We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean rooms, but noisy.”
Review of Captain's Quarters

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain's Quarters
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Putney, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, clean rooms, but noisy.”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I was a bit disappointed when I first drove by and actually thought (hoped) it wasn't the place we were staying at. You have to drive to the Gazebo Inn first and one of the staff meets with you back at the Captain's Quarters and shows you around. The room we stayed in was nice enough, but very stuffy and the air conditioner wasn't working properly. No problem there, the staff replaced it with a new one immediately which helped. On the cooler days, there aren't enough windows to get fresh air in the room and the noise from the main road is awful, so if you have the window open you get no sleep.

Keep in mind this is a motel, which is not my style at all, but there are not a lot of pet friendly places in Ogunquit. Consequently the people coming and going are heard loud and clear with every door slam, which was annoying, and I could hear the people in the next room talking all night and when they finally went to sleep I got to listen to them snoring.

The property is rather small, yet very nicely landscaped, with cute brick patios and little ponds. The staff is wonderful, very accommodating and willing to fix whatever is needed. I agree with another reviewer who said there is never anyone in the office. They need a better system in place to get in touch with them.

The location is good, but again, right on the main road so if you like the windows open in your room it will be very noisy.

Overall: Overpriced for a motel atmosphere, noisy. Nice rooms, friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maineshore, Owner at Captain's Quarters, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback and staying for the week at Captains Quarters and pointing out the excellent staff, location, and cleanliness, we enjoyed having you and your partner & pet. We pride ourselves in offering a clean pet friendly all remodeled room at a nice value. We have 5 rooms at this location. To keep the prices down for guests, this does not warrant an office on site to us. All of our offices and private cell numbers are posted in the room, and our 3 staffed offices from 6AM- 10PM are close and a phone call away, as this reviewer found when they needed AC help and we showed up with a new one within 5 minutes. We also offer adults a full B & B experience at the Gazebo Inn Ogunquit while staying at CQ. Out of this review did come some good for future CQ guests, all our living room AC units have been installed in the walls not windows so to allow better air flow. We have also placed very nice noise machines in each room for light sleepers. We will continue to make this the nicest Pet friendly motel you have ever stayed in! All of our reasonable $5 per night Pet fees go directly to the Animal shelter, thank you for reading our response, we can’t wait to meet you and your dog, we also have other pet friendly lodging in Ogunquit at our Inns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    26
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
67
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My fiancee and I were extremely impressed with our stay at Captain's Quarters! The owners and staff were wonderful and very helpful. The room was BEAUTIFUL and very dog friendly. Bathroom was to die for, especially the shower :) Harley, our golden, was comfortable and relaxed and the property was truly dog friendly. We we definitely be back!
Just a note on Ogunquit itself...very dog friendly, along with nearby town of Wells.

Room Tip: Each room is different and cute in it's own way....check out pics!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tynsley24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We were so impressed by the accommodations and THRILLED to have a great place to stay with our dog! What a fabulous niche this hotel has found. There are many of us who love our dogs and want to travel with them. Our dog is very small and elderly - we didn't want to leave her at home and she's a great traveller. We were welcomed with open arms and found the staff to be incredibly responsive to our needs! We even had our dog groomed and the recommended groomers were fabulous and raved about the owners of this B&B. No surprise there! We are coming back this summer and staying at the Captain's Quarters.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graniteville, Vermont, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

we had a wonderful experience at the Captain's Quarters. The innkeeper was so nice and friendly. The room was beautiful and clean. I was able to bring my two dogs along as well. It is so rare to find a pet friendly place to stay while on vacation that is also upscale, and this place was. Met all of my expectations and more!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Our second visit to Captains Quarters - we love the condo feel, the kitchen with full size refrigerator, the "wow" bathroom, and the short walk from the parking area. The rooms are more like mini apartments than hotel rooms, and we love that the pet fee goes to the local shelter. When we arrived there were a few issues which were very quickly addressed / resolved as soon as the owner became aware of them - they really do care, and want everything to be perfect.
The property is on Rte 1 so there is some traffic noise, but that is the same in the majority of Ogunquit hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My husband and I went to Ogunquit this past week and brought our dog on her first road trip. The Captain's Quarters made this possible. It was easy to find, on Rt#1, and we were welcomed by a cheerful staff. Our room was clean and had a "to die for" shower. Wish I had it in my house. On the side of the building there was a place to grill, table and chairs to relax in. Even though it was on the main street the back yard was facing a quiet residential drive where you could safely walk your dog. I grounds were well maintained and pleasant. You do need to go up the road to the Gazebo Inn, to register and get a key,it is on the same side of the road.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #6 which has the queen size bed. It was very small and next time we will look into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtlover30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

What a great experience my husband and I had at the Captain's Quaters in Ogunquit, Maine!! Our dog was very welcomed and very comfortable. We (and he) LOVED being so close to the beach. The motel was beautiful and VERY clean. Definitely has a warm and cozy feel. Breakfast was available at the Gazebo Inn. It was absolutely delicious and the owners are so friendly and helpful. They love what they do and it shows. We met some great people that were staying at the motel with their dogs and it was very fun for all! I would highly recommend the Captain's Quarters and we will absolutely be returning!

Thank you Scott and Peter!!

Room Tip: Suite 4 was great. It has 2 rooms and a fold out couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.5 mi away
Studio East Motel
Studio East Motel
#18 of 36 in Ogunquit
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stage Run by the Sea
Stage Run by the Sea
#32 of 36 in Ogunquit
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Footbridge Beach Motel
Footbridge Beach Motel
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redwoods Resort formerly known as Colonial Village Resort
0.5 mi away
Abalonia Inn
Abalonia Inn
#21 of 36 in Ogunquit
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters

Property: Captain's Quarters
Address: 483 Main St, Ogunquit, ME
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ogunquit
#8 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Captain's Quarters Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing