We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dunes on the Waterfront
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 August 2014

First time visiting this resort and spent one night in one of the motel style rooms. Although the room was extremely small, the overall feel of the resort made the room seem irrelevant. The resort brings back amazing memories from childhood summer camps with the spread out cottages. We took a tour of one of the cottages and will certainly be looking to book a full week in one next summer. The location is great with access to the Ogunquit River. At low tide we were able to cross the river to Ogunquit Beach and walk along the beach over to town. I highly recommend a stay at the Dunes.

Room Tip: The rooms only matter if staying longer than two nights. The motel rooms are not sufficient for a st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelP23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have been vacationing in Ogunquit for about 20 yrs. and finally have found a place that is absolutely ideal.The location and set up of the cottages are perfect. The view is magnificent, a real pleasure to sit on your porch and have your coffee in the morning. Staff are very pleasant,very helpful and engaging. We enjoyed a very relaxing stay and can't wait for next year. The only complaint we have is that one week is just not enough. Thank you, Dunes, Gene and Irene

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have been going to the Dunes for 7 years and have enjoyed every minute we have spent there. The views are beautiful- overlooking the tidal river with the dunes and ocean beyond. As soon as you pull in the driveway, you realize you have found a slice of paradise just outside Ogunquit center. The entire staff- Katie Tammie, Scott, Celeste, Dwayne, Brandon and others make each visit wonderful. Going to the Dunes is like going to a second home and the people- as well as the setting- are what makes it so special

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JenPil2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Everything was perfect, including the weather, thank you!
Life at the Dunes just keeps getting better and better! Wish we could stay forever and are anxious to go back SOON!
Thank you for another wonderful 2 weeks:)

Pam and Ed Racicot

Room Tip: All are very comfortable............cottages , rooms, etc:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamR241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This resort is quiet, relaxing and very unique. There are quaint cottages and guest rooms spread over 12 acres right on the Ogunquit River. The view of the river, dunes and ocean is absolutely beautiful! We spend a week there each June as a family and it is such a thrill for our grandsons to experience all it has to offer. They love to walk across the river in the morning searching for crabs and spend the afternoons in the gorgeous renovated pool. The grounds are beautiful and the staff very friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend this resort!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

It has taken me a week to come down from my experience. This year has been such a memorable and eventful one adding our weekend of the 13th of June propelled it even higher. Upon arriving on a cold and rainy day, my partner and I were met by Katie and Scott whose warmth and kindness immediately melted the dampness. As we were checking in we were informed that we were being upgraded to a more spacious cabin. Well that sent us over the moon. Our time, like rest of the weekend, just kept getting better. At check-in, sharing my "engagement ring " with Katie and Scott we were floored to find champagne in our kitchen. To even begin to express this sentiment is nearly impossible. This is our 7th year together and 7th staying at the dunes. We are brought back to carefree days of shuffle board, romance of being still sitting in the adirondack chairs, and the power of great service that endearing quality that let's you know you are being taking care of. This is home!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samjr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

To Katie and Aaron at the Dunes:

My husband and I want to thank you for a perfect stay. The setting for the Dunes is unbelievable. I think we had the perfect room in 16B for the setting and privacy. It was just what we needed. The grounds and the rooms are unbelievably well maintained. We loved all of the flowers. They add so much to the overall beauty of the grounds. They seem to thrive in the cooler temps. Down south it gets so hot, it is hard to keep them nice throughout the season.

The furnishings are nice and the bathroom was beautiful. We tried to be very respectful of the property. One of my favorite things was that each room had their own umbrella and chairs. We spent a lot of mornings and evenings sitting out there. Having an assigned parking space was great. It makes things so much easier.

Being able to sleep with the windows raised was so cool. It sounds like a small thing but we are not able to enjoy that in the South. It goes from cold to blazing hot it seems in no time here.

My husband is a smoker (he smokes outside even at home) and I also think about that when planning vacations. I worried about him having an area where he could smoke. I know you would rather not have smoking at all on the property but I appreciate the fact that you do try to accommodate by having an ashtray available to take outside.

Its hard to get my husband to take a vacation. He told me a couple of months ago that he wanted us to eat lobster in Maine. That’s how I started researching and found the Dunes. He said over and over during our stay that I had found us the perfect place. When we left, he said that this was the best vacation he had ever had.

Our kids are grown but we would love to bring them one day and rent a two bedroom cottage. Either way, we hope to come back soon. Thank you again so much.

Take care,
Teresa Jones

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
1.1 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
367 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunes on the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes on the Waterfront

Address: 518 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3212
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £104 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Dunes on the Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Maine cottages, suites and guest rooms overlooking the Ogunquit Tidal River and Ogunquit Beach in southern Maine. Enjoy 12 scenic and private acres, dotted with Adirondack chairs, landscaped gardens, and an outdoor pool. Ogunquit's famous sandy beach is accessible by rowboat at high tide and on foot at low tide. Perfect for both families and romantic, relaxing getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Dunes on the Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes On The Waterfront Hotel Ogunquit
The Dunes On Waterfront
Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit
The Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing