We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fall getaway”
Review of The Beachmere Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beachmere Inn
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fall getaway”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We booked a "Fall Fine Dining" package for a Saturday-Monday stay. The package included a bottle of red or white wine in our room at check-in, premium lodgings with a gorgeous view of the ocean and lawn, and a full dinner at Clay Hill Farm, an elegant nearby restaurant. The whole package came in at just over $400, and we felt we got every cent's worth. The Beachmere is beautiful any time of year, but in fall, there's the added benefit of having the inn (to say nothing of the beach and surrounding area) practically to oneself. We had a clean, nicely-appointed suite with a kitchenette, living room, balcony and a king bed in a separate bedroom -- which also featured a large closet and an iPod-docking clock radio. The radio migrated out to the living room for the duration of our stay and turned out to be an unexpectedly nice feature. Upon check-in, we discovered that the radio was defective, but one quick call to the front desk resulted in a replacement being delivered immediately. Service was generally cheerful and thoughtful, and while we had no other concerns, I got the impression they would have been handled just as graciously. Everything was sparkling clean, simple and attractive in design, and felt brand-new. The bed was super-comfortable (though, as has been pointed out in another review, the couch was maybe a bit less so). We spent a lot of time sipping wine and relaxing out on the balcony thanks to an unseasonably warm November, and did a lot of beach-walking, exploring Perkins Cove via the Marginal Way, and enjoying the charms of Ogunquit in the off-season. We also enjoyed the hot tub and sauna, and found the light complimentary breakfast perfectly satisfying if not all that unusual. (In addition to the usual hot/cold cereals, fruit, breads and beverages, there were pastries from, presumably, a local shop... but we didn't try them, so I can't comment.) We would definitely recommend the Beachmere, and will hopefully be back next fall to turn this visit into an annual tradition!

Room Tip: We stayed in a second-floor room facing the ocean, in the corner where the West building meets South...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aardvark70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    160
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
229
537
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northwood, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We booked The Beachmere Inn for our wedding ceremony on 10/08/2011. We had an incredibly beautiful day by the ocean. Our guests could not stop commenting on the gorgeous grounds and the ocean view. Kim Rocray, the event coordinator at The Beachmere, is nothing short of a miracle worker (she was given short notice) and she made our perfect day simply spectacular. She was available to answer all our questions promptly. We had a small guest list but we never felt as if she did not have time for us because this was a small wedding. Kim made sure we had a rain contingency in place (thankfully, we did not need it!) and she was on the grounds and available on our wedding day, making sure our day ran smoothly. She also provided us with a list of referrals for other services to make our day better. We did take advantage of the limo referral which was money well-spent since it was a crowded holiday weekend in Ogunquit. We will be back to The Beachmere Inn soon and would highly recommend this venue for any special occasion or just a nice getaway. Kim and all the staff at The Beachmere...YOU ROCK!!!! Thanks, Maria & Kathy

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptmd2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Spent many summers here as a family before the latest addition. Looking for a get away weekend, decided to return. Staff and accommodations were superb and the views can't be beat. Looking to make the Veteran's Day weekend an annual get-away.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We spent the Veterans Day Weekend at the Beachmere inn with our family celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary. It was our first overnight stay in several years in as much as my husband who has MS now needs a Hoyer lift to transfer from his wheelchair. Although many places have HC rooms, they are not always designed to fully accommodate disabled needs. This is not the case with Beachmere. The room was open and spacious and maneuvering a wheelchair and a Hoyer lift was a breeze. There was a large wheelchair shower and room under the sink for a shower chair (which we also brought with us). We had a magnificent view of the ocean and look forward to a return visit in warmer weather when we can sit on the deck. Great place. Great Service. Highly Recommend.

Room Tip: We looked at another HC room with a roll-in shower which was much smaller and half the price. No oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Spent our 12th anniversary at the Beachmere Inn over Veterans Day weekend. The view is spectacular and the suite we stayed in was big and roomy. The king size bed was very comfortable and the radiant heated floor in the bathroom was fabulous!! The one down side for us was the living room furniture, very uncomfortable for watching television. Overall, a good experience, would love to go back in the summer with our kids.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We booked a suite in December for the last 2 years. Beautiful Ocean view and a gas fireplace that really gave it that romantic feeling we were looking for. The snow fell and the sea was just magnificent. The bathroom had 2 sinks and heated floors just like at home. The staff were freindly and knew what was open in the off season and it was a lot more than we expected. We saw the Portland Symphony's Christmas show and the Nutcracker in Portsmouth. A wonderful little winter escape.

Room Tip: The new addition was fabulous and was close to the pool and gym. Direct view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canddlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We have stayed at the Beachmere now 11 years.It is the best palce to stay.The grounds are beatiful, the staff is always friendly.We have never had a problem. Its close to downtown,great places to eat and shop.But the best thimg is the view you have of the ocean when you wake up in the morning.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms at the victorian with the fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,018 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
312 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachmere Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachmere Inn

Property: The Beachmere Inn
Address: 62 Beachmere Ln, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachmere Inn is an oceanfront Victorian inn & hotel offering spectacular ocean view accommodations. It's been family-owned and operated since 1937. Accommodations include a variety of rooms and 1 bedroom suites, all with kitchenettes and some with wood & gas fireplaces. Enjoy two massage treatment rooms (couples and single treatments offered), Bistro, hot tub and exercise room. The ocean views are simply fantastic from your room or from the expansive lawn. Direct access to the Marginal Way ocean footpath and our little sandy beach during low tide. Park your car and forget it, you can walk to everything in Ogunquit. Open year round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Ogunquit
The Beachmere Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing