We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,152)
Filter reviews
1,153 results
Traveller rating
937
171
32
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
937
171
32
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarginal wayvictorian buildingsouth buildingperkins covemain propertydirect accessfire pitcontinental breakfastoff seasonogunquit beachview of the oceanhot plateseparate bedroomlow tidesmall kitchenettegranolaenjoy the view
Filter
Updating list...
1,014 - 1,019 of 1,153 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

An amazing property, lovely grounds, perfectly located right on the Marginal Way. Nasty cold wind driven rain has made outside activities difficult.

We are in the older part od the hotel, room 216, and wish we had gone to the newer rooms, especially since we've spent so much time in ours! The bath in 216 is quite tiny, with an angled small sink area outside of the bath itself.

It looks like the property went through an amazing transformation about 6 years ago, and from the outside, it was truly a remarkable design and integration of old and new. We do wish we had chosen one of the newer rooms.

However the furniture in our room is new, the bed and linens very comfy, and the breakfast goodies delicious and varied.

We did not like the glass door to the outer corridor. The mini blind still let in way too much light from the very bright exterior hall light. We had to rig a blanket over the door to darken the room somewhat.I would truly suggest a room darkening blind on both glass doors.

Great view of the whipped up surf from all of the balconies I'd imagine! We hope to be back in some more promising weather. We were treated to some champagne for out 35th anniversary, and we agreed if we had to choose great weather, better we had it for the actual wedding 35 years ago. Later we saw a bridal party at the Beachmere! I'm sure it was a great event regardless.it is warm and gracious service.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I just returned from a four night stay at the Beachmere, unit 223 west building. The location is outstanding with direct access to the marginal way, about a ten minute walk to Perkins Cove in one direction and Ogunquit beach in the other direction. It is also a very short walk from the property to the center of the village. Our room was very clean and modern, with a beautiful view of the ocean and tidal river. The Beachmere offers a continental breakfast every morning in the restaurant in the lobby, seating is limited and we brought ours back to the room. They even have kindles to loan to their guests, which I had never seen at a hotel. Overall the property is first rate and appears to be just a notch above it's neighbors, which all appeared to be very nice properties also. The only downside I can think of is there is no pool on property. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to others.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the west building
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pmso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

I don't know exactly how many years we've been coming to the Beachmere, but it's been quite a few. This year, my brother and sister-in-law joined us from Chicago -- she wanted to see the "real" Maine and I assured her that this is truly it. They enjoyed it so much, we've already booked for next year. What I really appreciate is coming back each year and finding even more upgrades and improvements from the last. The lemon poppyseed coffee cake was wonderful. Watching the fog burn off from the Beachmere's cliff overlooking the river and dramatic tide that Ogunquit is known for was a special treat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mytrips1817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

we stayed there for a long weekend recently and we were very happy with everything and everyone at the beachmere.
the place was awesome and we loved it from the minute we got there,checked in and got into our room........#219 was clean with a great view and nice balcony facing the courtyard,lawn and ocean......perfect!!!! a big bathroom with double sinks......very clean! a combo kitchen/living room with mini fridge,sink,dishes,silverware,4 chairs and a table to eat at...in the living room area a desk,a nice little couch and a comfy chair with a flat screen tv and dvd player......and in the bedroom a king bed with nightstands,lamps i-home clock radio and a large bureau with another flat screen tv!!!
can't say much more except i would go there anytime if i were in ogunquit..................
the only downside is that the summertime prices do go up a lot after memorial day. "location"....you can walk from there into the center of the town/village....or the other way to perkins cove area either direction in about 15 minutes. and the property is right on the marginal way walking path.........get to the edge of the property and your on it!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mytrips42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2011

Dear MyTrips42
Thank you for sharing your experiences here on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased you enjoyed the room (and it's amenities), the view, your time here at the Inn and our location on The Marginal Way. Sounds like you were really able to enjoy a long weekend away. Thank you, we appreciate your comments and look forward to your return. Sarah Diment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Our late April 2011 stay, the 16th year at the Beachmere, was again like coming home for a visit. Our favorite comfortable and spacious, kitchenette room on the second floor South building with wonderful porches, the incredibly friendly and accomodating staff, and the quiet atmosphere of the off-season complement the spectacular setting on the Marginal Way. We can only visit for a few days, but find the ambiance and charm of the Beachmere conducive to a restful, peaceful, secure getaway retreat that feels like a full vacation. Hospitality for Sarah and her staff does not seem like a job, but a ministry. We would not stay anywhere else!! Sister Joachim and friends

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SisterJoachim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2011

Dear Sister Joachim

Thank you for sharing your experiences with The Beachmere Inn here on TripAdvisor. Your like family to us ans we so appreciate your continued loyalty to the Inn. We're looking forward to your next visit... and thank you for your suggestions left on the guest form, we've already implemented a few! Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews