We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good place for pets” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain's Quarters

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain's Quarters
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Sharon, Vermont
Level Contributor
207 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“good place for pets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

There are several good features of this property. First, they are fine with pets and the suite we used had a separate bedroom, small kitchen and small living area. Second, the affiliation with the Gazebo Inn (run by same owners) is great-- that's a very nice facility, excellent breakfast (well worth the extra charge) and the owners and staff go out of their way to help.

The drawback is primarily the location. Captain's Quarters is flush up against the main drag in Ogunquit and there is a fair amount of room noise. The Gazebo is considerably more set back, and therefore quieter. The other more minor issue is that the Captain's Quarters' exterior area could stand a good pruning; it's fairly overgrown and does not give anywhere near the outstanding visual impression that the Gazebo Inn does.

So, bottom line: this is a fine place if you're traveling with pets; otherwise, stay at the Gazebo.

Room Tip: Suite 5 is good-- fair amount of space with a separate bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ordinarymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maineshore, Owner at Captain's Quarters, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your great review, we enjoyed chatting with you each morning up at the Gazebo breakfast ! I am glad you enjoyed your stay, the fall pruning is done !! The grounds look great, see you next time ! Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    26
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
67
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Brought me two dogs on their first vacation and stayed at this 6 room hotel. Was great location and clean small room. The proprieters were dog people that had three other properties. We had great breakfasts at their Gazebo property. Host Scott had great restaurant and other recommendations. Only small complaint there wasn't much amenities at hotel like ice, soda machines etc. Was very basic, but dogs loved it and had great time. Highly recommend ogunquit. Very beautiful place

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AllanH328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Captain's Quarters is a tiny, well appointed inn that's pet friendly. We always try to book the large suite which has a kitchen, living room, bedroom, and bath. It's still small, but nice nonetheless. The furnishings and bed are really comfortable. The outside spaces are very nice. The kitchen is fully equipped, but the sink leaks...now for two years in a row. They might want to address that. And the wireless Internet is crap. They need a more powerful router. We had to go outside to use the Internet, which we always use to keep up with work, and to scout out restaurants. Good Internet service is a must. Other than that, the place is charming, comfortable, and well kept.

Room Tip: Suite 5 or bust
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cperrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was the third year we stayed at Captain's Quarters in Ogunquit, and have already reserved a week for next August (2014). I hesitate to let others know about "our little secret" for fear that dog lovers will rush to book it and we'll be left out. But in the interest of our furry friends, it's important to let the world know that you can take a great vacation and bring along your dog, too. Beautiful rooms (we stay in a 2 bedroom suite), kitchenette, wood floors, grill for use of guests, and breakfast at the Gazebo Inn for a small charge. Located right on Route 1, within walking distance of Ogunquit center and beach, and a block from the trolley stop. Right next to the "Egg and I," though we preferred our eggs at the "Omelette Factory" across the street. Lobster Pound is right across the street, too, making this a terrific location.
Lastly, the people are so friendly because everyone at the place loves dogs!

Room Tip: You have to book early if you want the 2 room suites. We book a year in advance every summer. Break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraAG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Another great trip and stay at the Captains Quarters. Friendly staff and great service. Location is extremely convenient to all local attractions. Already booked our next few stays...... Thx, Smith Family (CT)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StormCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putney, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

I was a bit disappointed when I first drove by and actually thought (hoped) it wasn't the place we were staying at. You have to drive to the Gazebo Inn first and one of the staff meets with you back at the Captain's Quarters and shows you around. The room we stayed in was nice enough, but very stuffy and the air conditioner wasn't working properly. No problem there, the staff replaced it with a new one immediately which helped. On the cooler days, there aren't enough windows to get fresh air in the room and the noise from the main road is awful, so if you have the window open you get no sleep.

Keep in mind this is a motel, which is not my style at all, but there are not a lot of pet friendly places in Ogunquit. Consequently the people coming and going are heard loud and clear with every door slam, which was annoying, and I could hear the people in the next room talking all night and when they finally went to sleep I got to listen to them snoring.

The property is rather small, yet very nicely landscaped, with cute brick patios and little ponds. The staff is wonderful, very accommodating and willing to fix whatever is needed. I agree with another reviewer who said there is never anyone in the office. They need a better system in place to get in touch with them.

The location is good, but again, right on the main road so if you like the windows open in your room it will be very noisy.

Overall: Overpriced for a motel atmosphere, noisy. Nice rooms, friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maineshore, Owner at Captain's Quarters, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback and staying for the week at Captains Quarters and pointing out the excellent staff, location, and cleanliness, we enjoyed having you and your partner & pet. We pride ourselves in offering a clean pet friendly all remodeled room at a nice value. We have 5 rooms at this location. To keep the prices down for guests, this does not warrant an office on site to us. All of our offices and private cell numbers are posted in the room, and our 3 staffed offices from 6AM- 10PM are close and a phone call away, as this reviewer found when they needed AC help and we showed up with a new one within 5 minutes. We also offer adults a full B & B experience at the Gazebo Inn Ogunquit while staying at CQ. Out of this review did come some good for future CQ guests, all our living room AC units have been installed in the walls not windows so to allow better air flow. We have also placed very nice noise machines in each room for light sleepers. We will continue to make this the nicest Pet friendly motel you have ever stayed in! All of our reasonable $5 per night Pet fees go directly to the Animal shelter, thank you for reading our response, we can’t wait to meet you and your dog, we also have other pet friendly lodging in Ogunquit at our Inns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

My fiancee and I were extremely impressed with our stay at Captain's Quarters! The owners and staff were wonderful and very helpful. The room was BEAUTIFUL and very dog friendly. Bathroom was to die for, especially the shower :) Harley, our golden, was comfortable and relaxed and the property was truly dog friendly. We we definitely be back!
Just a note on Ogunquit itself...very dog friendly, along with nearby town of Wells.

Room Tip: Each room is different and cute in it's own way....check out pics!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tynsley24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.5 mi away
Studio East Motel
Studio East Motel
#18 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonial Village Resort
Colonial Village Resort
#36 of 36 in Ogunquit
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Footbridge Beach Motel
Footbridge Beach Motel
#25 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ogunquit Resort Motel
Ogunquit Resort Motel
#32 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abalonia Inn
Abalonia Inn
#17 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Black Boar Inn
The Black Boar Inn
#8 of 27 in Ogunquit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters

Property: Captain's Quarters
Address: 483 Main Street, Ogunquit, ME
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ogunquit
#8 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Captain's Quarters Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing