We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Place at a Wonderful Town”
Review of Meadowmere Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Meadowmere Resort
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Upon arrival at the Meadowmere, there was no available parking so I was instructed to park in a lot across the street. When I went to park there, the lot was clearly chained up and closed for quite some time. The next day they suggested the same parking for my guest and we had to tell them again that the parking was not available. The people at the front desk just seemed a bit scatter brained and disorganized. The rooms were fine, fairly clean and functional. Breakfast is included and is a standard buffet similar to a Hampton Inn. The location was good as it was within a reasonable walking distance to town and the beach for able bodied people. It's right on route 1 so there are no views to speak of. If you are going to experience Ogunquit and don't need to spend a lot of time at a resort, this would be an acceptable place to stay. Since the places can get quite pricey in the heart of the summer, you may find that this place is slightly more reasonable on price which could also be acceptable for the trade offs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CaraFas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear CaraFas

Thank you for your review – and for choosing the Meadowmere!

It was our pleasure to welcome you and thank you for trying our independent resort. You are correct – The Meadowmere is a longtime favorite for summer vacations and is located on Route 1/Main Street. Though not a 4 or 5 diamond luxury hotel, we offer a great value and location in the center of Ogunquit Maine.

We apologize for the parking concerns. We understand that parking in Ogunquit and at the hotel can be a concern in a busy periods. Though we provide one non-assigned parking space with a reservation, we also have made local arrangements for overflow parking at a daily rate and we are on the trolley and walking distance, which helps to save time driving and parking when enjoying the village. We appreciate the feedback so we can better coordinate with the overflow parking partner.

It sounds like there may not have been time to enjoy all that the resort has to offer – Gardens, outdoor pool, indoor pool, hot tub, Roman Spa, fitness center, day spa, game room, TV room, BBQ area and more. We certainly invite you to return and relax with us.

Thank you for sharing your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
There are newer reviews for Meadowmere Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We've stayed at the Meadowmere about 10 times. This was our first time there with our children. The hotel has so much more to offer than any other hotel in ogunquit...except ocean views. There's the continental breakfast, indoor pool, outdoor pool (newly renovated), indoor and outdoor jacuzzi, beautiful gym, arcade room, mini movie theatre and lots of options for different types of rooms (suites, fireplace, etc). In fact my husband and I got engaged here 9 yrs ago!! It has it all! Great place to stay in the off season too. Staff are super nice and helpful! Love, love, love this place!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannonbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Shannonbeth

Thank you for your review and for being a fan of our Ogunquit hotel!

Wow! We are delighted to welcome you and your family over the years. Thank you for the compliments on our amenities and many types of rooms. We often hear how wonderful it is to find a hotel to enjoy year round, with plenty to enjoy onsite and nearby, rain or shine. What a treat to know you got engaged at our Ogunquit resort! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We spent four nights in July in a ground-floor room. The room was large with a king bed; bathroom was small but adequate for the two of us. A very complete and adequate continental breakfast; coffee available at all times. The pool was small but clean-bar and food service available poolside. We had tickets for a live performer at Jonathan's restaurant right on the site-very convenient. A theater showed second-run movies all day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailordog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Sailordog

Thank you for your review and for enjoying a getaway with us!

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the compliments on our cleanliness and location. You are correct – it is very easy to enjoy a concert, dinner or host a meeting at Jonathan’s Restaurant directly next door to us. It sounds like you discovered many of our amenities, from recently renovated outdoor pool to the pub and TV room. We hope you can return to enjoy the indoor pool, hot tub and Roman Spa and perhaps even a spa treatment. We welcome you to contact us directly for your next stay and are happy to be a convenient getaway!

Thank you for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in July and were very happy. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are nice, and the breakfast is more than you would expect. It is walking distance to Town and the theater where there are live productions. We saw Billy Elliott which was very well done. Parking can be a little challenging at times but we always found a spot. I would surely recommend this place

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Alan S

Thank you for your review and for enjoying a summer vacation with us!

It was our pleasure to welcome your family to our Ogunquit hotel. Thank you for the compliments on our friendly service and accommodations. It sounds like you discovered our central location to Ogunquit Beach, Ogunquit village and the Ogunquit Playhouse. The Billy Elliott production was wonderful and we are looking forward to Mary Poppins in August. We understand that parking in Ogunquit and at the hotel can be a concern in a busy periods. Though we provide one non-assigned parking space with a reservation, we also have made local arrangements for overflow parking at a daily rate and we are on the trolley and walking distance, which helps to save time driving and parking when enjoying the village. We are always happy to help and thank you for recommending us!

Thank you for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here with both of our daughters, and their families. Rented three rooms with 6 adults and 7 children. (We might have over filled the rooms!!). The rooms are clean, but small. The bathrooms were adequate for the stay, but very small. It worked for us, but this is not luxury and it is on route 1. About a 10 minute walk to the beach. That's fine, if you are a young couple on your own, but not great for a larger family with smaller children. The Ogunquit shuttle does stop within feet of the property which is convenient provided you do not paying $2.00 for each adult and $1.50 per child under 10. It cost us $22.00 to take the shuttle to Perkins Cove for dinner!! Should have had all the mini vans drive.

Room Tip: Try to book rooms near the back and away from the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grampster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Grampster

Thank you for your review and for enjoying a family vacation with us!

It sounds like you enjoyed our East Meadow location, which is set behind the Main building and is a quieter location. It is a favorite for families with a larger outside area and a central yet quiet location within the hotel. We certainly understand that traveling as a family to the beach can require a lot of gear and we are happy to offer wagons for the beach gear or little ones to ride in. We hope you can enjoy this service on the next family trip. We are also happy to arrange for the Beach Caddy to pick up at our door if the local Ogunquit Trolley service is not a fit for such a large group.

We look forward to your next trip – and should you like to try larger accommodations, our Family Suites and seasonal Apartment Suite are great for families and may feel a bit better with so many people traveling.

Thank you for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was my family's third visit to the Meadowmere and it was even better than before! Although it started out shakey because the room we wanted wasn't respected, the manager, Rebecca went above and beyond to find our family the perfect room! We found it cramped but it wasn't anyone's fault. Not easy to have space in 1 room with a toddler and a preschooler.
The staff was so incredible and helpful! They made great recommendations and found parks where my kids could play within walking distance!
Our room was always clean. TV was nice. Bathroom was tiny and sometimes made it difficult for us to bathe the kids. But not a deal breaker.
The breakfast was perfect for us! Friendly folks each morning and the gluten free cereal option was a pleasant bonus!! We also ate at the Pub for lunch while swimming...tremendous and convenient. My husband and I got drinks there at night and brought them to the room. Those were not good. But the beers were great!
I would highly recommend this wonderfully located resort for families...but beware that should there be older children swimming, it could get unpleasant!

Room Tip: Some families with older children were loud...not the hotel's fault!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear PrincessLeah74

Thank you for your review and for returning for your third stay!

It was our pleasure to welcome you back for a trip with the whole family. Thank you for the compliments on our amenities, cleanliness and service. We apologize for the room location and drink concerns - We certainly understand that when traveling with little ones, the location can be important. It was our pleasure to help and thank you for letting us know.

Look forward to our next trip – and should you like to try larger accommodations, our Family Suites and seasonal Apartment Suite are great for families. We welcome you to contact us directly and are happy to help.

Thank you for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We usually stay at another local (expensive) resort and tried Meadowmere due to cheaper pricing and overwhelmingly positive reviews on TA.

Our take is as follows:

- Reasonably priced-- decent, but not great value

- Rooms were average-- small bathroom, no closet- armoire instead, but clean

- no hot water at dinner time one night-- that happens with mechanicals, I guess-- reaction by front desk was less than stellar-- should have been profuse apologies and accommodation-- didn't happen. To their credit, they repaired the issue that night and eventually reduced our bill for the inconvenience. But, that kind of breakdown leaves an impression. They are in the hot water business. Never experienced that before.

- Wifi was slow to average

- Stairs to 2nd floor room-- no elevator

- Lot of on site amenities (indoor/outdoor pool, bar/food, Jonathan's- entertainment venue, etc)-- seemed like families enjoyed, but just not posh-- more motel like

- outdoor pool is on Route 1 side (front of hotel) and fairly small

- fairly convenient location on Route 1 near Town (long walk) and Playhouse (5 minute walk)

- given location (no view) and motel like property, it's just not a "couples resort" in true sense

- overall, a decent property with amenities for reasonable rates-- just know in advance what you are getting (and not getting)

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank northeaster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear northeaster22,

Thank you for your review – and for choosing the Meadowmere!

It was our pleasure to welcome you and thank you for trying our independent resort. You are correct – The Meadowmere is a longtime favorite for family vacations, is located on Route 1/Main Street and has received recognition as one of the best family hotels in Southern Maine. Though not a 4 or 5 diamond luxury hotel, we offer a great value and location in the center of Ogunquit Maine.

We apologize for the hot water concerns during one evening of your stay. We did experience a mechanical issue and corrected the concern immediately, restoring hot water within 90 minutes to the section of the hotel experiencing the issue. We certainly understand that even with this short time to correct the concern, it was an unfortunate surprise to some guests. While correcting the issue, we offered guests alternative rooms and our fitness center as alternatives. We apologize if that information was not relayed to you and thank you for letting us know and for recognizing that we did offer compensation as your evening plans were interrupted.

Please know that we offer many different types of rooms and are happy to recommend options with closets and more space, such as our suites. Additionally, elevator access can be found in the South Meadow section, which allows for access to the Main section that you joined us in.

We certainly invite you to return and thank you for sharing your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,036 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
690 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mariner Resort
Mariner Resort
#17 of 36 in Ogunquit
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowmere Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowmere Resort

Address: 74 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#15 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £93 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meadowmere Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin a tradition at The Meadowmere Resort, a family owned inn in the heart of Ogunquit. Relax with award winning amenities, great location, environmental excellence and every room choice to make your hotel stay special. Set on the Southern Coast of Maine and one hour away from Boston, the Meadowmere is a favorite Maine vacation resort for generations. Enjoy gourmet getaways, spa packages, Maine weddings, corporate meetings and year-round vacations in the heart of Ogunquit Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Meadowmere Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowmere Resort Ogunquit, Maine
Meadowmere Hotel Ogunquit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing