We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return”
Review of The Beachmere Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beachmere Inn
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Positive:
Updated and attractive room (115). Very comfortable and clean. Nice views, and close to everything. You can walk to public beach, drive, or take the trolley. You can do nothing at all and be very comfortable.
Negative:
I really can't think of anything negative except that it's not directly on the beach. It's ok though, you have a fantastic lawn. You can watch the tide go in and out. If you want the beach, it's not too far.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Marie S

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the updates to your room. New bedding, a bathroom revamp along with new color schemes have really worked well in these rooms. I'm glad to hear you were comfortable and that the views were enjoyed. Our own little beach, in front of the Inn, is unfortunately subject to the ocean tides. Low tide reveals nice sand with the ability to walk to the other little beaches for a sandy stroll, however high tide hides that and reveals a rocky coastline. Both are fun to explore. We hope to see you again at the Inn and until then, winter well!

Sarah Diment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,016)
There are newer reviews for The Beachmere Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times and it is always a wonderful stay. The Victorian has many rooms all of which are uniquely different and some have fantastic views of the ocean while others have decks with views of the beach and the marginal way. Each room has a kitchenette with everything you need to cook a meal. You can't beat waking up to the waves crashing on the rocks below. They have a very nice continental breakfast, which by the way serves fresh Congdon's donuts which are easily the best donuts around.

Room Tip: rooms in the Victorian building are closest to the ocean
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NFD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear NFD4
Thank you for your comments on our Inn here on TripAdvisor. It's always nice to welcome back a guests and we look forward to your return. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your room this year and that you we're able to partake in the Congdon's Donuts that we serve several times a week. This is by far our guests favorite indulgence! We look forward to seeing you back at the Inn in the future.

Sarah Diment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife and I just returned from a four day stay at The Beachmere Inn, and I must say, this is one of the nicest inn's we have ever visited. There are several buildings on the property, our's being The Victorian Inn, a marvelously renovated one hundred year old structure nestled on the coast and surrounded by splendid gardens and lawns, boasting spectacular views of the water. Our room was spacious, airy, and beautifully appointed. Above all else, this inn exuded class, but was never stuffy. Too, the local dining and shopping is beyond compare. I would recommend The Beachmere without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Perry B

Thank you for your comments. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will hopefully see you again! The Victorian is probably the most popular building for the couples who visit us, with rooms offering miles of coastline tidal action and private decks. We try and make the atmosphere private yet part of your home away from home, making sure we exceed expectations for our guests. I hope you won't have to wait too long to return to Maine, whether that be Ogunquit or further north.

Sarah Diment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The Beachmere Inn is the go to place in Ogunquit. We have been visiting Ogunquit for over 20 years and it is the first time we stayed at the Beachmere. Since we were travelling with young kids, it has a safe area for them to play. The view from the rooms is spectacular - ocean views. Included in your stay is a breakfast with foods to please everyone. I'm glad we stayed there and we will return for sure.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank LHF430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear LHF430

Thank you for your comments here on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sure over the 20years or so, you've walked by us when out on The Marginal Way and thought about giving us a try. I'm pleased you found the lawn a safe roaming space for your kids. The fence and the hedge along MWay provides a barrier and safety net to allow them to roam a bit while you watch them from the comfort of your deck. I'm also pleased you found our breakfast could meet the needs of your family. Liz bakes such a wonderful variety of breads, muffins and cakes (today's apple cake was out of this world) for fresh offerings for our guests. We look forward to your return!

Sarah Diment


The Beachmere Inn is the go to place in Ogunquit. We have been visiting Ogunquit for over 20 years and it is the first time we stayed at the Beachmere. Since we were travelling with young kids, it has a safe area for them to play. The view from the rooms is spectacular - ocean views. Included in your stay is a breakfast with foods to please everyone. I'm glad we stayed there and we will return for sure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We spent three nights at the Beachmere last week, and we had a wonderful time! This was our third visit, and we were not disappointed. We stayed in Room 117, and were really happy with our choice. The view from the balcony was lovely, and we left the french door open to enjoy the relaxing sound of the ocean. We loved using the fireplace, as the evenings were cool. The staff was friendly and helpful, and we can't wait to make a return trip!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MindyK07076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We loved our stay. Our room was very nice and felt homey. The fireplace is a nice added addition. The views from the Victoria house were amazing.It was our first trip to the area and we were concerned about walking distance to the town area and Perkins cove. It was an easy walkable distance to both. Marginal way was right out in front of the inn and was easy to access. The staff was terrific and so friendly. I really believe it was the nicest place in town. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Victoria house rm 17. We faced the ocean, middle floor. Could hear people walking...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidirirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here for three days for our wedding anniversary. Stayed in the Victorian room 24. What a beautiful room and view. Grounds are lovely and continental breakfast was great
Wonderful staff and we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,036 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#25 of 36 in Ogunquit
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachmere Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachmere Inn

Address: 62 Beachmere Ln, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £67 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachmere Inn is an oceanfront Victorian inn & hotel offering spectacular ocean view accommodations. It's been family-owned and operated since 1937. Accommodations include a variety of rooms and 1 bedroom suites, all with kitchenettes and some with wood & gas fireplaces. Enjoy two massage treatment rooms (couples and single treatments offered), Bistro, hot tub and exercise room. The ocean views are simply fantastic from your room or from the expansive lawn. Direct access to the Marginal Way ocean footpath and our little sandy beach during low tide. Park your car and forget it, you can walk to everything in Ogunquit. Open year round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Ogunquit
The Beachmere Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing