We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Utter peace and tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Dunes on the Waterfront
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Utter peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Rented a delux room in what we thought would be a hotel complex with additional cottages but turned out to be all individual residencies of varying sizes and facilities, but all offering a cozy environment. Fabulous place with a view of a river beyond which is a strip of land and the ocean beyond that. Rowing boats are provided to take the trip to the land beyond and look at the sea.
Excellent base from which to take day trips along the coast - in fact we extended our stay. During our visits to the office to sample the pastries and coffee/tea provided every morning we heard many guests rebooking for later in the year or for the following season - not surprised, I would certainly like to return.

Room Tip: try to get a waters view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    39
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
67
130
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We've been traveling up thru the New England states for over 20 years leaf peeping and have always been looking for that cozy overnighter along the Wells-Ogunquit stretch. The Dunes is right there in all the excitement EXCEPT its tucked behind the loud hustle bustle overlooking the dunes and the ocean. It's available by the week or we were fortunate to grab a last minute 1 night stay. My husband leaves the lodging to me and never says much. He was very happy with our stay at the Dunes. The cabin was immaculate and kudos to the staff. They go above and beyond with their professionalism and their kindness.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Our cottage at the Dunes was so cozy and comfortable, and we looked forward to a crackling fire after dinner each evening. And I’d like to move the pebbled floor shower here to our bathroom at home. The grounds are beautiful and so well maintained, but I could never catch the elf that raised and lowered our umbrella every morning and late afternoon. The view of the tidal river and the Atlantic were what on the waterfront means. If we come back up this way, we would definitely stay at the Dunes.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDH49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I were so enamored with our single room at The Dunes on the Waterfront during out first stay in 2010 we vowed to return and rent one of the cute cottages the next time. Well, we've done that now for 3 years in a row. We have loved every minute of every stay. We have been fortunate to share a two bedroom cottage with another couple. The setting and views are exceptional. The staff attentive and friendly. The cottages are comfy and cozy. Although we have stayed each year during the 3rd week of October, the weather has cooperated wonderfully. The foliage is at its peak every year. We truly like the proximity to the center of Ogunquit and all it all to offer. Also, the easy drive to Portland, Kittery, Portsmouth and Kennebunkport make daytrips an added benefit of the location.Waking before sunrise, throwing on a bathrobe or a coat and going out to photograph the sunrise (with several other guests all around the 12 acre grounds) is one of the highlights on a crisp and clear Fall morning. It's always nice after that to visit the office for the complimentary newspaper, coffee, and this year, delicious croissants. We have eaten out at several of the great restaurants and, we also have a tradition, carried on from home, to have Friday night supper at out little cottage. After wine, bruschetta and cheese in the Adirondack chairs on the beautiful lawn overlooking the Atlantic, we light a nice fire in the fireplace and enjoy our meal in comfort. The experience is just what we are looking for each Autumn to restore our senses and to feed our souls. We are already talking about our reservations for 2014.

Room Tip: I think there is an ocean view from every room and cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barrydecarli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My first visit to the Dunes and I loved it - stayed in a cottage! Made a fire every night and walked the beautifully manicured grounds. There was coffee and chocolate croissants in the morning available in the main office - yum ;-)

Room Tip: Get one of the cottages - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Dunes is a special place quite and quaint, with beautiful coastal scenery and charming cottages which are well kept and with a wonderful staff, which listens with special attention & friendliness to any request you may have. Be sure they will treat you right!

We had a great stay at the Dunes, within walking distance to great restaurants, shops & entertainment or to a peaceful walk on the beach day or night, this is a place we plan to return to!

Room Tip: All rooms at the Dunes would be satisfactory to my wife and I. But always plan in advance for your b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and i stayed at The Dunes a few weeks ago for our wedding anniversary. Friends had stayed here last summer and after seeing their photos, i knew we wanted to check it out. the idea of staying in a cute cottage right on the estuary was too appealing and a great blend of "Maine" and beach.

Short of adding jacuzzis to each guest room, there is nothing we can think of to make our stay any better.

The staff graciously accommodated us with an upgrade from a guest room to a cottage with a fireplace, which was amazing. When we booked our room, the cottages were available but had a three-night minimum, which wasn't an option for us. but when we checked in, i inquired about their availability (they'd told me there was a chance if the room hadn't been booked that we could stay for two nights) and they said it was available for the first night only. Not ideal but we took it for the chance to have a fireplace even just for one night.
Unpacked the car and the front desk called and said we could have the room for both nights. That was so great!

Then they delivered a bottle of champagne and chocolate and a lovely card to help us celebrate our wedding anniversary. It's little touches like that that make all the difference.

The cottage we stayed in was very cute and clean. Good sized living room, with fireplace/wood stove, and two bedrooms. Oh, and an almost full size kitchen. Seriously, it had everything but a dishwasher. Hadn't planned on utilizing a kitchen on this getaway but it actually worked out well and saved us some money by stocking up on lunch fixings instead of having to eat out at every meal.

The grounds are beautiful. The estuary is right there. You can walk across when the tide is out but the Dunes also has rowboats so you can row across to the barrier beach, which is beautiful. They had a heated pool, shuffleboard and croquet, which we never did get to try. Cute tables and adirondack chairs outside each cottage. It felt like a little home. We loved it.

We are already trying to plan our return next year. What a lovely spot, lovely facilities, and lovely staff. While the price was more than we planned to spend, it was worth every penny. The Dunes will forever hold a happy memory in our hearts.

And it's such a short drive from Boston. Wish I was back there now!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.9 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
0.2 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
1.1 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunes on the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes on the Waterfront

Property: The Dunes on the Waterfront
Address: 518 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3212
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Dunes on the Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Maine cottages, suites and guest rooms overlooking the Ogunquit Tidal River and Ogunquit Beach in southern Maine. Enjoy 12 scenic and private acres, dotted with Adirondack chairs, landscaped gardens, and an outdoor pool. Ogunquit's famous sandy beach is accessible by rowboat at high tide and on foot at low tide. Perfect for both families and romantic, relaxing getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dunes on the Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes On The Waterfront Hotel Ogunquit
The Dunes On Waterfront
Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit
The Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing