We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true hidden gem. A place everyone should visit!”
Review of The Beachmere Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beachmere Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 November 2010

The Beachmere Inn exceded my fiance and myself expectations. We hadnt been able to get away for many mini getaways or vacations, so when we do get the chance we want it to be good. No one we knew had been to the Beachmere Inn, however family told us that Ogunquit Maine was beautiful and a perfect spot for us. So I ventured to google and did some research to find my future favorite place, The Beachmere Inn.
This place is everything you hope for it to be. The staff are so nice, the views.. you CANNOT AND WILL NOT find any other place with these amazing views, the rooms are so adorable.. I dont even think the pictures on their webpage do them justice because everything is just so cute, comfortable, romantic, perfect. Not to mention the location, the walk on the Marginal way is awesome, your right near the down town happenings and restaurants but far enough away to relax. The Beachmere is an elegant, classy, picture perfect spot for just about anyone. Its an ideal place for familys, romantic getaways for couples, weddings, etc.
I HIGHLY recommend the Beachmere Inn and will continue to rave about this hidden gem. I love the Beachmere in that my fiance and I have discussed having our wedding there and making The Beachmere in "our place to go" forever.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nkpelchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

938 - 944 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2010

There's a reason that the Beachmere is the #1 hotel in Ogunquit on Trip Advisor -- it's simply the best. The rooms, the view, the ambience -- we just loved our second floor room in the Victorian House, with an oceanfront balcony, and the nice bright sand and ocean colors. The newly renovated or added breakfast room is also very inviting and accommodating in the morning. Don't know what else I can add to all the wonderful comments already presented below.

This was not our first time in Ogunquit (had been there many years ago) -- but it was our first visit to the Beachmere -- and it won't be our last. We are already planning a return visit with our friends (right here in our own church) who introduced us to this heavenly place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weston66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

My husband and I spent several days in Ogunquit in late Sept and decided to splurge a bit and stay at the Beachmere. Great decision! Room 18 was a little costly for us, but well worth the money. It was like a little apartment, gave us some room to relax. Very open feeling, with an ocean view and 2 small decks (unfortunately, it rained for our entire trip so we never go to sit outside and enjoy the view) along with a small kitchenette. Older but very clean. Nice friendly staff. The continental breakfast was a nice way to start the day - and the homemade granola and pastries were excellent! Close enough for brisk walk along Marginal Way into town for some browsing, shopping and more excellent pastries from Bread & Roses and mighty good snacks from the Village Market. If we are able to go back next Fall, we're going to the Beachmere!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelterDogMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

When we called to book a room at the Beachmere, the only availability was at a property called The Bullfrog, which we were told was a part of the Beachmere, and was only a 5 or 10 minute walk from the main property, and we could use all of the amenities at the main property. Upon arrival we were disappointed as soon as we pulled up to the Bullfrog which looks to be either an older house or farmhouse. To be brief, if we had seen the accommodations beforehand, we would never have booked it. The photos on the website do not convey what the rooms are really like. The bathroom fixtures, stove, windows and blinds are old, and some of the blinds were not long enough to completely cover the windows and most of them were filthy. The only air conditioner was mounted high on the wall with a sign that said you had to call maintenance to change the temperature setting.

On the plus side, everything that had to do with the main property and amenities’ including service was excellent. The included continental breakfast each morning was very good. Relaxing on the lawn in one of the comfortable lawn chairs with a terrific view of the ocean was beautiful and the location is great. The front desk and all employees were friendly and helpful. If we return to Ogunquit in the future we would certainly stay there on the main property and would recommend that to anyone. However unless there is a major refurbishing done, we could not recommend The Bull Frog.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pcala47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Love Ogunquit, and loved The Beachmere. Room 220 was great – a little home away from home. Big comfy bed in the separate bedroom, kitchen had a microwave, a single hot plate and a good size fridge, excellent for throwing together salads and wraps for lunch or picnics. It has a good sized sitting area with a small dining table and chairs in the bay window, and a nice little balcony for taking in the lawn and ocean views. (One odd thing – the TV in the sitting room is too high on the wall – closer to the ceiling and neck-ache inducing!) At the bottom of the lawn the gates open directly onto Marginal Way and over the rocks there is a tiny beach to soak up the sun, and its quick access to a swim. The walk to Perkins Cove shops and restaurants is beautiful and of course, in the opposite direction, the centre of lovely Ogunquit is close by.

The complimentary continental breakfast was plentiful and constantly refreshed. I enjoyed having the small fitness room to myself and in addition there is a handy computer in the lobby for guests to use. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

The Beachmere Inn is heaven on earth. I have been traveling to Ogunquit, Maine since I was a child, and now I always stay at the Beachmere. First of all, the view is magnificent. The beautiful Atlantic ocean crashes up to the shore off the famous Marginal Way and the lawn expands to the shore where a chaise lounge and cold glass of wine complete the beauty of the moment. The location of the Beachmere is ideal as it sits between the town of Ogunquit and Ogunquit Beach, and Perkins Cove. One can walk everywhere or hop a trolley (in season); we seldom used the car. The newly renovated rooms are decorated in sand and ocean colours, very soothing and tasteful. The new bar is terrific and light fare can be ordered, quite delicous. Finally, the owners and staff at the Beachmere are very courteous, relaxed and friendly.
I am planning a renewal of wedding vows at this beautiful place by the sea...as my husband fell in love with Ogunquit and the Beachmere. He can't wait to go back!

Katie Moyer - Mississauga, Ontario

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

It has been over 13 years since we have been back to Ogunquit. Our 2 boys were just babies when we first found the Beachmere. Back then it was only the Victorian house and the motel with a little cottage on the property as well. Not anymore! The property is now a beautifully crafted luxurious escape by the sea. By far the most upscale of all the beach front properties. Our suite was brand new and in pristine condition. The view from every window is spectacular. And, although our children are grown and it is bittersweet to look out over the front lawn and not see them flying their kites or playing catch, our visit to the newly renovated Beachmere has become, again, one of the best get-aways we have had. Make your reservation way in advance as this hotel is not a secret anymore!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loryn111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,064 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachmere Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachmere Inn

Address: 62 Beachmere Ln, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £67 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachmere Inn is an oceanfront Victorian inn & hotel offering spectacular ocean view accommodations. It's been family-owned and operated since 1937. Accommodations include a variety of rooms and 1 bedroom suites, all with kitchenettes and some with wood & gas fireplaces. Enjoy two massage treatment rooms (couples and single treatments offered), Bistro, hot tub and exercise room. The ocean views are simply fantastic from your room or from the expansive lawn. Direct access to the Marginal Way ocean footpath and our little sandy beach during low tide. Park your car and forget it, you can walk to everything in Ogunquit. Open year round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Ogunquit
The Beachmere Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing