We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New England at its Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dunes on the Waterfront
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is what New England is all about for holidays: quaint, clean, friendly, beautiful, peaceful, memorable. We loved our stay here! The cottages are so clean and charming; the amenities are wonderful. Above all the staff and management want to do everything possible to ensure your stay is great. This was a great choice. I'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage 21B: great for a family as there are two bedrooms, three beds, joint bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

I don't use the word "perfect" indiscriminately, but it is truly the best one to describe the two nights my husband and I recently spent at The Dunes. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, everything was just right. We did the Bed and Breakfast package, which we felt was an exceptionally good value, including a full breakfast at the (fabulous) Egg and I and a generous continental breakfast on the other day.

The staff was unfailingly helpful and pleasant, the room was spotlessly clean and well-appointed, and the setting - oh, the setting! - is simply gorgeous. The motel rooms are a bit on the small side, but you just open the curtains and look out at that view across to the dunes and ocean and it really doesn't matter. The location is perfect, walking distance to all that Ogunquit has to offer (we didn't use our car all weekend), but still feels secluded. I also love that The Dunes isn't at all fussy or pretentious, but instead feels very relaxed and comfortable.

In full disclosure, I grew up going to The Dunes for a couple of weeks each summer with my family, but I don't return out of nostalgia. It's because of the obvious commitment to excellence that is apparent in each detail of the property. The owners have done a superb job bringing The Dunes firmly into the present without losing sight of all that made it special in the past.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dreamoftrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We come here year after year. I almost hate to review it because I don't want anyone else to know about it! Such a beautiful spot. Cottages are lovely, with nice amenities. Always update them a little bit each year. The staff is amazing. So welcoming and friendly! The hotel rooms are also lovely. It is truly our favorite place on earth. We visit many places due to my husband's job but we love this place best!

Room Tip: Every cottage is lovely so just be happy you are able to get one as they go fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JesseHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Having never traveled to Maine, we had no 'word of mouth' help so we simply booked The Dunes by what we found online. We were so lucky to find such a beautiful setting. With four adults and a 1 yr. old, we booked into a cottage which accommodated our family perfectly. The cottages were homey and comfortable and the grounds were pristine...beautifully maintained. Also, the staff was very welcoming and accommodating and even followed up to welcome us for staying with them...who does that?! Coming from the West Coast we were sad that we probably wouldn't be able to make staying at The Dunes an annual tradition, but we would heartily recommend it! We also heard that mid-May was a perfect time to stay in Ogunquit even though the weather was a little cooler because the summer gets very busy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seattlegram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Once again, the Dunes on the Waterfront , is the best possible place to soak in all beautiful Ogunquit Maine has to offer. Since we stumbled upon it in 1995 we have made extra efforts to pilgrimage there at least once a year. The grounds are like stepping back in time. Rolling lawns, beautiful flower gardens, individual cottages with fireplaces and of course the views of the Dunes and the sparkling Atlantic ocean.

Peace and tranquility...all a vacation should be.

Room Tip: cottage suite 23 or one bedroom cottage 5B are excellent for couples....larger two bedroom cottages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rttmomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

another great week end with friends and family. this is a gorgeous spot, on the ocean with beautiful views and very quiet. the dunes is very well maintained, the staff is very nice and accommodating. we will be back next year for our annual get together!

Room Tip: anywhere on this property is lovely, we stay in a cottage on the ocean with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dreamtrvel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Checked into our cottage on opening day April 24, '14 for a 3 night stay. The weather was crummy but who cares when you have such a cozy cottage with real fire place to relax by. Everything about the place is welcoming. Staff friendly and helpful. The environment just beautiful and peaceful. Cottage equipped with everything you may need. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: They are all good. Depends if you want room or cottage, all have great views and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.9 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,067 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
602 reviews
1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
1 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunes on the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes on the Waterfront

Address: 518 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3212
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £106 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Dunes on the Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Maine cottages, suites and guest rooms overlooking the Ogunquit Tidal River and Ogunquit Beach in southern Maine. Enjoy 12 scenic and private acres, dotted with Adirondack chairs, landscaped gardens, and an outdoor pool. Ogunquit's famous sandy beach is accessible by rowboat at high tide and on foot at low tide. Perfect for both families and romantic, relaxing getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Dunes on the Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes On The Waterfront Hotel Ogunquit
The Dunes On Waterfront
Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit
The Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing