We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great end to my Maine vacation”
Review of The Beachmere Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beachmere Inn
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great end to my Maine vacation”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here our last night on a week vacation in Maine seeing my daughter graduated from Colby College. The room had a beautiful view (sunrise and sunset) and there was a great walking path along the ocean front. The front desk staff were very helpful. This is why people love to vacation in Maine. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Victorian downstairs. I can't imagine any room being less than fabulous at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    162
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
234
540
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alsip, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed at the Beachmere the first week in June. We were greated by Jamie at the reception desk who was great with tips on where to get a meal and watch the Blackhawks game (even though we were in Bruin territory). After we were in our room she called to let us know what station the game was on. The room was very nice and very clean. The view was spectacular. The next morning we met Betty and Dolores who were serving the continental breakfast, which was a very nice variety. Dolores gave us a history lesson on the area and surrounding towns. The next day, we took her advice and visited Kennebunkport and York. It was a lovely drive with great sites and views. Our first morning there, it was in the 80's so we decided to go down to the beach. We didn't have our own beach chairs, but after a quick call to the front desk, housekeeping was knocking on our door with chairs we could borrow. Just every little detail was aimed at making our stay comfortable and pleasant. I hope to visit the Beachmere again.

Room Tip: We had room 118. It had a beautiful view of the ocean!
See more room tips
Green Features: They use solar panels to heat their water. ENERGY STAR kitchen appliances Low chemical gardening Tracks energy use Water-efficient bathroom fixtures Energy-saving lighting controls Energy-efficient lightbulbs
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Margie F

Thanks for your review and posting all your photos on TA. I know how much people enjoy "seeing" what other guests experience while they are here with us and in Ogunquit! Great hockey series, and even though I'm a Bruins fan, I have to say the Blackhawks did a great job and played well to win the Cup! Congrats to them and their fans!!

Deloris is such a gem. She has been with us over 15 years and many of the children here think of her as their grandmother in residence. She is a treasure trove of local knowledge and loves to share and make recommendations. I'm happy to hear that our service, warm welcomes and attention to details made your stay comfortable and pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn in the near future. Have a great summer.

Sarah Diment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester, nh
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

What a treasure! My husband, two kids--ages 14 and 11 stayed here Father's Day weekend. We stayed in the West Building. A deck off of our room with view of the ocean was wonderful. You could watch the sun rise over the ocean from inside our room, our deck or the bench outside the inn's gate on Marginal Way. Here, you access the rocky steps down to a little beach area (while the tide is out) or walk along Marginal Way--a few minutes to boat rides and shops at Perkins Cove. The walk across the lawn to the gate is not designed for wheelchairs, and the Marginal Way can be narrow at some locations. The view down to the ocean and the fragrant flowers is an artist's dream!
Our room had a day and trundle bed for the kids, king bed for us. We slept comfortably. The kids also had a dvd player, and the kitchenette was very convenient. Nice counter space in the bathroom. The place is immaculate! We would have loved it if this room had the master bedroom near the ocean, just to hear the waves at night.
Complimentary continental breakfast was disappointing. The fruit salad did not look tempting at all and the blueberry morning cake tasted like a mouthful of sugar. The kids were hoping for a belgium waffle maker, typical of most of the basic hotels, but none here.
Two additional comments: The staff here are wonderful! When we checked out, we were able to leave our vehicle in the parking lot, use a temporary gate key to access Marginal Way, until we returned later in the day--very nice :-) And, to access our room, we did need to use an outer deck to enter our room. For colder months, this may be difficult for elderly.
Be wary of local restaurants for decent breakfasts, they are way over priced. If you can wait until lunch, it is worth it.
This is a beautiful place to stay and we would love to return. Thank you Beachmere!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PattiandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Three of my friends and I had a wonderful time at the Beachmere, even though we were there for those first hot days of June! I've been many times but it was a first for them. We drove to Kennebunkport one day, but stayed in Ogunquit the rest of the time, walking the Marginal Way twice, shopping in town and at Perkins' Cove, walking in the low tide shallows at the beach, enjoying local lobster, steamers, and ice cream! The view is so beautiful and peaceful, just what we needed. The set-up in the new section was perfect for our evening card games, four chairs around the table-with-a-view. The included breakfasts were a sweet surprise, and we had lunch and cocktails twice in the "pub." Excellent food and service! The property is so well-maintained, the gardens enchanting. This is a perfect spot for restorative R & R!

Green Features: Recycling is big here, and you have the choice of new towels every day or not. Because of the 90-plus heat, we got new ones from extra showers needed.
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quinngrasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear quinngrasso

Thank you for your review on TA! It sounds like you and your friends found the time to experience the best of our area. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed our home baked continental breakfast and service in the pub. I hope you all got to sit around the fire pit for drinks and ocean views. Please come back for more R & R when you and your friends are ready for another Ogunquit fix.

Sarah DIment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We recently stayed at the Beachmere Inn in Room 35 of the Victorian. The facility and staff were everything we could ask for. The room with its turret overlooking the shore and the Marginal Way was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful at all times. We hope to come back.

Room Tip: Check the room descriptions on the Inn's web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10880ztc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My sister-in-law and brother-in-law and I spent a wonderful three days at the Beachmere Inn from May 30 to June 2, 2013. We stayed in the Victorian building in rooms 20 and 28 during what has to be the hottest May I have ever experienced in Maine. We were very pleased with our rooms. The rooms were spotless on checkin and ready for us on time. The beds were very comfortable, The air conditioning worked well. The kitchenettes had everything you could possibly need (right down to the wine opener). The grounds are beautiful. The staff that we dealt with during our stay (Tom, Gerry, Carole and Aaron) were outgoing, professional and friendly people who seem enormously proud of Beachmere. We hated to leave. We did, however, reserve our rooms for next spring before we left!

Room Tip: We loved the Victorian bulding. Rooms are differing sizes, quirky, with beautiful vistas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

With sublime views, fabulous location, top-notch service and outstanding accommodations, the Beachmere Inn was the perfect place to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary in Ogunquit. The staff left us a celebratory bottle of wine and were quick to offer anything additional we needed, along with great suggestions for places to dine and shop. You can't beat the location of the Beachmere Inn. It's easy walking distance to all the shops in town, and right on the beautiful Marginal Way walking path with such breathtaking views, we just had to stop and sit on a bench or two and soak it all in along the way. We stayed in Room #23 in the Victorian Building and it was just perfect in every way. Had a comfy bed, nice kitchenette and a balcony with a view that made my jaw drop. Fresh ocean breezes flowed through our open windows and the sunrise from our balcony was most memorable. When we mentioned to the man at the front desk that we wished we could cook some lobster, he quickly offered that the convection stove in our room would work great and that they'd gladly provide the lobster pot and crackers! So my chef husband boiled up some lobsters for us and it was just over the top awesome to eat fresh lobster overlooking the ocean from our balcony. We loved experiencing high tide and low tide, as its such a dramatic difference between the two there in Ogunquit. The waves crash against the rocky coast at high tide and its quite spectacular, but then at low tide, a beautiful sandy shore is revealed and you can walk all around and explore and romp in the waves. Continental breakfast at the Beachmere Inn was fresh, delicious and plentiful with terrific coffee. Staff was friendly and attentive in every way. Our stay at the Beachmere Inn was nothing less than enchanting and unforgettable!

Room Tip: I don't beleive you could go wrong with ANY room at this Inn. We were in the Victorian building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,025 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#24 of 36 in Ogunquit
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachmere Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachmere Inn

Property: The Beachmere Inn
Address: 62 Beachmere Ln, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachmere Inn is an oceanfront Victorian inn & hotel offering spectacular ocean view accommodations. It's been family-owned and operated since 1937. Accommodations include a variety of rooms and 1 bedroom suites, all with kitchenettes and some with wood & gas fireplaces. Enjoy two massage treatment rooms (couples and single treatments offered), Bistro, hot tub and exercise room. The ocean views are simply fantastic from your room or from the expansive lawn. Direct access to the Marginal Way ocean footpath and our little sandy beach during low tide. Park your car and forget it, you can walk to everything in Ogunquit. Open year round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Ogunquit
The Beachmere Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing