We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another pleasurable stay”
Review of The Beachmere Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beachmere Inn
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is our second stay at the Beachmere and, again, a very pleasant stay. We have stayed in the same room each time. This is a very nice, quiet place to spend your time while in Ogunquit. The accommodations have been excellent in every way. Each morning there is a nice buffet breakfast with a rotating variety of offerings. Also, a nice jacuzzi for after a long day of cycling. Quite simply, our favorite place to stay in Ogunquit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank holcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

After a rough year to date, I was looking for a place by the beach to relax. WOW! Did the Beachmere fit the bill to a T! The location right on the ocean was fabulous - and the lounge chairs on the lawn of the hotel were a great touch. The view from the balcony was stunning, and we spent a lot of time out there. The Marginal Way entrance was just outside the hotel and was a beautiful way to begin the day, watching the sunrise, before the path got busy. The suite itself (Rm 217) was incredibly spacious and CLEAN. Lots of space to unpack & hang clothing, and a LARGE 2-sink bathroom & spa shower were extra touches you don't get everywhere! Everything you want or need is within walking distance (shops, restaurants, market), but other attractions just are a short drive. Being able to sit on the lawn for the fireworks was great, and about 5 other towns had theirs the same evening & we were able to enjoy those as well while sitting & waiting for Ogunquit's to begin. Even though the hotel was full, it was never overcrowded. Staff was gracious and helpful. All in all, the trip was phenomenal. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Suite 217 in Beachmere West fit the bill in every way for 2 friends sharing some needed time away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KarenMF2406JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If I were to go to Maine again, Ogunquit would be on my list as places to visit and I would stay at the Beachmere. To me the Beachmere offers the true New England coastal experience. I could easily see the Rockefellers, Kennedys staying at this beautiful old hotel. It's view is magnificent, it's location on the Marginal Way is wonderful and the proximity to Perkins Cove is convenient.
This is the type place you drive past and say, I wonder who stays there. You owe it to yourself to visit.
I have only stayed in the actual hotel itself so cannot speak for the motel of other properties. It does not offer a flat screen TV in every room, nor the biggest king size bed in Maine. What it does offer is a visit to the gracious living of an era gone by when you visited in a tea room or enjoyed serenity on the veranda. I hope the Beachmere lasts until I can visit Ogunquit once again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our first trip to Maine and it couldn't have been more perfect. The Beachmere was beautiful and the staff was very accommodating. We had a wonderful room where we enjoyed spectacular ocean views. It was also nice to have the complimentary continental breakfast (quite ample I might add) in the morning before we took off for the day. The trip was a great way to continue celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary. To top it all off, the weather was perfect! Needless to say, we booked next year's trip.

Sally W

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

As we have experienced before, Beachmere is quite wonderful. We didn't get to use our deck/balcony as much as we had rain in three of our four afternoons. The staff is always very nice, from the front desk to the breakfast prep crew, to housekeeping to maintenance. If I had a complaint, the Wi-Fi was flaky one night, but I had good signal to the room. I called the front desk who was also having issues (they even re-booted the router). I asked who their ISP was, and told Comcast. Ahhhh there's a weak link. Sadly, Beachmere will have to hold Comcast and their tech(s) feet to the fire to correct this (I'm guessing it could be as simple as a fitting or tap). Anyway...... We booked for next year, too.

Room Tip: Get a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

What a lovely hotel in a great location. This was our first time to Maine and our family of four thoroughly enjoyed it. We had an ocean view room in Beachmere West with a balcony overlooking the ocean. The staff was friendly and very accommodating to our two five year olds. The complimentary continental breakfast was very good, and the bistro was great for lunch and dinner. Service was excellent. It was also really nice to not have to leave the hotel, but if you want to, Perkins cove is down the road and Wells is in the other direction. The kids enjoyed the small beach area right off Marginal Way. A morning stroll on Marginal Way is the best way to start the day. They also enjoyed the small play room and the hot tub. This was perfect for us because we just wanted to get away from it all and relax. (There are other places to stay in Wells where you can be on the big beach, but we weren't interested in that.) Before I left, I booked next year's trip--this time in Beachmere South. Part of me didn't want to write this review because I don't want other people to know about this place--I'd like to keep it a secret.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Beachmere Inn is a wonderful place to stay! The rooms are clean. The views are just beautiful! The staff is warm and friendly! A wonderful place to spend our 37 Wedding Anniversary!
It was so has to leave....

Room Tip: Room 007 had 2 sliding doors for a beautiful croos breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dotttie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
367 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.4 mi away
Norseman Resort
Norseman Resort
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachmere Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachmere Inn

Address: 62 Beachmere Ln, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £64 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachmere Inn is an oceanfront Victorian inn & hotel offering spectacular ocean view accommodations. It's been family-owned and operated since 1937. Accommodations include a variety of rooms and 1 bedroom suites, all with kitchenettes and some with wood & gas fireplaces. Enjoy two massage treatment rooms (couples and single treatments offered), Bistro, hot tub and exercise room. The ocean views are simply fantastic from your room or from the expansive lawn. Direct access to the Marginal Way ocean footpath and our little sandy beach during low tide. Park your car and forget it, you can walk to everything in Ogunquit. Open year round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Ogunquit
The Beachmere Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing