We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with Lovely Cottage Rentals”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Dunes on the Waterfront
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location with Lovely Cottage Rentals”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The perfect vacation for families! We stayed a two bedroom cottage at the Dunes, which comes complete with its own kitchen and view of the tidal pool. Walking distance to the beach. The Dunes also provides access to the tidal basin which is wonderful for exploring at low tide. The Dunes is on the water and offers a pool and play area. On the 4th of July, fireworks are visible over the water from the nearby town, just lovely! The hotel offers weekly rental cottages as well as one room hotel style cottages. Parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acgwinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    41
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
68
132
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Recently had our first trip to the Dunes for our 25th Anniversary. While during the summer months it is probably not as quiet as it was 9/8 - 9/11 I wished I had known about it when my kids were little so I could experience that aspect also. However, for this trip, the Dunes was EXACTLY what we were hoping for. We rented a two bedroom cottage (though it was just my husaband and myself) so more than enough room. The four days we were there the weather ran from 45 at night to the last day at 85! Which made it the best of both worlds. We were able to take advantage of the fireplace at night, walk across the tidal river during low tide and take a rowboat over at high tide! The screened porch was perfect for the phenomenal lightning show the last night! We walked around the "compound" and sat at every available bench there was! Our cottage (#2) had a perfect view of the ocean and was only steps away from the dock to the rowboats. All the cabins are spaced far enough away from each other to ensure you have the privacy you need. The staff was excellent though to be honest, everything is taken care of so well, we never had any issues to handle and only had to see them to take out a rowboat! THOUGH, and this will be the clincher on how we felt about the Dunes and our stay, we were booked for Sunday to Wednesday, on Wednesday, (unknown to me) my husband stopped in at the office to see if our cottage was available that night and when they said yes he told them we were staying another night! Due to this, we took the rowboat out for another visit to the beach over the dunes and when we came back we had a bottle of champagne and special Dunes champagne glasses waiting for us in our cabin! Nice Touch Dunes Staff!

Room Tip: If you want direct oceanfront cottages 2, 3, 6, and 7 are best. We stayed in cottage #2 and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank burnzee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just arrived back in the UK from Maine and can honestly say that this is a great place to stay. The cabin we stayed in for three nights had a great view of the sea and for the two of us was cosy and well equipped. The staff were friendly and helpful. We loved getting the complimentary row boat across to the beach or the short walk over at low tide. If we return to Maine we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is our third year and we have already reserved 2014. No telling how long we will be returning. One of the great things about this complex is that Katie Keene, Tammie (sp) and Marcus are just great to work with. This year Katie and staff made all of our reservations at local restaurants and the choices were great.
The grounds are beautifully maintained and the cabins are situated so everybody has privacy and a view. While the units are not fancy or new (1939-1941) they are meticulously maintained with a fireplace and screened porches with Adirondack chairs in the yard over looking the Ogunquit river. Great place to go for privacy in a charming little community.
We highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: We stay in Cottage #7 which is a 2 bedroom and one bath. In my opinion this is the best cottage loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USMC178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakes Region
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Dunes. The property and view were lovely. The innkeeper and staff were very friendly and helpful.
We stayed in the motel, top floor and had wonderful views of the river, dunes and ocean. We played shuffleboard, croquet, swam in the heated pool and enjoyed taking one of their row boats over to the beach for the afternoon.
Our room was comfortable and clean. Very well kept.
You could walk to some area restaurants or take the trolley. It was a relaxing, peaceful place to stay. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: top floor in motel is the best. great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

As luck would have our family's schedule allowed us to escape for an overnight to one of our favorite places...Ogunquit! However, finding a place with less than 48 hours notice during the height of the in season was near impossible! We stumbled upon the Dunes and we are so happy we did!!!
We stayed in a 1bedroom guest suite...it was perfect! The grounds were just lovely and the views amazing. Our family loved being able to use the rowboats and the pool as well! The shops were a mere 10 minute walk and the staff was so kind and accommodating!
The Dunes will now become our "go to " place for futures visits!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed for 7 days and couldn't have been happier! The setting, short walk to the center of town, the friendly staff, the email telling us to travel safe to the Dunes and the Welcoming note with chocolate makes us want to go back and stay here again. We had a problem with a burnt out light in our bathroom, I made the office staff aware and it was fixed when we returned from dinner. I have family that stay here every year and I see why they keep coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.9 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
310 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunes on the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes on the Waterfront

Property: The Dunes on the Waterfront
Address: 518 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3212
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Dunes on the Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Maine cottages, suites and guest rooms overlooking the Ogunquit Tidal River and Ogunquit Beach in southern Maine. Enjoy 12 scenic and private acres, dotted with Adirondack chairs, landscaped gardens, and an outdoor pool. Ogunquit's famous sandy beach is accessible by rowboat at high tide and on foot at low tide. Perfect for both families and romantic, relaxing getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Dunes on the Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes On The Waterfront Hotel Ogunquit
The Dunes On Waterfront
Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit
The Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing