We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not luxurious ”
Review of Meadowmere Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Meadowmere Resort
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice, but not luxurious ”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We usually stay at another local (expensive) resort and tried Meadowmere due to cheaper pricing and overwhelmingly positive reviews on TA.

Our take is as follows:

- Reasonably priced-- decent, but not great value

- Rooms were average-- small bathroom, no closet- armoire instead, but clean

- no hot water at dinner time one night-- that happens with mechanicals, I guess-- reaction by front desk was less than stellar-- should have been profuse apologies and accommodation-- didn't happen. To their credit, they repaired the issue that night and eventually reduced our bill for the inconvenience. But, that kind of breakdown leaves an impression. They are in the hot water business. Never experienced that before.

- Wifi was slow to average

- Stairs to 2nd floor room-- no elevator

- Lot of on site amenities (indoor/outdoor pool, bar/food, Jonathan's- entertainment venue, etc)-- seemed like families enjoyed, but just not posh-- more motel like

- outdoor pool is on Route 1 side (front of hotel) and fairly small

- fairly convenient location on Route 1 near Town (long walk) and Playhouse (5 minute walk)

- given location (no view) and motel like property, it's just not a "couples resort" in true sense

- overall, a decent property with amenities for reasonable rates-- just know in advance what you are getting (and not getting)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank northeaster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear northeaster22,

Thank you for your review – and for choosing the Meadowmere!

It was our pleasure to welcome you and thank you for trying our independent resort. You are correct – The Meadowmere is a longtime favorite for family vacations, is located on Route 1/Main Street and has received recognition as one of the best family hotels in Southern Maine. Though not a 4 or 5 diamond luxury hotel, we offer a great value and location in the center of Ogunquit Maine.

We apologize for the hot water concerns during one evening of your stay. We did experience a mechanical issue and corrected the concern immediately, restoring hot water within 90 minutes to the section of the hotel experiencing the issue. We certainly understand that even with this short time to correct the concern, it was an unfortunate surprise to some guests. While correcting the issue, we offered guests alternative rooms and our fitness center as alternatives. We apologize if that information was not relayed to you and thank you for letting us know and for recognizing that we did offer compensation as your evening plans were interrupted.

Please know that we offer many different types of rooms and are happy to recommend options with closets and more space, such as our suites. Additionally, elevator access can be found in the South Meadow section, which allows for access to the Main section that you joined us in.

We certainly invite you to return and thank you for sharing your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    253
    78
    40
    19
See reviews for
301
475
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My second stay at the Meadowmere was comfortable and in a quiet section of the resort for adults. The 2 pools, Roman Spa, and Whirlpool hot tub provide plenty of options at this beautifully maintained property, as well as a location where movies are viewed. The housekeeping is lacking a little in maintaining an adequately clean and well supplied room. The rug was noticeably in need of a vacuuming and the jacuzzi tub was not cleaned after having been used. In a non-smoking facility we found cigarette butts on the terrace and by the indoor pool.

Room Tip: Couples will find a section of the hotel on the south side is quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel strives to maintain environmentally-friendly practices that are becoming commonplace in the industry.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouEch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear 5 LouEch

Thank you for your review and for returning for your second stay!

We apologize for the cleanliness concerns - We certainly understand that our guests want to experience the exceptional cleanliness and upkeep that we are known for. It is always disappointing to us when
a concern arises and thank you for letting us know. It is how we can work with new staff and better rise to the next occasion.

We appreciate the compliments on our amenities and you are correct, our South Meadow Honeymoon and Luxury Suites are in quiet locations. We are happy to know that the location of the suite and our amenities were enjoyable and we look forward to delivering on your expectations for the next stay. We hope you will give us another try again soon!

Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogunquit, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I have written about the Meadowmere Resort in the past and I thought it was time again to write another review on this marvelous/cozy/unsurpassed (as yet) hotel in Ogunquit, Maine. I have been to other motels in the area in the course of the last month or so....(for business and not of my own choosing). But a few days ago I stayed at the Meadowmere Resort to check them out again and i must say that when you compare, that's when things that matter in a hotel/motel do come out and stand by its own. For example: Amenities:....if you're staying for one night only, this may not seem as important, but for a longer stay, that's when it starts coming together....and the Meadowmere as more than any others...like an indoor and an outdoor pool (new)....a Roman Bath....a Spa...a game room for kids.....and exercise room with everything you may need to stay in shape....and a large Movie theater showing the latest movies on a large screen daily...with not one but three showings per day. The staff is more than friendly and will make your stay all the better. They are knowledgeable of the area and will guide you to the best spots in town and beyond....They can guide you to the best restaurants and will make the proper reservations for you if asked. This place is about as secure as you can get and it's no wonder that people who come to the Meadowmere Resort do so year after year and in all seasons. If you care about saving a little money, you can ask for a room at the Country Squire which is connected with the Meadowmere and is part of the same property...and you still have access to all the amenities the hotel as to offer..while saving a few dollars. Rooms are spacious and so very clean. It's a two story building with outside access....but so very Mere! I have yet to see, here in Ogunquit, such a well kept and clean place...and it shows. I want to add here that I was not in anyway approached by the owners to write this review which I have done on my own. Check them out...you won't be sorry you did and price wise...they simply cannot be beat. Oh! and did I mention the most complete continental breakfast around and of course, within season, comes free with your stay with a wonderful and courteous staff. All this within also a few minutes walk to the Marginal Way (walking path along the shores that leads to the fishing village of Perkins Cove...about a 1 mile walk). The Main Beach is about 3 miles long and as been voted one the 10 best beaches in the U.S. so there's plenty of room for all and is easily walkable on flat sand. You can't go wrong with the best hotel, the best beach, the best restaurants and shops. Enjoy your stay...I know I do everytime and you will too. Such a friendly town. Maine is mainly friendly anyhow.

Green Features: The Meadowmere Resort is a pioneer as an environmentally-friendly hotel in Maine and one of if not THE first hotel/resort of its kind...that you can also tour to find out more. They have converted to solar panels a few years ago and remain as the first and foremost hotel of its kind in all of Maine.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Photographer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Photographer_9

Thank you for your review of your most recent stay and for being such a fan! Wow!

It was our pleasure to welcome you back and thank you for your kind words. Our team will be thrilled that our friendly and comfortable service has made such a difference in this and every stay. Thank you for the compliments on the maintenance and upkeep of the resort - We know that having a clean, comfortable home away from home is an important reason guest return year after year. It sounds like you discovered our many green programs – much of which happens behind the scenes, though we are always happy to share details on our solar panels and much more!

We happy to know that you found so much value in our little independent resort. Welcome back – and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Such a well kept, clean little resort right in the heart of ogunquit. Walking distance to shops, restaurants, and attractions. Clean, beautiful
Pool area and hot tub, indoor pool and roman spa was a pleasant surprise. Free hot breakfast every morning included in your room rate. Room is spacious, and clean, they supply you with coffee in room and toiletries. Will definitely stay again very soon!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffbooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Tiffbooch

Thank you for your review of your stay and for enjoying a summer getaway with us!

It was our pleasure to welcome you for a last minute trip to Ogunquit. Thank you for the compliments on our upkeep and location. With the many amenities and our seasonal continental breakfast, guests are often surprised to find how much there is to enjoy at the resort and still be so close to the beach and village. We are delighted that you found the hotel such a great value and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This property has it all. Great location,super clean and all the amenities. The free breakfast is fabulous. We took advantage of the indoor salt water spa. Very relaxing. We peeked in the health club and the size and equipment is amazing. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. Right behind our building was Jonathan's restaurant. Outstanding. I usually stay at the Anchorage,however I will stay at the Meadowmere again. Prices are super too.

Room Tip: They have four different buildings,so ask about accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Frank T

Thank you for your review of your stay and for enjoying a June stay with us!

We are delighted that you found the hotel such a great value. Thank you for the compliments on our location, amenities and cleanliness – All reasons so many guests join us again and again. It sounds like our service – from our seasonal breakfast to picking up Roman Spa pools towels – helped you feel at home. And Jonathan’s Restaurant next to us makes it easy to enjoy the whole day at the resort. Though we always recommend a little sightseeing of beautiful Ogunquit!

We happy to know that you had a great stay at our little independent resort. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was a beautiful little resort. It was a little walk away from the center of Ogunquit and the beach but worth the price! 2 pools, 2 spas and continental breakfast included, it is definitely a place I would stay again. Staff was awesome, they were so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Catmaz

Thank you for your review of your stay and for enjoying summer with us!

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Ogunquit. Our team will be thrilled that our friendly and comfortable service made such a difference. Thank you for the compliments! Indoor/outdoor pools, indoor/outdoor hot tubs, pub, spa, game room, fitness center – We know that having all these amenities in a central location are important reasons guest return year after year. So glad you enjoyed them!

We happy to know that you found so much value in our little independent resort. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our 2nd time staying at Meadowmere and we just love this place. While we don't consider it walking distance to the beach (you can do it, it's just a bit too long to tote all your beach stuff) it is definitely walking distance to downtown, all the shops and restaurants on Shore Rd and the Marginal Way.

The rooms were lovely and I especially loved all the common areas. There were various places to be if you did not want to be in the room - the lobby was more like a living room and there were various areas throughout the resort where you could sit and relax or chat in an atmosphere that felt more like a home than a hotel. We enjoyed most of the amenities - the pool, game room and top notch gym and fitness center. We also took advantage of the free movie screening one night which was a nice touch. The Maine seacoast is such a weather-dependent vacation for us - everything we want to be doing is outside so if it rains (which it did for us on this trip) our options are limited. Meadowmere provides a variety of options to do on a rainy day without ever leaving the resort.

I think the rates are reasonable for the area. We went mid-week - the rates were considerably more on the weekends in the summer but that is to be expected.

The only negative I can mention is that the wi-fi is very poor. We like to stream video on our various devices when we're in for the night and the wi-fi was so weak it could not handle that. Admittedly it's not a deal breaker but it's part of our vacation routine and it was disappointing to not be able to do that.

Overall we were very happy with our stay and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SED960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear SED960

Thank you for your review of your stay and for returning to enjoy Ogunquit with us!

We are delighted that you had such a great time. Thank you for the compliments on our amenities and accommodations. We often hear how wonderful it is to be able to enjoy a vacation, rain or shine. It sounds like you also enjoy our central location and if ever a guest needs to carry extra beach gear, we offer red wagons for day use during the season and are happy to arrange for a pick up by the Ogunquit beach caddy. We know how wonderful Ogunquit is to explore and how nice it is to return to a restful resort after a day of beach, shopping and more.

We happy to know that you have found so much value in our service, amenities, location and well maintained hotel midweek or weekend. Thank you for your feedback on the wireless – Please know we are happy to help and have technical support available to help, even late at night. We hope that you can enjoy the vacation movie tradition on the next trip and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
1.0 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
554 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,028 reviews
0.7 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
678 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowmere Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowmere Resort

Property: Meadowmere Resort
Address: 74 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#15 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meadowmere Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin a tradition at The Meadowmere Resort, a family owned inn in the heart of Ogunquit. Relax with award winning amenities, great location, environmental excellence and every room choice to make your hotel stay special. Set on the Southern Coast of Maine and one hour away from Boston, the Meadowmere is a favorite Maine vacation resort for generations. Enjoy gourmet getaways, spa packages, Maine weddings, corporate meetings and year-round vacations in the heart of Ogunquit Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Meadowmere Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowmere Resort Ogunquit, Maine
Meadowmere Hotel Ogunquit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing