We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spot, fantastic innkeeps”
Review of Rockmere Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rockmere Lodge
Ranked #12 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I spent the weekend of the 4th with a couple of friends at Rockmere. The Lodge is a wonderful spot with gorgeous views of the ocean. The rooms are very cute and comfortable. Bob and Andy were fantastic, their were extremely friendly and helpful in all aspects. The breakfasts were delicious too!

Room Tip: Folks with proclivities towards chic modern be aware, this is a wonderfully classic NE ocean inn bri...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank You So Much For Your Kind Words On Rockmere Lodge and Us as innkeepers. We truly enjoy w3hat we are doing as Innkeepers and Hope We make everyone stay with us enjoyable. We look forward to seeing You Again in The Future at Rockmere Lodge A beautiful Place By The Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
There are newer reviews for Rockmere Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was such a wonderful two days here at the Rockmere. Andy and Bob are such gracious owners. Our room #6 had such wonderful views of the Atlantic and early morning sunrise. The Marginal Way was just a minute or so away. At the Marginal Way one can go left and head into town or go right and head to Perkins Cove. The breakfasts at Rockmere are wonderful and a great way to start the day. When we returned in the evening there was always hot coffee and water in the living room area. We would have hot chocolate and add one of the various brandy's offered for free. Great owners, great breakfasts, very quiet place (all rooms have own bathrooms), and great conversations. Thanks Andy and Bob.
Carl and Fe Rissanen, Aurora, Colorado

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thank you So Much for Your Wonderful Review. We Try hard to make Your stay at the Rockmere Lodge Wonderful . Being On The Marginal Way is so great for those who wants to walk right out our Front Door Almost and Enjoy The Walk , the Sound and Sight of The Of The Ocean . We Hope You Come and Visit Us again in The Near Future to Enjoy what We at Rockmere Lodge and Our Beautiful Town of Ogunquit Has to Offer .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This time it was a girl's get-away. At the risk of losing our favorite room choice to other guests reading this review, our room with pull-out couch was great to share and the ocean view is wonderful.
Had lots of laughs with Andy and Doug (who are two of the reasons why guests return to Rockmere Lodge) and fellow guests. I think we chatted with in other reviewers Jo-Ann and Bill in the Look-out! Cool weather necessitated our yummy breakfast to be served indoors, but Andy had the fireplace going in their lovely dining room. Rockmere's location is perfect and no matter what the weather a walk on Marginal Way is a must. Wake to the sunrise and let the ocean lull you sleep...can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: There are stairs up to the inn but there are two guest rooms located on the first floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twobysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

So happy To see You Again and Even More Happier that You had such a Great Time. Its always so Nice to see When Our Guests get to meet and know one another like you did over Your Weekend with Us .Looking forward to Your Next Stay with Us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Celebrating our 40th anniversary in Ogunquit, Maine, we had a wonderful weekend stay at the Rockmere Lodge. The inn is perfectly located midway on the Marginal Way and listening to the ocean at night was wonderfully soothing. Host, Andy, was very accommodating and provided us with excellent recommendations during our stay. We enjoyed our breakfasts and were introduced to all the "kids." We would definitely go back again on our next venture to Ogunquit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank You for Loving Rockmere Lodge as Much as We Love Sharing it with You . We Look Forward to Sharing or Home with You in The Future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our only expectations of Rockmere were that the views are spectacular and the location only steps from the Marginal Way. Both proved true. What we hadn't anticipated was the warm and gracious welcome of the hosts, Andy and Doug, and the artistic eye at work in everything from the table settings, to the paintings, to the furnishings, and the colorful--decidedly non-institutional--towels. In every way, we had the experience of being embraced by our hosts, with every effort made to ensure our enjoyment and comfort. The breakfasts reflected the same attention and imagination--the best we've ever had! What a gem the Rockmere is. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. But don't miss comfortable chairs in the third floor lookout, comp...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We went to Rockmere Lodge for 3 nights for my husband's birthday. As we drove up to the property all I could think was that it is steps away from the Marginal Way. The location is incredible. We were warmly greeted by Doug and settled in. We went for a short walk. Doug had suggested that we experience the view from the third floor. When we returned we went to the third floor to sit in comfortable arm chairs, sip complementary brandy and chat with two other delightful guests who had returned many times over the years. We did this while taking in the magnificent view from the picture window. The following day we had the pleasure of meeting Andy! We had a great breakfast and great conversation with the other guests, Andy, Doug and, let us not forget, Abbie, the delightful boxer, and Uncle Phil, a very personable and humorous neighbor. All we can say is if you want to feel welcome, comfortable and have a very enjoyable and relaxing experience, visit Rockmere Lodge. We will definitely stay at Rockmere for any and all future visits to the area. We thank Andy and Doug for making my gift to my husband everything we wanted it to be.
Jo-Ann and Bill C

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoandBill2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Enjoyed another great anniversary weekend at the rockmere. Andy and Doug are the best! Exceptional breakfast and they offer great advise on other local places for wining/dining. Andy, Doug & Bob enjoy a great summer!

Room Tip: room 3 with the ocean view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,037 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Trellis House
The Trellis House
#1 of 26 in Ogunquit
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,033 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hartwell House Inn
Hartwell House Inn
#5 of 26 in Ogunquit
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marginal Way House
Marginal Way House
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmere Lodge

Address: 150 Stearns Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range: £93 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian shingle-style B&B, midpoint on the Marginal Way, built in 1899 and restored to its formal glory with antiques and all the comforts you expect. From our Full Breakfast served on our front-porch over-looking the ocean or in our formal dining room, to the panoramic view from our third floor "lookout room," relax, make new friends, read, nap or whatever you choose. Easy walk to town and Perkins Cove via the Marginal Way. Come see how they used to live in Ogunquit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rockmere Hotel Ogunquit
Rockmere Lodge Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing