We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort for every season”
Review of Meadowmere Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meadowmere Resort
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 January 2011

The Meadowmere is such a cozy, welcoming, and accomodating resort for every season. The rooms, lobby, and all amenities are immaculate, and they offer family suites, jacuzzi suites, and even fireplaces. Although it is not located on the beach, it is just a short walk to the beach, Perkin's Cove, the village, and the Ogunquit Playhouse, and in the high season, it is nice to have such a quiet place away from the congestion. The Roman spa, outdoor hot tub, indoor and outdoor pools are maintained to perfection. For families with younger children, there is a game room and a small movie theatre that offers current movies ,( children's movies earlier in the day, and others later) , at no charge. The gym located in the facility is outstanding, and is unlike other tiny gyms in other hotels. The pub is adorable, with a nice fire in the fall and winter, and tropical drinks and a.c. in the summer. I think the best feature of the Meadowmere is the outstanding staff. Every single person is so friendly and welcoming. It is a family owned business, and the service is very personalized. They value each customer, and do whatever they can to make each stay a memorable one. I highly recommend the Meadomere to all my friends, and no one is ever disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pands25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review - We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed the hotel in every season!

It is our pleasure to provide a cozy and friendly escape and we are happy to hear that you enjoy our many amenities. Thank you for your compliments on our maintenance – we know that caring for our hotel means you can enjoy your vacation. It is wonderful to know that you have experienced so many of our rooms and suites, as well as our central location in Ogunquit. Thank you for the compliments on our friendly service – we enjoy making each stay special and are thrilled to know that we have helped your family and friends create so many memories!

Thank you for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

807 - 813 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2010

This family-owned hotel in Ogunquit is a true gem, and that's why our family has been making it our getaway hotel of choice for nearly two decades. With each visit, we are treated to new upgrades as the owners are constantly adding amenities and features. The indoor Roman spa and outdoor jacuzzis are luxury embodied, and the indoor and outdoor pool areas an added bonus. The fitness facility is much better than most any hotel we've stayed in, and certainly the best offered in the Ogunquit area.
The location is deceptive- a bit further away from the beaches and town than some other hotels but this is an advantage during busy months as it helps in avoiding traffic. There is a small but fun gameroom for the kids, and nice, under-stated pub that hosts breakfast (in-season only, it seems) and live music on the weekends. The hotel even has a small but wonderful movie theater with 2 daily movies! The rooms are good-sized, well-updated, with nice decor, good bathrooms, and mini-fridges (a must!). The television in our room was large and newt, and the wireless internet throughout the hotel is excellent and easily accessed for free. Most of all, the reservation and front office staff are nice as can be and always there to assist!
For those who have not been to Ogunquit, it is a quaint oceanside town in southern Maine, and with easy access to Kittery (outlet shopping), Wells, and Kennebunkport. There are wonderful restaurants and cute stores up and down Route One for miles (where the Meadowmere is located).
Although we almost never write these types of reviews, we wanted to share with others what a true treasure the Meadowmere Hotel is. You'll enjoy your stay there!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandsbridgew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review - We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed the hotel for over 20 years!

We are delighted to know that our upgrades and attention to details have made us a favorite getaway. It is our pleasure to welcome your family and be a home away from home. Thank you for the compliments on our friendly service, central location and amenities – you have seen us add so much over the years! Ogunquit is a delightful village to visit with great shopping and sights nearby– we are thrilled to know that our family has helped yours create so many memories!

Thank you for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

This stay was a gift from my son. I had no idea of what to expect. As a person that has to review everything online I was a little leery about all the negative feedback I saw. Upon our arrival/checking in we went to our room. The room was so hot that I mentioned this to the front desk. They immediately sent someone up to check on the room and the thermostat. We went back to the room and a nice maintenance man explained that they turn the heat on in the winter an hour before the guest arrive. I was so impressed with this because I always have to put the air or heat on at any other place I stay at. All weekend the front desk gave us lots of great advice to where to go and especially good eating restaurants. I now realize from the reviews that you can't always please everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueRiverside_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review - We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your gift!

We are very happy to know we exceeded your expectations. We understand and appreciate some guests may prefer a more standard experience at a large chain – However it is our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our independent, family resort. Thank you for the compliments on our service – We are very dedicated to the comfort of our guests, including such details as warming a room during the winter.

Thank you for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Had a great stay at the Meadowmere. Staff was friendly and made great suggestions on where to go sightseeing/restaurants Room was clean and nicely decorated. Good location - close to all. On premisis movie theatre was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shashi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review - We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

It is our pleasure to offer suggestions on the wonderful dining options in Ogunquit and to help you enjoy the many attractions in the area. We hope you saw one of our favorites – Marginal Way. Thank you for the compliments on our friendly service and location. With the beach, village center, Playhouse walking distance, we often hear how guests enjoy exploring Ogunquit. We thank you for letting us be a part of your great stay!

Thank you for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

I have stayed at the Meadowmere before. It was wonderful which is why I returned. I booked the room almost 3 months ago because I had tickets for a concert for Saturday. Deciding to make it a weekend was a win, win because of past experiences. However, The room was inside the front door and next to a stairway which every person staying upstairs had to use. Sleep was impossible. Using the pool was nice, yet there were never any towels. There were several times I approached the desk to ask for some, yet there was no one there. The room was cleaned as the garbage was emptied, yet no dirty glasses were collected and it was not vacummed. There were clean towels. I did fill out the card about the situation, but never know if anyone ever reads them. As a traveler that uses the same hotels that offer great service, I cannot say that I will return. Also, coming from an area that counts on returning guests because of tourism, I would hope that the hotel takes this survey seriously.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcsorley61733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Dear Guest

It is with our apologies to respond to your posting and we thank you for your business.

We are disappointed that our hotel did not meet your expectations for this most recent stay and we appreciate your concerns. Please know that your room is one of our most requested locations in the heart of the hotel. However, we certainly understand that preferences vary. Should you have alerted us to the difficulties during your stay, we would have been happy to have assisted you. Unfortunately, as we were unaware of your concerns until this review, the opportunity to provide you with a comfortable stay was not possible. We have however noted your preferences based on this review in the event of future stays with us.

We thank you for bringing the service in your room to our attention. We do take our comment cards seriously and are happy you shared more details here as the comment card from in room ranked housekeeping good to excellent and our front desk service as excellent across the board. This online review will certainly help us improve.

Should you have brought any of these items to our attention during your stay, we would have been happy to have helped you. We hope you find us again for accommodations in Ogunquit. Should you wish to discuss further, we welcome you to contact us.

Thank you for sharing your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

My husband and I recently celebrated our anniversary at Meadowmere as we do every year. This is our most favorite get-away facility. We have stayed here many times and have never had a complaint.
The staff at check-in are always welcoming and helpful. The facility on the whole is top notch in every respect and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Meadowmere to anyone. Try it and I'm sure you'll go back and make it one of your favorites as well.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceebee38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and for celebrating your anniversary with us!

We are so honored to be a part of such a special and personal celebration. It has been our pleasure to welcome you and thank you for the compliments on our service and on the care of our hotel. We often hear guests remark how each person here takes such care of the amenities, rooms and commons areas. We are so pleased to have you join us each year – thank you for letting us be a part of so many anniversary memories!

Thank you for recommending us and sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

I have been going to the Meadowmere for about 20 years. The services offered here are wonderful. From the minute you step into the Hotel until you leave the staff makes it a pleasant stay. The fact that they have everything on site is great. I have been there when it rains out with my family including children and we never left the place. They have a tv room where they shows movies twice a day, two pools a jacuzzi and roman tub to relax in. The gym is well equipped and you can get a good workout while away from home if you want. There is a pub connected to the buildings and it is nice to get some wine to relax with as well as enjoying the entertainment that they offer.

I highly recommend this place to visit as you will feel like a part of the family there.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmg41851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review - We are so happy to hear that you have been coming for so many years!

It has been our pleasure to welcome you and make you feel like family. Thank you for the compliments on our service and amenities. We often hear how guests arrive and spend the entire vacation nestled in hotel – for that reason, we know a cozy and friendly pub and fun activities like pools are guest favorites. We are so pleased to hear that the whole family has enjoyed – thank you for letting us be a part of so many vacation memories

Thank you for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,055 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
0.5 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowmere Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowmere Resort

Address: 74 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#15 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £73 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meadowmere Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin a tradition at The Meadowmere Resort, a family owned inn in the heart of Ogunquit. Relax with award winning amenities, great location, environmental excellence and every room choice to make your hotel stay special. Set on the Southern Coast of Maine and one hour away from Boston, the Meadowmere is a favorite Maine vacation resort for generations. Enjoy gourmet getaways, spa packages, Maine weddings, corporate meetings and year-round vacations in the heart of Ogunquit Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Meadowmere Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowmere Resort Ogunquit, Maine
Meadowmere Hotel Ogunquit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing