We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dunes on the Waterfront
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just arrived back in the UK from Maine and can honestly say that this is a great place to stay. The cabin we stayed in for three nights had a great view of the sea and for the two of us was cosy and well equipped. The staff were friendly and helpful. We loved getting the complimentary row boat across to the beach or the short walk over at low tide. If we return to Maine we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is our third year and we have already reserved 2014. No telling how long we will be returning. One of the great things about this complex is that Katie Keene, Tammie (sp) and Marcus are just great to work with. This year Katie and staff made all of our reservations at local restaurants and the choices were great.
The grounds are beautifully maintained and the cabins are situated so everybody has privacy and a view. While the units are not fancy or new (1939-1941) they are meticulously maintained with a fireplace and screened porches with Adirondack chairs in the yard over looking the Ogunquit river. Great place to go for privacy in a charming little community.
We highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: We stay in Cottage #7 which is a 2 bedroom and one bath. In my opinion this is the best cottage loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USMC178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Dunes. The property and view were lovely. The innkeeper and staff were very friendly and helpful.
We stayed in the motel, top floor and had wonderful views of the river, dunes and ocean. We played shuffleboard, croquet, swam in the heated pool and enjoyed taking one of their row boats over to the beach for the afternoon.
Our room was comfortable and clean. Very well kept.
You could walk to some area restaurants or take the trolley. It was a relaxing, peaceful place to stay. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: top floor in motel is the best. great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

As luck would have our family's schedule allowed us to escape for an overnight to one of our favorite places...Ogunquit! However, finding a place with less than 48 hours notice during the height of the in season was near impossible! We stumbled upon the Dunes and we are so happy we did!!!
We stayed in a 1bedroom guest suite...it was perfect! The grounds were just lovely and the views amazing. Our family loved being able to use the rowboats and the pool as well! The shops were a mere 10 minute walk and the staff was so kind and accommodating!
The Dunes will now become our "go to " place for futures visits!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed for 7 days and couldn't have been happier! The setting, short walk to the center of town, the friendly staff, the email telling us to travel safe to the Dunes and the Welcoming note with chocolate makes us want to go back and stay here again. We had a problem with a burnt out light in our bathroom, I made the office staff aware and it was fixed when we returned from dinner. I have family that stay here every year and I see why they keep coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at the Dunes 3 nights celebrating my birthday and our wedding anniversary and couldn't have wished for a better get-away, it was exactly what we were looking for. I had originally wanted to rent a cottage however those require weekly stays. About two weeks before we arrived I saw a last minute cottage available with a minimum 3 night stay. I debated about calling to see if we could change our reservation but decided to stick with the existing reservation. We stayed in unit 4C and were pleased with the size of the room. I worried that it would be to small for four days but it was fine and the views of the dunes and ocean were simply beautiful!! We even got up early to watch the sun rise one morning. We didn't mind walking across the inlet to the ocean and enjoyed the quietness of the beach compared to the congestion we saw further down. Although it was extremely hot while we were there (mid 90's) we enjoyed a beautiful morning walk along the Marginal Way. I would strongly recommend using the Trolly service which has a stop at the main entrance as the street traffic was crazy on Saturday. We did lots of shopping/ sightseeing and it was always wonderful after a busy day to come back to the tranquility of the Dunes. Everyone there was very friendly and accommodating and the grounds are charming with all the cottages and their flowers. If you are looking to be away from the hustle and bustle of the inner town the quaitness of the The Dunes is the place to stay. We cant wait to go back to Ogunquit and will definitely stay at The Dunes. If we go back for a week I will definitely rent a cottage but for a shorter stay we will happily be back in unit 4C.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seaturtle17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed in 4B which is a small unit with just a bedroom and bathroom. It is attached to a larger unit. You only see the sign from the street and a short drive brings you to the beautiful grounds. There are several types of accommodations nicely spread out. It overlooks the Ogunguit river but you can see the ocean past the dunes. The setting is very serene. We walked along Marginal Way one day to Perkins Cove and to dinner two nights. Each unit has flower boxes and there are flower beds planted throughout the property. The staff was very nice and accommodating. Our friends stayed in Cottage 1 which is a 2 bedroom unit. We spent a lot of time there and enjoyed their screened in porch. We did use the pool area which was pleasant. We would recommend The Dunes if you're looking for a quiet laidback setting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moonpie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.9 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,050 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
587 reviews
0.7 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
706 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,044 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mariner Resort
Mariner Resort
#17 of 36 in Ogunquit
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunes on the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes on the Waterfront

Address: 518 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3212
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £106 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Dunes on the Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Maine cottages, suites and guest rooms overlooking the Ogunquit Tidal River and Ogunquit Beach in southern Maine. Enjoy 12 scenic and private acres, dotted with Adirondack chairs, landscaped gardens, and an outdoor pool. Ogunquit's famous sandy beach is accessible by rowboat at high tide and on foot at low tide. Perfect for both families and romantic, relaxing getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dunes on the Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes On The Waterfront Hotel Ogunquit
The Dunes On Waterfront
Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit
The Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing