We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway”
Review of The Beachmere Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beachmere Inn
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 September 2011

My wife and I just got back from a getaway weekend, and I can't say enough good things about the beachmere. We stayed in room 35 in the victorian, and the view of the ocean was fantastic. There was a fireplace and a lovely kitchen area overlooking the ocean. It is literally a 50 foot walk to the marginal way to walk into Ogunquit or Perkins cove which made parking in either place unnecessary (big bonus). The scenery along the marginal way was beatiful, and there are places to stop and admire the view or walk in the surf. The room was impeccably clean and quiet. The staff was extremely accomodating with my 3 am arrival, and everything was just the way they said it would be. The breakfast was good as well. If I am ever back in Ogunquit, I will stay at the beachmere.

Room Tip: The victorian is extremely quiet with the best views from the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mousedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

In all the places we have stayed in Ogunquit ME this is by far our favorite! The staff is wonderful! No matter what the weather is you won't be disappointed. You have a "front row seat" to see the ocean and access the Marginal Way. You can walk to just about anywhere or take the trolley. The rooms are so great that we eat in half of the time we are here. But we won't tell you which room is our favorite. We have hooked several friends on the Beachmere! They wonder why they waited so long to try it. Thanks Beachmere!

Room Tip: We go for the view so check out the website. It's user friendly and you will see pictures of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We have stayed here twice now and plan to keep coming back. The rooms are clean and well appointed, the staff are great, and the location can't be beat. The resort is right on the Marginal Way and is centrally located within walking distance of all the shopping and dining in Ogunquit. The breakfast leaves a little to be desired, but I have yet to find a hotel breakfast that was worth the effort.
All of the staff are friendly and helpful. The prices are reasonable. We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Dear Molly06 -
Thank you for your comments here on TripAdvisor. I pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our rooms and location to everything in Ogunquit. Our team goes out of their way to try and be helpful and friendly and it obviously showed during your visit. We hope you can return to stay with us soon, we're open year round if you want to try snowshoeing in the winter on the Marginal Way. PS... The Front Porch stays open year round as well! Enjoy fall, we look forward to seeing you again.
Sarah Diment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We brought 13 college friends to the Beachmere and all of them commented on the beauty of the location and the customer service ethic. All the rooms had a great view and were well maintained. The Beachmere is right on the Marginal way within a short walking distance to downtown Ogunquit and Perkins Cove. While we waited for our friends to arrive we listened to the front desk handle several challenges, always smiling and positive in manner. When our group returned late one night from dinner the bartender opened the small bar area for us so we could visit. Sarah, the owner checked with all of us every day to ensure that there were no issues and to find out where we had gone for dinner the night before. We will be back!

Room Tip: There are suites with a living area and regular rooms, both have a great view of the Marginal way an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Dear Lee E -

I have to first say that I so enjoyed meeting you all! What a nice group of college friends to travel with! I hope someday you decide to all come back to visit us, we'd welcome you anytime! Thanks so much for your review on TA as your comments will surely be helpful someone who is using TA to research Ogunquit accommodations. I'm glad to hear our location made it easy for everyone to walk to all the fun locations here in town! Vacations always prove to be "challenging" in some aspect of travel and we think our team really does try to provide hospitality with a heart when issues arise. Thanks for noticing their efforts! Again, we hope to see you back in Maine someday soon. In the meantime, have fun planning the next trip with the group!
Sarah Diment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This is our 10th year in a row coming to The Beachmere. We have always stayed in the Victorian and love it there. The rooms in which we have stayed have all had magnificent views. The rooms themselves have been upgraded in various ways, are well appointed, and very clean. The staff has always been very helpful and friendly.
Breakfast is an extensive Continental type and if you are there when Dolores is the hostess, you will enjoy it even more! The Inn is right on the Marginal Way, a mile long walk along the ocean which leads to Perkins Cove. Simply gorgeous! Other amenities include a Hot Tub, Sauna and Exercise Room.
In the 10 years we have been coming to the Beachmere, we have seen all of the additions and reconstructions that have taken place. All of these changes have made the Beachmere a much more comfortable and really beautiful experience! The Victorian's new entrance with its three level hallway, is something to see. There is even a slightly temperamental elevator which goes with the charm of this magnificent older building. Bottom line is, if you are going to Ogunquit, Maine, you deserve the Beachmere Inn!

Room Tip: For best room selection, call January 2nd for reservations for the following year. It's that pop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Dear Gerald S - Congrats on your 10th anniversary of staying with us! We appreciate your continued visits and look forward to your next stay. I appreciate your sharing your tips and experiences here at the Inn (even LuLa our temperamental elevator in the Victorian - she hasn't failed us ever!!), something that will be helpful for those using TA to research where to stay in town. We look forward to your return and in the mean time, enjoy fall and winter well!
Sarah Diment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This was our first stay at the Beachmere Inn and we definitely plan to return. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the suite. Janet did an outstanding job. Unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate so we couldn't enjoy the grounds, but we managed to visit with Scott the bartender at the pub and would highly recommend it for lunch or a light dinner. The continental breakfast was nice. My only complaint is no skim milk for my cereal! (Next year I plan to bring my own.) We found the staff to be very friendly and accomodating. I would highly recommend the new (2009) wing with all the comforts of home, including wireless access at no additional charge! It's nice being right on the Marginal Way and still close enough to the Main Street shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LovestoTravel41543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Dear LovestoTravel41543 -
Thank you for your comments here on TripAdvisor. As a new guest to our Inn, I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed the west suites and the pub with Scott even if the weather wasn't cooperating. We hope to see you back in Ogunquit Maine and at our Inn someday soon.
Sarah Diment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Of all the Marginal Way resorts, the Beachmere is, without a doubt, #1. With its huge sweeping, manicured lawn, comfy chaise lounges, umbrellas to shade you, the pub for a refreshing beverage (!) which can be brought out onto the lawn (and the ONLY alcoholic beverages that are allowed on the lawn can be procured at the pub), the best views, instant access to "the Way," its coastline beach, sunrise yoga -- the Beachmere has it all. Also, their remarkably complete website does show "last minute availabilities." We grabbed a small room in the Victorian section of the resort, at the last minute, for one night;while the room was VERY small (better for one person than two, but then again, my husband and I prefer spacious over cozy; honeymooners might think a double bed is still fun!), we had a fabulous time. It had a terrific deck! We plan to return, hopefully over the next 3 seasons, and then again, next summer. The best part of the Beachmere is that you're far from the madding crowds of Main Street!!

Room Tip: Use the website! Every room is pictured - a tremendous help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelerfromWinthrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Dear TravelerfromWinthrop -
Thank you for your review and five star rating here on TA! We hope to see you back in Ogunquit during the coming seasons and we'll make sure to get you a larger room for your visit (however, glad we could squeeze you in last min!) Did you take a Yoga class while here??... guests have been loving the early morning yoga on the lawn and we'll be offering it again next summer. We look forward to your return in our quiet little corner of Ogunquit.
Sarah Diment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,050 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
586 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachmere Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachmere Inn

Address: 62 Beachmere Ln, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £68 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachmere Inn is an oceanfront Victorian inn & hotel offering spectacular ocean view accommodations. It's been family-owned and operated since 1937. Accommodations include a variety of rooms and 1 bedroom suites, all with kitchenettes and some with wood & gas fireplaces. Enjoy two massage treatment rooms (couples and single treatments offered), Bistro, hot tub and exercise room. The ocean views are simply fantastic from your room or from the expansive lawn. Direct access to the Marginal Way ocean footpath and our little sandy beach during low tide. Park your car and forget it, you can walk to everything in Ogunquit. Open year round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Ogunquit
The Beachmere Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing