in Ogunquit
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Trellis House
The Trellis House
#1 of 26 in Ogunquit
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmere Lodge

Property: Rockmere Lodge
Address: 150 Stearns Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian shingle-style B&B, midpoint on the Marginal Way, built in 1899 and restored to its formal glory with antiques and all the comforts you expect. From our Full Breakfast served on our front-porch over-looking the ocean or in our formal dining room, to the panoramic view from our third floor "lookout room," relax, make new friends, read, nap or whatever you choose. Easy walk to town and Perkins Cove via the Marginal Way. Come see how they used to live in Ogunquit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rockmere Hotel Ogunquit
Rockmere Lodge Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing