We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family weekend with our Pets”
Review of Captain's Quarters

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain's Quarters
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Dracut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family weekend with our Pets”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was the first of many more to come. The accommodations are the best I have experienced for pet friendly stays and I have stayed at many. In fact after many years at another place in the same area I find no reason to return as Captains Quarters FAR EXCEEDED with their friendly reception and outstanding service. The rooms are immaculate, spacious and have all the amenities you could think of. We felt at home. We had so much fun that we are already looking at our calendars to book several more through the winter months. I have stayed at one of their other owned property "The Gazebo Inn" with some friends and we had the same level of service. Scott and Peter sure know how to make you feel welcomed. It's a MUST STAY Pet Friendly Place. Thank you!

Room Tip: This building has 5 rooms all first floor, easy access in an out especially with pets. These rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    26
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
67
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

i have stayed here many times, as usual , everything was wonderful. Clean, Comfy, it is very well kept. It is close to everything, and a place you can feel right at home in.
The owners greater me, showed me my room, seemed very concerned about my happiness. overall the room and the owners were great.

Room Tip: ive never had a problem in any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bosssauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I am going to say that we booked this motel only because we had to bring our senior dog along on this trip. She needed daily medical attention and we were unable to find anyone at home to provide this. Having said that,we found Captain's Quarter s to be a pleasant option. Our room was spacious,updated with new furniture and flooring. Our dog was able to navigate around the room easily and the outdoor area was fine .It was landscaped nicely with tall grasses and pathways around the bushes.It was a small space but sufficient for her to relieve herself and stretch. There were a couple of features we found to be unusual, the first being a very loud gurgling water feature directly outside our window which sounded like a heavy rain storm! Another negative was the motels' proximity to the main road,we worried each time we entered or left our room that our dog would slip past us into traffic. We were very careful. Other than those two concerns,our stay was fine and we were glad to have a nice place to stay with our dog.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The online photos of this motel are not the reality you find when you arrive. The outside needs repairs, painting and landscaping. There were dead plants and bushes all across the front and in the back a shed looked to be falling off the building. There were beach chairs thrown on the side of the building where you walk the dogs plus there were shards of glass found on the walkway on one occasion. We had booked the large suite with a kitchen, living room and 2 bedrooms. Inside is comfortable but needs more attention to housekeeping. The bathroom is very nice but the floor was dusty and the bedroom floors were sandy for our entire five day stay. The beds were made haphazardly with sheets hanging on the floor. Our beds were never changed for our entire stay. When we brought this up to owner Scott, his comment was that you have to ask if you want your beds changed. This "policy" was never communicated to us verbally or in writing. Dishes in the kitchen were chipped and the stove smelled of smoke when turned on. Scott also said that he would donate $500.00 to the local humane society in our dog's name since we weren't happy. In my opinion the Housekeeping staff, who were very nice and accommodating, need more training. We will not stay at Captain's Quarters again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyssamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maineshore, Owner at Captain's Quarters, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback and staying for the week at Captains Quarters and pointing out the excellent remodel and location. We enjoyed having your dog Sophie ! Fortunately there are always two sides to a story and trip advisor allows us to give ours. We pride ourselves in giving a guaranteed very clean nice, very updated hard wood & tile room for our pet lovers and families. 80% of guests at Captains Quarters this year have been at least once prior. Our housekeepers spend a long time in rooms after a dog and we have done this for 9 years and have a great system. In response to this guest, the older gentlemen had a thing about the complimentary beach chairs outside his room, Kaitlin our housekeeper did not understand why. The fact that she did not move them spurred him to go off on me, but not until check out. A very angry man, I hope this made him feel better. At checkout I cannot fix a stay, all very easy things to fix, and he saw me several times, I even was patting his dog on a walk. The room was perfect for check in, Peter & I check them ourselves. The oven did not smoke when I went down to check it. The shed in back needs repairs it will get done. It goes under some people are impossible to please, I opted to donate money to the animal shelter vs. giving him a refund (that was done), looks like that was not what he was looking for. We have 4 Green properties, sheets are changed upon request, this is posted in the welcome books in the rooms, and we tell people at check in. Sometimes (not all the time) some generations do not understand being green is important. Our guests are great about leaving notes for housekeeping with any special requests. One of his second largest gripes besides the complimentary beach chairs outside the room, was the housekeeping closet shades were crooked and didn’t look good from the outside, I guess enough said. All photos of the place are taken by Peter our manager and are current, our landscape is beautiful, people living in town comment to us constantly, what you see is what we offer :) thanks for booking with us, 100% of pet fees go to animal shelters, any concerns about this review don’t hesitate to call, and I will fill you in on more about this guest. Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Vermont
Level Contributor
216 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

There are several good features of this property. First, they are fine with pets and the suite we used had a separate bedroom, small kitchen and small living area. Second, the affiliation with the Gazebo Inn (run by same owners) is great-- that's a very nice facility, excellent breakfast (well worth the extra charge) and the owners and staff go out of their way to help.

The drawback is primarily the location. Captain's Quarters is flush up against the main drag in Ogunquit and there is a fair amount of room noise. The Gazebo is considerably more set back, and therefore quieter. The other more minor issue is that the Captain's Quarters' exterior area could stand a good pruning; it's fairly overgrown and does not give anywhere near the outstanding visual impression that the Gazebo Inn does.

So, bottom line: this is a fine place if you're traveling with pets; otherwise, stay at the Gazebo.

Room Tip: Suite 5 is good-- fair amount of space with a separate bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ordinarymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maineshore, Owner at Captain's Quarters, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your great review, we enjoyed chatting with you each morning up at the Gazebo breakfast ! I am glad you enjoyed your stay, the fall pruning is done !! The grounds look great, see you next time ! Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Brought me two dogs on their first vacation and stayed at this 6 room hotel. Was great location and clean small room. The proprieters were dog people that had three other properties. We had great breakfasts at their Gazebo property. Host Scott had great restaurant and other recommendations. Only small complaint there wasn't much amenities at hotel like ice, soda machines etc. Was very basic, but dogs loved it and had great time. Highly recommend ogunquit. Very beautiful place

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AllanH328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Captain's Quarters is a tiny, well appointed inn that's pet friendly. We always try to book the large suite which has a kitchen, living room, bedroom, and bath. It's still small, but nice nonetheless. The furnishings and bed are really comfortable. The outside spaces are very nice. The kitchen is fully equipped, but the sink leaks...now for two years in a row. They might want to address that. And the wireless Internet is crap. They need a more powerful router. We had to go outside to use the Internet, which we always use to keep up with work, and to scout out restaurants. Good Internet service is a must. Other than that, the place is charming, comfortable, and well kept.

Room Tip: Suite 5 or bust
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cperrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.5 mi away
Studio East Motel
Studio East Motel
#19 of 36 in Ogunquit
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stage Run by the Sea
Stage Run by the Sea
#33 of 36 in Ogunquit
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Footbridge Beach Motel
Footbridge Beach Motel
#27 of 36 in Ogunquit
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redwoods Resort formerly known as Colonial Village Resort
0.2 mi away
The Dunes on the Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters

Property: Captain's Quarters
Address: 483 Main St, Ogunquit, ME
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ogunquit
#8 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Captain's Quarters Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing